Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,095 个评分

课程概述

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

热门审阅

JC

Apr 1, 2016

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

DB

Apr 22, 2020

I really enjoyed the course & finding out about the creatures that have fascinated me for years. The course was very well structured in logical sections that enabled me to study when I wanted.

筛选依据:

301 - Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles 的 319 个评论(共 319 个)

创建者 Stephanie V

Aug 20, 2017

Very informative and well presented. The videos could perhaps have been a little shorter. More videos of c. 15 mins are more readily digestible than fewer at c. 30 mins.

创建者 Brian D M

Jun 9, 2016

excellent course would love to see more on early crocodilians and turtles, I know turtles have a debated history but would be awesome to look at possible origins.

创建者 Marike S

May 25, 2017

Thank you for a wonderful course. Ancient Marine Reptiles isn't my main area of interest and I still enjoyed every second!

创建者 Kiran E

Apr 17, 2021

It was okay, could do better with explaining but still would recommend to anyone interested in paleontology.

创建者 Andres A

Oct 24, 2017

I would like more information about taxonomy an evolution. The couse focus mostly in the aquatic problem

创建者 WP P

Jan 15, 2020

Great course! Very well done. The only flaw: subtitles in some lessons are not in syncro with video.

创建者 Nicole G

Jun 1, 2021

r​eally enjoyed. links didn't work (embedded multiple choice quizzes did work though). thanks!

创建者 Francine

Mar 23, 2016

A very interesting course, but it's a pity one can only do the quizzes after payment.

创建者 Nicole R

Aug 17, 2021

ive very much enjoyed course and found some things i did not know previously

创建者 André V

Sep 23, 2020

Nice intoductory course. More questions and quizes would be nice. Thx!!

创建者 Erick J A O

Mar 20, 2016

It would be great if even the auditing students cool take the quizzes.

创建者 Yvette H

Jan 2, 2021

Good content in videos - readings were also well done thanks

创建者 Clotilde D

Feb 2, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

创建者 Richard K

May 13, 2017

very well presented course

创建者 Stacey C

Oct 28, 2020

While the information presented in the course is top-notch, it's held back by the use of Flash for many interactive aspects of the videos and also large PDFs for the reading material. Flash is an outdated app that is not terribly secure; I'm unwilling to download it just for a free course. That meant I had to skip valuable learning material that really ought to have been presented in some other way; Flash is just not necessary. As for the PDFs, I realize that is a standard format but these must be exceptionally large files, because each week's reading assignment took 20-40 minutes just to load. That's WAY too long. If the files are that big, break them up into chapters so we can load them and get on with learning.

I hate to only give this 3 stars! The material was excellent (5 stars), it was just so held back by the awkward presentation aspects mentioned above.

创建者 Sayantan S

Jul 15, 2020

The course was pretty informative but it lacked a couple of things. Most important of which was the lack of pictures. I believe that using more pictures of actual fossils can be a lot more helpful. Many examples of fossils being found were mentioned throughout the course but only a handful of them were shown. Showing pictures of the actual fossils excavated helps us to visualise these animals properly.

创建者 Céline L

Nov 3, 2019

Le contenu du cours est intéressant et Scott Persons rend le cours dynamique. En revanche les sous titres déclalés en permanence et la non présence de sous titres en français comme annoncé initialement rendent le cours très difficiles à suivre. c'est bien dommage

创建者 Talita S B

Oct 19, 2018

A maioria dos vídeos estavam com as legendas em inglês fora de sincronia. Do restante, ótimo curso

创建者 Luis A

May 13, 2016

This is a very basic course that introduces you to the topic, but doesn't go into much depth. While it's clear that a lot of time was spent filming and creating the course material, I still would not recommend this course. Both the presentation itself and the in-video quizzes are unbelievably obnoxious. The presenter emphasizes every other word and talks in a very unnatural manner that makes it very tiring to listen to, and the in-video quizzes are far too basic and take up too much time. Sometimes you also have to go to an external site in order to do the activities, which are badly designed and just frustrating. Overall, I recommend waiting for a better course.