Chevron Left
返回到 The Science of Well-Being

学生对 耶鲁大学 提供的 The Science of Well-Being 的评价和反馈

4.9
7,796 个评分
2,777 条评论

课程概述

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

热门审阅

EN

May 31, 2019

I absolutely enjoyed and learned a lot about happiness from this course. I will definitely recommend it to my peers, as it gets me to the core from my misconceptions to developing the right practices.

BT

Nov 27, 2019

Loved the practical "rewiring" assignments that helped me with understanding what really makes us happy. Not only this course changed my life perspective but enriched the lives of the people around me

筛选依据:

201 - The Science of Well-Being 的 225 个评论(共 2,933 个)

创建者 Mirela

Nov 03, 2019

It's been brilliant. I love the mixed approach. It is the first course on Coursera that I'm actually going to finish and that is because I can see the applicability of what I am learning in my day-to-day life. That being said, it mixes up with academic rigour and it opened up a whole new area of psychology which speaks to me much more than the clinical one. I'm following this up with the Positive psychology specialisation and let's see where this takes me. Have recommended it to friends who are also taking the course :) Thank you!

创建者 Philip H

Jul 23, 2019

This course was an excellent reminder to focus on what counts. I feel I had a slight advantage in knowing what makes me happy because I am likely older than most of the students and clearly a couple decades older than the Professor! It was nice to see the science and study behind everything I felt I had learned from my nearly six decades on this planet. At best this course will make you look at life with a much better perspective, at worst, you might be able to appreciate and savor more that which is truly important to you.

创建者 Rowena J S

May 16, 2019

Super informative and super inspiring. Plus, Prof. Laurie Santos explains everything in a really relatable way. Through this course, I've become more sensitive and conscious about my purchases, about how I spend my time, and how I take care of myself and the people around me. It helped me realize that being happy means being intentional in your goals and in your actions. I'd love to review over and over the lessons here because I know there is still so much I can take from them. Thank you, Prof. Laurie, Yale, and Coursera!!!

创建者 Aluashka I

May 05, 2020

Probably the best course I've taken in my life, both online and offline. The charming teacher explains the basics of how our brains are wired and provides tools to rewire them for our own good in an easy and digestible way.

Thank you so much for the course and the opportunity to finally believe I am capable of change :) Finally adopted all the habits I wanted to have for years. Certainly feeling myself way happier.

Good luck to all the students! And remember that knowing theory is one thing, but practise makes it all real <3

创建者 Christine H

Feb 25, 2020

This course gives you science-based tools to implement in your life. It leads you through chosing one of the tools to work on daily for the last 4 weeks of the class and then you evaluate yourself to see if you have felt any improvement. This is a wonderful course you will carry with you the rest of your life and follow. It offers reality checks of what really makes you happy and you may be surprised at the science behind some of the answers. The lectures are very interesting the readings go more in-depth on the subjects.

创建者 Erin J

Jan 02, 2019

This course has been super enlightening and through the use of actual qualitative studies has shared and shown the effectiveness of some incredibly easy and meaningful techniques to improve one's own well-being. The casual discussion format is easy to follow, and several times I've found myself surprised at the inaccuracies of what I thought I knew about increasing happiness versus what I've learned in this course. Also a great introduction to so many accessible resources to continue on after the course ends! Thank you!

创建者 Barb K

Dec 08, 2019

Thank you so much Laurie for providing this course. As an educator I found the information fascinating. Particularly the information on grades. I have actually used some of the data you showed with students with interesting results.

The course was invaluable. It was a perfect combination of theory and practical information. The data was really informative and it gave me a lot to think about. My top character skill was Love of Learning and I certainly loved this course and the knowledge I gained. Again, thank you.

创建者 Man L C

Apr 22, 2020

I highly recommend—one of the most enjoyable classes I have ever taken. I have forwarded this to many friends. I hope everyone will be blessed by it. Remember, all the things that bring you joy in life are not things but experience and engagement with people and pursue excellence in things you are good at and is aligning your value. Setting your heart right to something truly worth it, be grateful, pray, don't compare, love others, serve others well with your resources, and your inner joy will root in you.

创建者 Harshit G

Apr 04, 2020

I started this course in January out of complete curiosity that what possibly could a course of 10 weeks long teach us about well-being and all thanks to this lockdown that I was finally able to complete this course today.

This is an outstanding course! Easy to follow, interesting, scientifically backed, and just a joy to participate in. I was able to change into a more positive and productive mindset as taught in this course. I highly recommend it to everyone regardless of your profession or background.

创建者 Sony J

Jul 18, 2019

I wish I had come across this type of a lecture when I was young. Many of the points discussed in the course are now either known or at least intuitive for someone my age, but it's still reassuring to know the there's research that backs up my intuition. Anyone in their late teens or early twenties who're moving up in life must take this course because it'll give them the right perspective early on so that they don't have to learn after making mistakes, rather they can avoid those mistakes altogether.

创建者 Marilyn H G

Jul 04, 2019

I enjoyed this course very much, it did teach me to be more aware of other feelings besides my own. I pay attention to saying hello to strangers and giving them a smile maybe even when I am not feeling it. I started walking again, which is amazing by itself, it has been about 7 years since I did walk each day. I have lost about 20 lbs. so far and will continue striving to stay in shape. Thank you for making me aware of savoring, and friendships and constantly working toward being happy every day!

创建者 Abu B S A

May 18, 2020

Professor Laurie Santos is one of the most influential, polite, interactive and engaging teachers I've ever come across. They way she has shaped this course is brilliant, the assignments, the videos, the reading materials everything is so informative that one can't resist to write a 5-star review about her and this course. This course has really helped me in improving my personal well-being and as well as has kept me connected with my inner self to learn new things and to explore my own personality.

创建者 Julie A

May 16, 2020

This course, taught by Laurie Santos, provides videos, materials and additional resources to put in place mindfulness of discovering the true happiness we all desire and have within us. Her approach to teaching is honest, as she self reflects on her personal experience, allowing a connection with her students. The course would serve anyone at any age to prioritize their happiness goals using their personal strengths and strategies provided within the course. A great course to take over and over!

创建者 Carrie A S

Jun 04, 2019

I found this online Coursera course by Yale Professor Laurie Santos to be enlightening and engaging. I have learned much from this course that I will use in my daily life. It offers the science behind things that our brains do to stop us from living our best life. It offers practical ways to on how to overcome the obstacles in our minds to be able to put the practices learned during this course in daily use to maintain our well-being. I would recommend it to anyone concerned with their well-being.

创建者 Susan C

May 23, 2020

Dr. Santos, your course was so refreshing and relevant for the stressors of every day but especially now in the middle of this Pandemic. So thought-provoking and challenging that I was talking about it to family and friends! Your stepwise approach, provided research and videos with other scientists really helped me see many ways to stabilize parts of my own life and offer help to others as well. Your work is wonderful and I am so grateful I stepped into it especially now in such a time as this.

创建者 Gregory E

May 14, 2020

I found the course to be really pleasant, informative and I really looked forward to the lectures. I am really happy the course has given me an array of tools to use to be happier. One of the guests pointed out happiness is like a leaky tire you have to keep filling up. I love that analogy and if I feel my tire is starting to deflate a bit I can go to the happiness toolbox and choose from my strengths, gratitude, kindness, connections, sleep, exercise, meditation, etc. to pump the tire back up.

创建者 Regan H

May 12, 2020

Evidence-based research and engaging lecture content, coupled with weekly challenges, made for an exceptional learning experience. Most of the "strategies" shared were things I thought I already knew. But to have those strategies clearly explained and backed by scientific research, it made incorporating them into my daily life easy and exciting! I feel better than I have in a long time and am happy to be thoroughly engaged in the lifelong, ever-changing, dynamic pursuit of happiness and wellbeing.

创建者 Marissa

Nov 26, 2018

Very insightful first half talking about research on well-being and positive psychology. I liked the academic context for this rich subject and learned so much such as how our minds are so bad at estimating what will make us happy. Money, a good grade, a good job, a big house...all those are illusions that don't really make us happy.

My favorite part was the second half which focused on what DOES make us happy - things like being kind, social connection, meditation, exercise, time with loved ones.

创建者 Robert-Jan B

Apr 12, 2020

This course show why so many people are unhappy. They are focussing on all kinds of things that really do not contribute to sustainable happiness. This course helps you discover what actually does help to be more happy and focussed in life. And while the solutions seem easy at first, it is quite hard to set up routines to keep them in place. Fortunately the course also recognises that challenge and takes care of it. I recommend this course to anyone who would like to feel a bit happier in life.

创建者 Kaan A

Nov 27, 2019

I think it's a very benificial lesson for any learners or psychology students. I liked the techniques in this course and it seems we don't really act upon our happiness. We say we want happiness but in order to be that we need to use some technics. For me this course helped me. I tell people around me these techniques. When the first year of my psych. education in Turkey i watched Moralities of everyday life's lessons of Yale, now i a a graduated find another amazing lesson. Thank you so much !

创建者 Andrew B

May 30, 2018

Incredibly informative material and really easy to digest, but you'll only get out of this course what you put in. Merely knowing the information is not enough to change behaviour.

With that said, I did learn that what I thought would make me happiest is almost counter intuitive to what can actually make me more happy.

Highly recommended for anyone who can see benefits in feeling more upbeat, more aware, more energetic and simply happier on a day-to-day basis.

Thanks Laurie for a great course!

创建者 Maya A Y G M

Apr 24, 2019

I am SOOOO FRUSTRATED!! I loved the course. BUT IT KEEPS TELLING ME I HAVE NOT COMPLETED IT WHEN I HAVE SUBMITTED ALL ASSIGNMENTS, DONE MULTIPLE PEER REVIEWS, AND HAVE COMPLETED EVERYTHING I CAN FIND TO COMPLETE. and worst of all, THERE SEEMS TO BE NO HUMAN COMPONENT TO HELP WITH THIS ISSUE. I liked the idea of Coursera, but the fact that one cannot contact a live human for assistance and there is no way to find solutions to my issues makes me never want to take an other course here. GRRRR.

创建者 Sheryl A

May 25, 2020

I like the instructor. She has an engaging and positive vibe. There was a couple of occasions where the lectures became a little monotonous, but overall it was interesting and informative. A lot of data and statistics, but I suppose that is to be expected with the "science" aspect. The course was also easy to follow and well-organized. What I found most beneficial were the activities and assignments. Although simple concepts, it changed my entire outlook once I began doing the work.

创建者 Elizabeth L

May 21, 2020

Professor Santos is a talented educator who brought the science to life in an accessible format in this incredible life changing course. The professor's lectures were engaging, fun and the perfect length. I appreciated her discussions and humor throughout. Also, the added use of the rewi app helped set my new habits of happiness. Thank you for offering this course and helping make the world a better, happier place. This should be a required course for all students freshman year! Kudos Yale!

创建者 Billie Y

May 10, 2020

I took this course beginning the first week of the COVID-19 virus causing social distancing. I had no idea at the time how critical this course would become to my mental and physical well being. I did the work and set and reached milestones that I had not thought possible before. But this course taught me to create opportunities out of the worst situation! I am happier than I was before COVID-19 hit and it’s not over. But I have the tools to get me through , smiling! Thank YOU Ms. Santos!!!