Chevron Left
返回到 Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals

学生对 弗吉尼亚大学 提供的 Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals 的评价和反馈

4.7
4,282 个评分
1,178 条评论

课程概述

Not so long ago, the job of product manager was about assessing market data, creating requirements, and managing the hand-off to sales/marketing. Maybe you’d talk to a customer somewhere in there and they’d tell you what features they wanted. But companies that manage product that way are dying. Being a product person today is a new game, and product managers are at the center of it. Today, particularly if your product is mostly digital, you might update it several times a day. Massive troves of data are available for making decisions and, at the same time, deep insights into customer motivation and experience are more important than ever. The job of the modern product manager is to charter a direction and create a successful working environment for all the actors involved in product success. It’s not a simple job or an easy job, but it is a meaningful job where you’ll be learning all the time. This course will help you along your learning journey and prepare you with the skills and perspective you need to: Create the actionable focus to successfully manage your product (week 1) Focus your work using modern product management methods (week 2) Manage new products and explore new product ideas (week 3) Manage and amplify existing products (week 4) This course is ideal for current product or general managers interested in today's modern product management methods. This course was developed with the generous support of the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

热门审阅

LK

Jun 24, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much! This course helped me ground myself in some of the core principles of product management and I'm confident that I will take what I've learned and put it into practice.

JB

May 19, 2019

I liked the course content, even though i do not work - yet - with product. It gave me a good overview of what to expect in the near future, when i expect to be able to put the knowledge into action.

筛选依据:

976 - Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals 的 1000 个评论(共 1,187 个)

创建者 Himanshu K

May 25, 2020

The course is quite good for someone who is a beginner. The guest lectures in between coming from top-notch product managers make it even more interesting as it brings out perspective directly from the industry. It could have been much better if some practical exercises were given in each module so that we can have some kind of hands-on experience. Overall a good course with good content.

创建者 Michael K

Feb 2, 2020

The content of the course is really exceptionally good. The methods are explained fantastically and even experienced product managers really learn a lot here. For all those who have a lot of experience in dealing with agility, there is a lot of room for reflection, especially when dividing PM and PO. In the test questions, some answers unfortunately do not belong to the questions.

创建者 Mauricio A

Mar 25, 2020

I think the course is very useful. Anyway, there is something I always miss and I missed it here again. Any of these jobs as PM need a team with the right knowledge, and that sound basis but fail many times. I really believe people must learn a way to achieve the right knowledge in their teams. Always that goal has been part of my core process and I am sure part of my success

创建者 Roger R

Jul 29, 2020

A very good course with alot of ground covered. I would suggest users to get a some basic insights on Agile concepts and be clear that alot of what is talked about in this course pertains to product management in the software space. However it surely does give a comprehensive view on the discipline and is a good start for anyone looking to branch out into Product Management

创建者 Jessica S R

Oct 31, 2020

Great to have a practical overview of the role, responsibilities and technics that a PM can use. The interviews were all concise and very insightful. I would suggest including some exercises that stimulate students to read and analyse the resources section. It is good reading that complements the learning.

I'm very happy about the time invested in this course!

创建者 Andrés F T C

Jul 18, 2020

The course is very complete, but many contents are designed for someone with previous knowledge in: development, scrum, marketing, business, etc. The teacher explains himself very well but there were parts where I got lost (BMC, seeding features, etc). I recommend this course for anyone interested in learning more about the world of product management

创建者 Gabriel G

Jun 5, 2020

It was a nice overview and refresher for the PM role. It is relatively high-level, but hey, it's a 101 course. I wish the roadmap part was a bit more practical, with examples and such. Executives often ask for roadmaps, and there are ways to create good ones without having specific dates and features, which I think is the wrong way to build roadmaps.

创建者 Clyde C

Jan 12, 2022

An excellent overview and introduction for new product managers, providing key fundamentals and required shifts in thinking needed to succeed. However, some concepts were confusing, and not enough explanation was provided to understand the distinction. Overall, an excellent course for those starting or pivoting into Product

创建者 Phuong N

Dec 9, 2021

It's a very good course in general. The instructor delivered clear messages. However, as someone who knew nothing about PM (I'm taking this course for a career change), I found it overwhelmed with bunch of terms (which I think aren't necessary). So instead I tried to grasp the core idea about a successful PM mindset.

创建者 Shruthi R

Oct 18, 2021

While I found the courses in week 1 and week 2 very interesting to help me understand the fundamentals of Product Management, Week 3 and 4 did not match up to the base set up by the first 2 weeks and my interest started to wane. Hope there could be more substantial topics to cover, to make this course more holistic.

创建者 Mahdi S

Jul 20, 2020

It is an indeed rich course to take. Challenging and having a deep view of the topic. I suppose the presentations could help more, adding more clarity of the content and also the quiz parts could be less subjective. I strongly recommend taking this course if you need to challenge what you have known so far.

创建者 Rupam P

Jan 11, 2021

Very informative and descriptive combined with a very practical course structure. One enjoys the course while learning. Also, the reviews of the industry professional make the course even more authentic. Its very fast paced, but there is only so much you can learn about this vast topic in such little time.

创建者 J H

Dec 15, 2020

Would have been great if there would be more examples based on ecommerce, digital retail, or development of mobile app stores. It's such a massive market with so many employees and consumers that the examples may be easier to relate to and understand then chickens and feeds :)

But overall loved the course

创建者 Yat T L

Dec 30, 2020

The course gives some good examples, and descriptive. However, if the instructor can remove some of the storytelling or examples, and be a little more direct in what he is teaching, then that would make the course easier to follow and to review for points that was unclear or forgotten during the quizzes.

创建者 Mau B

Jun 8, 2020

Its' great and flows quickly. It's kind of basic but ALex gives a lot (A LOT!!!) of resources for you to explore beyond the course. There's not much of a "practical" part of the course it's mostly theory so you have to go out and tryit for yourself or commit to the external resources to keep lerning.

创建者 Andy M

Oct 18, 2019

Good course, with a great grounding with - as advertised - the 'fundamentals' of product management. It would be nice, as others said, to have more hands-on examples or applications given, but if you are able to translate the concepts and learnings into your daily work, then it's well worthwhile.

创建者 Mrugank C

May 31, 2021

A one stop course for getting introduced to modern practices related to product management. Content delivery is good - crisp and clear

Guest lectures are good - given by industry professionals

Tests are short and comprehensive

Recommended for any one taking up their first product management role

创建者 PEELA R K

Jul 1, 2020

Hi,

I really like this course learning fundamentals of product management and interviews with industry experts in product management and their views are quite resourceful and insightful for aspiring PMs.

Thanks everyone for making this journey very useful. Wish you all happy learning..

Ravi

创建者 Kanwar.d S

Jun 3, 2019

This course was super helpful and I learned a lot of new techniques for new product development and adding features to existing products from a product manager's perspective. I will be trying to apply these in my job incrementally and I hope to achieve a lot of value out of these.

创建者 Shaashwath V

Jul 4, 2020

The course is very modular and brushes upon exactly what the title says: Fundamentals. It's perfect for newbies who are entering into the Product Management fields and also for existing product managers who are looking for upping their skills and knowledge with the latest trends.

创建者 xiaoyi c

Mar 19, 2022

​I like all the concepts introduced in this course, and personally, I learned a lot about Product Managment.

M​y fav part of this course, is the guest speaker session, which allows learners to listen to many wonderful perspectives of real-life PM and what they do at work. Thanks!

创建者 Nguyễn H T

Sep 19, 2021

It's very practical, even you have been working as PM in many years, because you will gain profound suggestion and be stimulated by many ideas of coacher and experts take part in interviewing. I am very appreciated tools and tips of experts who participated in sharing sessions.

创建者 KESHAV B

May 17, 2020

The course was excellent. I loved it. I think we should be given some time to think about how things apply on the demo companies used to demonstrate the models before getting told. I also think that the practicality should be increased so that aspiring students get a hands-on,

创建者 Samaneh B

May 12, 2021

The course was very beneficial with so many new concepts to learn. The quality of lectures and materials were high and I truly enjoyed it.

I learnt so much and I guess the only issue for me was that sometimes subjects where taught fast and I couldn’t catch up with them.

创建者 Piyush M

Jan 8, 2020

Good overview of subject matter. Provides sufficient coverage to get started for deep dives. Content is well organized, although week 4 is stretched thin, trying to cover too many topics. Students will also benefit from detailed discussions of selected PM tools.