Chevron Left
返回到 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 的评价和反馈

4.8
587 个评分
161 条评论

课程概述

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

热门审阅

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

筛选依据:

126 - Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 的 150 个评论(共 156 个)

创建者 이근영

Jan 31, 2019

Cool

创建者 Rajneesh T

Apr 10, 2020

NA

创建者 박기현

Jan 31, 2019

g

创建者 Charles E M

Apr 30, 2018

G

创建者 Clare H

Mar 17, 2018

Really good overview. Information is presented in a very clearly and concisely. The pace is good, and the topics are all very interesting.

The only things I didn't like had to do with format issues: I did not find the periodic "quizzes" that interrupt the videos to be helpful. They were more frustrating than anything since they broke up the flow of the videos and didn't add anything to my understanding of the topics. And while the intro sequences to each video are high-quality, it's unnecessary to have 25 seconds dedicated to the into for *each* and *every* video. This was repetitive and frustrating, especially since the volume on the intro sequences was much louder than the rest of the video, meaning I had to either manually skip the into or adjust the volume each time. These are technical details, so I don't want them to reflect poorly on the content of the course, which is excellent. It's more a suggestion to re-edit the course videos at some point.

创建者 Antonia T B

May 18, 2019

The course is nice but it's a pity that the professor didn't start with Aristotle's ethics (which is the coolest part of his philosophy in my opinion). The first part of the course was extremely boring. The parts about Epicurus and Stoicism were very interesting. The final assignments are nor being reviewed. I finished the course and I'm still waiting to get my Certificate. That's very annoying. Also, there are no Mentors replying. That's a pity. Greetings / Antonia

创建者 Eshana B

Jun 30, 2019

Not being a prior student of philosophy, or rather arts, I had a very different idea about this discipline. After taking the first week's course, I am pretty much enthusiastic about what is yet to come and look forward to learning more.

The course content seems good for me as an introduction.

Wish it included some more realistic examples from life which we can find witty and can relate to our lives.

创建者 Kenneth M

Apr 04, 2016

Clearly presented.course which focuses only on the principal question and themes of each of the 4 philosophies. I found it extremely valuable as it structured in a logical way these issues and also related themt modern life. My only criticism relates to the grading method of the final assignment 0 or 1 is far too simplistic.

创建者 Harvey

Jun 21, 2020

I really enjoyed the content and how well it was delivered. She really knows what she is talking about! My only constructive comment would be to somehow make for real-time discussion between students ... after all, we are talking philosophy here. As we have seen with the virus the technology certainly exists.

创建者 Miguel A R

Jun 06, 2020

En lo personal ha sido de gran ayuda, me ha brindado una gran experiencia haber viajado en las mentes de estos seres que han dejado su legado a través de la historia. Me hubiese gustado que la extensión y/o contenido hubiese abarcado otras temáticas.

创建者 William M

Oct 23, 2017

This was a very solid introduction to the philosophy of Aristotle, Epicurus and the Stoics. It is relatively introductory-level but still I think that even someone who has studied Ancient Philosophy before can learn something from this.

创建者 Anette W

Oct 11, 2016

A good follow- up to the previous course. The material is well organised and gives a profound overview while still inciting further investigation, leaving enough room for expansion of the mind and new thoughts on... almost everything.

创建者 ZHANG Z

May 30, 2020

Very inspiring and interesting examples! It helped me obtain a more detailed and thorough view on Aristotle, Epicurus and the Stoics! Great learning experience!

创建者 Sidney C

Dec 06, 2018

I enjoyed the course and treatment by the Professor. I learned a lot about this important period in philosophy. Thank you.

创建者 Jaafar A

Jul 31, 2020

very good course, but requires more multiple choice and fill in the black exercises to be perfect.

thanks Dr. Susan Meyer.

创建者 Francisco L

Jul 04, 2019

Very complete, to be perfect, from my point of view, the course would need less material to read and a point of dynamism.

创建者 David M

Jun 20, 2016

Interesting overview. Would have appreciated more time on Hellenistic Philosophy

创建者 Santosh K

Sep 22, 2016

Beside the annoying loud music in the intro of each video it is Insightful.

创建者 Kousay a

Mar 15, 2020

Greek Philosophers were masters of thought and logic. An excellent course!

创建者 bouali m

Dec 05, 2016

This was a very enjoyable experience, thank you all for the opportunity.

创建者 Mick H

Sep 15, 2016

Another fine MOOC by the prof. I really like her dry delivery style.

创建者 Zeyu C

Jan 15, 2017

Though not too inclusive, it's a great course for introduction.

创建者 Clotilde D

Feb 02, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

创建者 Sindhura

Aug 21, 2016

A good starting point to ancient philosophy .

创建者 Joy S

Jun 17, 2018

pretty good info. Aristotle was weird