Chevron Left
返回到 Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

学生对 丹麦技术大学 提供的 Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods 的评价和反馈

4.6
992 个评分
220 条评论

课程概述

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

热门审阅

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

筛选依据:

26 - Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods 的 50 个评论(共 219 个)

创建者 Jan K T E

Dec 22, 2016

Thank you to DTU especially to Dr. Lina Cavaco for expanding my knowledge about drug resistance and antimicrobial susceptibility testing. Hoping for more lessons about drug resistance. Thank you once again

创建者 Ghanem M G M

Aug 20, 2019

I have learned that antimicrobial resistance is a big concern in every country and as such necessary steps should be taken to curb this.

I really learned a lot. Thank you for this wonderful opportunity

创建者 Abdul A

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

创建者 Kamilla A

Jan 27, 2017

I loved this course. I study biology at Federal University of Rio de Janeiro and it's helped me a lot to understand many things in general about antimicrobials susceptibility. Thank you all!

创建者 Damari p J

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all

The documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

创建者 Nopadol K

Feb 25, 2017

This course teach all things that useful and importance for preparing to everyone who want to know about antimicrobial resistance. Don't think a lot. Take this course and learning it, NOW.

创建者 Tahir A

Apr 07, 2020

The course provided the necessary information regarding the antimicrobial testing and related bioinformatics. The instructors explanations to the relevant topics was easy to understand.

创建者 WASIM A S

Apr 16, 2020

I would love to thank all PhD for this amazing course, I have understood many phenomenons that I was looking for, wishing more success and progress for you laboratory;

Sincerely;

Wasim.

创建者 Nguyen T L Q

Apr 25, 2020

The course is really interesting and I can apply the knowledge accumulated from the course into my current work as an epidemiologist related to AMR surveillance. Thank you so much!

创建者 Jones A

Apr 06, 2020

This has really stepped up my knowledge in a field I have been trained and am proficient in: pharmacy. I feel it will increase my relevance as I progress professionally.

创建者 ELOI D S M

Aug 14, 2017

Excelente curso, parabéns pela iniciativa e proporcionar a todo o mundo conhecimento de qualidade e com certeza agregara uma gama de conhecimento a todos os envolvidos.

创建者 Sania S

May 03, 2020

The course was great for learning but I want to say if you could add more in silico methods as a separate course that could help in small research projects.

创建者 Lance R

Feb 19, 2018

Great course! Really helpful if you have anything to do with testing antimicrobial resistance in the lab or if you just want to learn more about the topic.

创建者 Andrea G T P

Oct 15, 2016

I feal so amazed by all the information, is a complete course and i would like to learn more about antimicrobial resistance. Thank you professor Lina <3

创建者 Rafshan J

Feb 01, 2019

One of the fine course for developing basics as well as advanced level of antimicrobial resistance.Very co-operative,easy instructions to understand.

创建者 Adnan S

Jan 18, 2017

The last two weeks are a bit DENSE. Especially Week 4. Bring your Brain power. But a course worth learning from for relevant skills to use in lab.

创建者 Alessandro B

May 06, 2017

Very useful course! Thank Lina Cavaco for the great job. All the work of DTU is actually a reliable guide in testing antimicrobial resistance.

创建者 José M C F

Aug 25, 2017

Great course!

It gave the necessary tools to improve myself on developing new projects related to the antimicrobial evaluation.

Thanks a lot!!

创建者 Harry A

May 11, 2017

Thanks for the great insight in the subject of antimicrobial resistance. It's one of the best course I have ever taken. Excellent lecturing.

创建者 Salvatore F

Apr 13, 2018

Hi thanks for the excelent course. I received 2 weeks ago an email requesting my dates for the certification but I havent received it yet

创建者 PRIYANKA M R

May 08, 2020

It was an amazing experience to learn concepts that were less known to me.

I am happy that i enrolled this course,thank you so much.

创建者 kamathamsravani

May 24, 2020

Thank you for providing interesting topics its very useful for me. I want some more courses related to antimicrobial resistance

创建者 Hafiz M T M

Jul 11, 2019

It was great learning experience for me. Great course beautifully designed and well explained by the tutors. thank you coursera

创建者 Tan P W

May 25, 2020

Everything is clear and enjoyable to learn! Thank You! I will wait for the next course series of antimicrobial resistance.