Chevron Left
返回到 战争的悖论

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 战争的悖论 的评价和反馈

4.6
631 个评分
144 条评论

课程概述

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

DW
Mar 14, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

JW
Jan 11, 2020

Great course! This course has provided some great information and proposed some important philosophical questions. I wish there were exams and a certificate to go along with it too.

筛选依据:

101 - 战争的悖论 的 125 个评论(共 144 个)

创建者 JongyongPark

Jan 1, 2017

informative

创建者 zichenzheng

Jun 5, 2016

nice course

创建者 Gilberto d S V

Jun 20, 2016

good curse

创建者 Tilen G

Jun 12, 2016

Excellent!

创建者 Reyhan P A

Jun 25, 2021

Very good

创建者 Deleted A

Aug 11, 2015

Excellent

创建者 Israel E C V

Sep 27, 2016

Amazing!

创建者 Massimiliano

Jan 4, 2016

Ottimo!

创建者 Ramon p

Jan 12, 2019

V

创建者 Madhavi S

Jul 1, 2016

P

创建者 Christophe v

Mar 5, 2016

g

创建者 Andrew J

Oct 17, 2015

W

创建者 Joan E F

Aug 31, 2015

A

创建者 David D

Aug 6, 2017

One may surprise oneself in being interested in taking such a course. My experience with this course is highly positive. You learn world history in general over the last 1000 years plus a glimpse into earlier times as shaped by war.

I would say one becomes convinced of the merits of war in shaping society into larger, stable entities and actually encouraging peace and prosperity. Who would have agreed to that before taking this course! Bravo.

创建者 Hélio C B

Oct 2, 2015

The passion of Prof. Centeno is contaminating, some of the issues pointed were somewhat new (I have a circle of friends from military profession) and definitely the connection of cultural basis of the society and its capacity to, and way of, fight a war is something that will change my way to see the results of these events in the future.

Thank you very much for this initiative.

创建者 צחי ג

Sep 10, 2015

Very interesting course. The first few weeks are little beat boring, discussing some features that are obvious, but as the course continues the questions become more untresting, especially those which concern war with politics. As a whole it is a very good course, which gives the student a broad understandung of the issue. recommended!!

创建者 Chooi C Y

Jan 24, 2016

A fresh perspective to see the relation between wars and our societies. The notion that wars are always bad and to be avoided is challenged, and seemingly controversial idea of wars bringing benefit to the societies (at a cost) is discussed, quite convincingly.

创建者 Paul F H

Oct 19, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I think I must have virtually done it on my own as there were no other interventions, certainly in recent weeks. A very thought provoking course and all credit to the Professor and those who helped him put the course together.

创建者 GHOUSE B A

Dec 22, 2015

Specified subject and well explained view on WAR. Was also able to understand what are the other factors that for war. Being a Research and explorer this was one of the best learning that I had in 2015.

Thank you so much,

创建者 Steve D

Jan 29, 2021

Very interesting course, in which I learned things I'd never thought about before. The instructor was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. I enjoyed the course despite its sometimes depressing subject matter.

创建者 Ruben B P

Aug 31, 2015

An extremely interesting course, full of fascinating sociologycal and historical topics!

The only thing that wasn't that good about it was the difficulty to get some of books the instructor mentioned.

创建者 Clifford L B

Jul 16, 2016

A different perspective of war that made me think very differently about the whole process and the reactions of people involved in any form of confrontational situation

创建者 Gregg C

Mar 13, 2016

Solid presentation of ideas that SHOULD be considered before entering a war -- but sadly are usually ignored in the emotions of a mindless mass moment.

创建者 Belle S

Jun 28, 2016

Good coverage and interesting lectures that provides a good history of all the warfare and on the social psychology. A fresh perspective I guess.

创建者 peter T

Feb 24, 2016

A good course and very interesting perspectives. A pity Princeton does not issue certificates.