Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,973 个评分
649 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

TL
Mar 14, 2021

Great for the intermediate learner. You would find new terminologies in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The materials are easy to be understood and the teachers are communicative.

EC
Sep 25, 2020

I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation to our instructors, Mr Jack and Ms Alyssa for an enjoyable course on STEM!\n\nIt was a very good learning experience!\n\nThank you!

筛选依据:

26 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 50 个评论(共 638 个)

创建者 MARIO D M R

Sep 9, 2020

Hello guys, I'm so sorry! I should have written this at the end of the assessment of skills acquired in the course, but unfortunately, when trying to correct the text, I lost the information.

I highlight five aspects of the skills acquired in this excellent course, I increased my vocabulary and improved my writing, reading, and Interpretation of data info in the field sciences, especially considering areas of scientific interest such as climate change that should compromise the future of humanity and the fragile planet we live on.

I was also developing more appropriate and consistent summaries. I had to Improve communication skills between colleagues, through feedbacks.

Unfortunately, for several reasons, I'm dropped out in 3 higher education courses started at one of the best Brazilian Universities, UnB DF, Forest Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Computer Science.

I decided to follow the Programming area, technical support in the areas of Hardware, Networks, and Sofware, and I intend to return to the job market.

And finally, congratulations on all team of the Coursera. Regards!

创建者 Dorota M

Jun 8, 2020

This course is really interesting! I've learnt a lot, even that I work in the field of Earth Sciences. I think every level of advancement will find something satisfying here. Teachers are talking slowly but I think this is important, especially when somebody doesn't have elaborated language skills; if someone has, always have option to speed up the video. Everything is explained clearly (for me, some things could be not so simplified) and for people that don't have any background of STEM. I recommend this course a lot.

创建者 Lalaine G S

Jun 11, 2020

English for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics is a great online course I have studied. It's amazing to learn more about the use of english language, the proper way of delivering ones speech or article. This course encourages learners to deeply understand the importance of science which is focused on renewable resources that could help eliminate the harmful gases causing our planet's temperature high. I am looking forward to access some free online courses for personal development and insight. Thank you.

创建者 Elwyn T P

Dec 9, 2020

I really love all about the whole course itself. It widens my ideas about Climate Change and Global Warming and its consequences. It strengthens my knowledge on some of the English grammar usage and vocabularies. With all the opportunities given, I am so thankful -- to the University of Pennsylvania, for conceptualizing this course; to the Government of the United States of America, for sponsoring my study; and to the Philippines' Department of Energy for vouching my participation in this course. Thank you very much!

创建者 Jorgie L

Dec 18, 2020

The course improved and enhanced my logical thinking, communication skills (written and oral) and my inter/intra personality skills. The course also reminded me on the proper usage of modal verbs, comparative adjectives, intensifiers, and the cause-and-effect language. More so on the English comprehension particularly the previewing text, scanning and reading details of the materials and summarizing main points or ideas. In sum, the course is totally a taxing but enjoyable learning experience.

创建者 Sk I A

Apr 21, 2020

The Course is really awesome. It doesn't only makes us more skilled in English Language but this course is much more important for understanding the terrible things we have done our environment and what could be the future outcomes of this. Besides, we could also learn about new technologies specifically "Nanotechnology" which has the potential to do wonders for the mankind and you will definitely become happy learn about these things during the course.

创建者 Erin R D G

May 29, 2017

Fue muy gratificante y reflexivo este curso, para tomar conciencia de que nuestro planeta nos necesita, y tenemos que usar los recursos naturales de manera responsable, porque los que primero sentimos las consecuencias del cambio climático, somos nosotros mismos. Gracias al generoso pueblo norteamericano,que a través de sus autoridades, nos brindan la oportunidad de tomar estos cursos para desarrollarnos como mejores personas.

创建者 Nekpen O A

Oct 4, 2017

This course, I thought, was very well put together. The facilitators were phenomenal and were great in their delivery of all information related to this course.

Unfortunately, I did not put as much time as required for this course as I would have loved to even though I manged to complete it.

I feel this course was a good intro for me having been away from Coursera school for "many moons".

创建者 Melanie D R

Dec 21, 2020

Kudos to the men and women behind Coursera. The English for STEM Course maybe a challenging experience for working moms like me in terms of being able to finish assigned tasks on or ahead of time. But at the same time it was indeed a fun and exciting experience, as I was able to enhance my English skills while increasing my knowledge and awareness in the Science field.

创建者 ALBERT M N

Nov 13, 2020

The modules are well crafted; they provide realistic examples of what is currently happening across the globe. As a whole, enrolling in the course, enhances my critical thinking: reflected on the assignments as well as the peer evaluation and the grammatical item to be used in submitting the required outputs. Congratulations to all the men and women behind this project!

创建者 Walid D

Jul 10, 2020

Is a very pedagogic course, thanks of this course, I improved my scientific English, that include grammar, vocabulary, reading, writing, many videos about climate change and you learn many other thigns, like write an article or surmise ! and I can tell you, if you know just a little bit of English, you can understand this course ! is for everyone ! I LOVE IT !!

创建者 Muse M I

May 7, 2020

I am highly appreciating for Coursera and the University of Pennsylvania for their wonderful preparation for this course which has allowed us to compete with people who studied English in science during school time.

Special thanks to my dear lectures Miss Alyssa Swanson and Mr. Jack Sulliban for their valuable time and breaking the difficulties into smaller.

创建者 Ali M A

May 3, 2020

This is a great course for both STEM students and laypersons. It is such a rich seam of information on the planet, the kind of damage we are causing on a daily basis, and on ways to save mother Earth. The course is well balanced, easy to navigate, and sure to boost the English of all enrollees, even expert users! I do recommend wholeheartedly!

创建者 Samson Z

Nov 6, 2019

As a audio learner, I much appreciated the use of technology in the class in conjunction to discussing ,readings and presentation projects. I think it's one of the most progressive lit courses I’ve ever taken between the somewhat unknown readings and way of instruction. I feel like my writing has not only improved by my mind is more open.

创建者 José A R N

Jul 18, 2017

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to complete my CV in English to the area of Data Science. 


The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards.

Jose Antonio.

创建者 Cleber A

May 26, 2020

I learned the principles about climate change, the sources, the causes, and the effects. furthermore, I learned also the new technologies for slow down greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. This course helps me to learn more about grammar and the English language, the video lessons are so good to understanding, because they speak calmly.

创建者 oswaldo m f

Apr 21, 2020

This was an excellent course which made me learn too much about scientific topics that I did not know existed in the field of engineering was also surprising the way they developed the topics and vocabularies used are very good for someone who is starting to connect with the English language.

Thank you for the course and excellent work.

创建者 Ludmilla L

Jul 6, 2020

The course is wonderful! In addition to assisting in learning English on relevant subjects in the areas covered with innovative scientific research. With the course you can learn new vocabularies, grammar, improve reading and writing, text interpretation. Not to mention the range of knowledge you will acquire with the course. Amazing!

创建者 Joan A

Mar 1, 2021

The course is very much comprehensive! New learnings and discoveries were shared and learned which can be a great help as a teacher/trainer in imparting the knowledge to the students/trainees in the coming days. The course is a great help especially in the advocacy of saving our planet Earth and preserving it for generations to come.

创建者 Safia B

Jul 10, 2020

The course has certainly deepened my knowledge on climate change and has given me more valuable information on how scientists are working to mitigate its effects by using renewable energy and nanotechnology. This course is really priceless and It worth more than five stars. Thank you to the instructors and the university of PENN.

创建者 Alaeddine G

Jan 14, 2020

it's really an interested courses i have ever gotten. i understand all about climate change and global warming etc ; now i am able to distinguish between notions and vocabularies related on climate afterwards i learned almost all pioneering and promising methods to create clean an renewable energy. It's really outstanding !

创建者 Donald K B

Feb 13, 2021

Your course is very interesting and I love it. It enhances communication skills in English language. I makes me understand global warming and climate change and how we reduce the cause and/or impact for climate change. Thank you very much for allowing me to finish this English for STEM course. This is a great achievement.

创建者 Nicolas F

Jun 1, 2020

It´s a extremelely complete course. Interesting and useful for anyone who is interested in climate change. Also the teachers are clears and the interviews are really informative. I highly recommend it to you if it is your first time here or if you want to learn some new vocabulary and new information about climate change.

创建者 สุทธิพันธ์ ห

May 19, 2020

This course provides a wider range of contents about global warming and English strategies. The learners implement strategies in order to communicate effectively under STEM contexts. This course is recommended for those whose English is not their native language, especially those who involve with science and teaching.

创建者 Benedict M P A

Nov 17, 2017

Thank you for this graduating this course. It is timely as part of my classroom teaching. The Global warming theme is such timely to teach now to educate my students about their part in alleviating this global warming trend. Once again, thank you so much to my instructors: Mr. Jack Sullivan and Miss Alyssa Swanson.