Chevron Left
返回到 鸡的行为与福利

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 鸡的行为与福利 的评价和反馈

4.7
380 个评分
144 个审阅

课程概述

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

热门审阅

CL

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

AS

Jun 09, 2016

I found this course to be very informative for those who are beginning to learn about chickens or would like to expand their knowledge to improve conditions for their backyard flock.

筛选依据:

1 - 鸡的行为与福利 的 25 个评论(共 141 个)

创建者 Aminullah

Feb 17, 2019

this course is very gainful for any person who is involved in any type of poultry production system directly or indirectly i would instigate all to involve and complete this course.

创建者 Elaine G

Jun 04, 2019

I have a small flock of backyard chickens. I found your course to be very informative. I also felt that I could trust what I was reading, instead of relying on word of mouth and the internet. My hens thank you for educating their keeper.

创建者 Noelle R

May 07, 2019

As a seasoned exotic poultry breeder, I honestly didn’t expect to learn much from this but gave it a go anyway. Much to my surprise, I learned a ton and HIGHLY RECOMMEND it to any and all poultry owners, regardless of the size of your flock. Both you and your birds will greatly benefit from this class. It takes a lot of the guess work out of good poultry husbandry. - Noelle Reagan, Native Colors Exotics, Wisconsin, USA

创建者 Edward M G

May 06, 2019

This has been a very interesting course, I never imagined that the behavior of the chickens was so complex. 100% recommended this course.

创建者 Dominique K

May 01, 2019

Excellent course with well presented lectures and a thorough overview of the issues associated with poultry keeping both at the large and small scale

创建者 andrew s c

Apr 17, 2019

This was brilliant for me as I struggle with reading and a lot of this was done by audio.

I have gained even more knowledge to help me maintain my flock and hope to use this knowledge to progress in the future.

Many thanks to all the staff and teams that made this online course available and flexible.

No doubt ill be back to learn some more :)

创建者 Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent technical information!

创建者 Susan E

Mar 26, 2019

Excellent course, very informative & well presented

创建者 Carolina M B

Mar 25, 2019

Very well designed!

创建者 Julián C

Mar 01, 2019

Me fue de muchísima utilidad para mi proceso de enriquecimiento en mi carrera de Medicina Veterinaria y Zootecnia, gracias a que abarca todos los aspectos básicos que acarrean un adecuado bienestar y el consiguiente rendimiento de las aves en los sistemas de explotación existentes. Lo único que echo en falta es más imágenes y/o vídeos explicatorias, en vez de ver a la experta en el área hablando la mayor parte del tiempo.

创建者 Muhammad I

Feb 15, 2019

An informative course for backyard and commercial poultry farmers to improve welfare aspects in the process of chicken production whether its for meat or egg production.

创建者 Diego F R D

Feb 15, 2019

Great information i learned a lot. Thanks everyone

创建者 Simon V d b

Jan 25, 2019

The course consisted of a smart alternation between lecture videos, demonstrative videos, interviews and documents. The instructor spoke clearly and at a thoughtful pace and I appreciate how the videos were filmed on-site. The course also provided tips for anyone keeping chickens in a backyard coop.

创建者 Fernando J p d

Jan 21, 2019

I'm about to start a small breeding project for laying hens naturally and it has been very important to know such an important topic.

创建者 Muhammad B c

Nov 29, 2018

very informative.....

创建者 Maria S S C

Nov 25, 2018

Very nice introductory course! I would like another that goes more deeply into anatomy, physiology and pathology in production chickens.

创建者 ZAHIRULLAH

Nov 07, 2018

so informative course for me as a pakistani student

创建者 Laura W

Nov 05, 2018

I loved this course. This course covers everything from the fields of study used for behavior to end-of-life situations, including slaughter. I couldn’t bring myself to watch the videos in the last week, as I don’t care to learn how to slaughter these wonderful birds. Well worth the money if you want the certificate. I most appreciated the discussion of incorporating natural behaviors into the commercial raising of chickens and how studies of such behaviors led to the changing of laws.

创建者 Bitney M

Nov 03, 2018

Well balanced course. Presented in a structured way. Providing excellent information and good perspective.

创建者 Lawrence m

Oct 16, 2018

I have what I needed to know now but I need the link to pay for this certificate or account

创建者 Theresa F

Oct 11, 2018

worth the work and time

创建者 Monique H

Oct 07, 2018

I learned a lot from this course: what is normal and necessary behavior for chickens, what they require for welfare, EU regulations, how modern farming methods may fall short of providing true welfare, the challenges of transport, what is required for humane culling and slaughter, and how selective breeding based on human convenience can lead to welfare issues for the birds. Most important: I learned a lot about what my two backyard girls need to be happy.

创建者 Zelal ِ A

Sep 08, 2018

The course is fun with valuable content but it needs more illustrations, Talks about behaviors in general but would be desirable if there is more expansion in commercial farms.

创建者 Gipsi T

Sep 04, 2018

Great course for increasing awareness of a bird that is so useful to much of humanity.

创建者 Christina S

Aug 24, 2018

Great course, loved it!