Chevron Left
返回到 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

学生对 Google 提供的 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的评价和反馈

4.7
37,250 个评分
8,456 条评论

课程概述

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

热门审阅

AM

Mar 29, 2020

what an amazing course, so much information and yet so easy to understand, would recommend going over a few of the videos and supplemental reading a few times, take the time needed, it'll be worth it.

BC

Jun 23, 2018

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

筛选依据:

6576 - The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的 6600 个评论(共 8,555 个)

创建者 GARAH A

Jul 10, 2021

创建者 Shreya S

Jun 10, 2021

s

创建者 Cristian S

Mar 21, 2021

l

创建者 rupesh p

Mar 8, 2021

.

创建者 Sahar A

Jan 27, 2021

.

创建者 Leonardo H A

Oct 30, 2020

.

创建者 SATHISH M 1

Oct 5, 2020

.

创建者 Ei T S

Oct 3, 2020

5

创建者 Mhee A G

Sep 27, 2020

.

创建者 Brijesh K

Aug 25, 2020

g

创建者 Vasavi V M

Jul 2, 2020

.

创建者 Drishti D

Jun 20, 2020

.

创建者 FAUSTINE F K

Jun 7, 2020

.

创建者 Reza S

Aug 12, 2018

G

创建者 Tyler E

Jan 6, 2020

For context: this was not the first time I have been exposed to 75% of the information in this course. It was meant as a refresher, and to fill in gaps in my knowledge. It did succeed at this: I now understand more than I did before.

That being said: there are some issues with this course. First and foremost, there was occasional inaccurate information. The particular example that I recall was MAC spoofing being the correct answer to the question "What is a common way to improve WiFi security?" (I am paraphrasing, something to that effect). As I put it in my feedback, this does not prevent anyone with greater than 15 brain cells from getting on your WiFi. It is trivially easy to bypass, and anyone capable of using Google could figure out how to do it in less than 10 minutes.

Luckily, this sort misinformation is relatively rare. I ran into it 3-4 times throughout this course, but it is by no means a systemic issue. There were some other minor issues with low level networking terms that could confuse someone with experience who was not merely parroting the answers from the previous videos, but on the whole this was not a persistent issue.

In a previous version of this review, I made some negative comments about the lack of labs. This was because I did not have a basis for comparison with the rest of the course. Because I have now been exposed to the some of the other modules, I have learned to lower my standards. By those standards, this course is actually pretty good, and it is easily the best one in this series. I still have minor gripes, but nothing compared to the issues I have with some of the later courses.

创建者 Gordon O

Apr 26, 2019

This one was definitely much MUCH harder than the first module of the course. However I will say, as daunting as computer networking used to be for me, after having completed this Bits and Bytes course I feel a lot more confident about my general knowledge on networking fundamentals and how information is sent back and forth across the internet. To be honest, I found the entire thing quite fascinating so I may consider pursuing this area further with a CCNA certification.

The most interesting thing I learned in this course is data encapsulation, as it takes place across the layers of the OSI model, and the exact steps computers take to establish a connection between each other across the Internet.

One thing I had hoped for was a bit more in depth and interactive activities with regards to running networking commands and utilizing virtualization technology through the cloud. We started it with the first module by running virtual instances on the Google Cloud Platform but then for this course we just suddenly stopped that entirely, which was pretty disappointing for me. I could run some of the commands myself but without any specific objective it was more just messing around than actually practicing my knowledge and skills.

I hope that the future modules have more in depth and interactive activities and assessments rather than just short multiple choice quizzes again and again :/

创建者 Troy R

Jun 2, 2022

The course itself is excellent. I'm impressed by how much information can be easily explained in a compact format. It truly is a 5 star course.

That said, the tech support being offered is Amazon level incompetence, and Coursera should be embarrassed. The IPv6 compression exam at the end of this course has a serious technical bug. I reached out to Coursera's technical support team, two members of which -- Evelyn and Jet, specifically -- ignored what I wrote, declared the problem to be my fault, and gave me instructons on how to complete the exam because they clearly thought I was a moron. The problem was an imposed character limitation of 20 characters in the answer space due to copy/paste inexplicably adding extra invisible characters in the answer space. The other workaround to ensure a correct answer requires entering something screwball that should not have worked whenever a correct answer was checked as wrong. I did my research to get past that and solved it in under 24 hours, whereas your support team have been sitting on this for at least 6 months, as reported in the forums Evelyn and Jet so "helpfully" suggested I check. After being on the receiving end of a shining example of how not to offer IT support according to your own certification course, I'll let your crack team figure it out on their own. Rest assured, I won't bother to reach out to them again.

创建者 Angela R

Apr 30, 2019

this course could use some adjustments at end of module quizzes. the first part is you have to reset it if you get one wrong and its a pain to have to keep doing it over and over again. drag and drop also had issues, in one instance I had the right answer but it was done in the wrong ORDER so i kept getting it wrong and the chat help was clueless. the directions didn't explain to do this in a particular order so i wasted a lot of time on the first part of the quiz.

Please spend more time on binary conversions, ipv6 conversions, math and technical aspects of certain topics because there needs to be step by step examples, instead of definitions. perhaps excercises with an answer key at the end so im better prepared for quiz questions.

please resolve the unavailable plugin for laptops. it says its only available for desktops. chat help didn't help and wanted screenshot. sigh. there are some glitches in this course that need to be worked out but it wasn't terrible, i think i learn better by doing rather than listening for a long time. I did learn why some things are done in tech that i didnt' know before but i blasted through this course because i already have tech experience and want certification.

创建者 Jaxon M

Apr 26, 2018

This course definitely felt like a filter to see who was actually dedicated to sticking it out and learning the technical details of modern networking. It was a major spike in difficulty compared to the first course, but again I believe that was to work as a filter. After completing the course I have gained a firmer foundation in my understandings of IT and a greater confidence in my ability to learn. If there was one thing I would change about the course, it would be the provided supplemental readings. Don't get me wrong I found the readings useful but I did not appreciate that almost everyone of the readings were from Wikipedia. Now this isn't a problem due to reliability of information, it's a problem of information overload. I would appreciate if the supplemental readings kept in mind where we are in the Certification course. I found myself having to read hours more just understand one Wikipedia article in full. I think the readings would be of more use if they were in a more simplified language to represent better where we are knowledge.

创建者 Bijan A

Aug 8, 2018

As we learn more complex material I think as a student and also as a former teacher, it is best to re enforce the lecture material with Q&A sessions directly with teacher to answer the questions in a quick and accurate manner so in case any one gets stuck on a subject which consequently slow the progress and sometimes lead to quitting all together.

I think the way all these material are gathered and put together for this certificate is awesome, having said that there are improvements needed to make it easier for the students to follow and learn.

I am old school, got my masters back in early 90's, I think not only it is nice to have but it is must to have, as long as I remember we always saved our technical text books for future references. Although the online courses are much different than the traditional classroom classes, I still think for technical courses like these a nicely prepared PDF of the covered material would be very nice and practical for us newbies to keep and read again to better remember the material.

创建者 Sandra E

Jun 18, 2020

Didn't know what I was getting myself into starting into this course. Be prepared to take detailed notes from the very beginning. Draw plenty of diagrams. Rewatch the videos till you get the gist of it. Very very very technical. You really do get into the nitty gritty of computer networking. This course was no joke. But it helps to appreciate all the hard work that has gone into making what the internet is for us today.

I would appreciate more highlighting of important terms that we would get tested on. I would skip out on writing something down, when later regretting not writing it down because it was asked about on an exam. More pictures would also be very helpful. I'm a visual slow learner and have very little IT background. This course was a major struggle. Especially week 2.. the dreaded networking layer. If it weren't for my notes, I wouldn't have passed the quizzes and finished the course.

创建者 Ewa ( B

Aug 10, 2020

Overall, I found the course very informative as i feel that I've learned a great deal. HOWEVER, some of the Graded Assessments felt that they "overshot" the information that was provided by the course. In other words, I felt that I was unprepared and frustrated to take some of the graded assessments because the course did provide that information at all (IPv6 compression portion of the Graded Assessment). ALSO, it would be nice when taking quizzes and "quiz-like" graded assessments, that if an incorrect answer is selected, that when the user is reviewing the course, that the reason why an answer is incorrect is provided along with the correct answer. Many people that take this course do not have time to go back and review the sections to find a "needle in the haystack".

Thank you for the course. It is a good course overall, but it an use some tweaks to make it outstanding.

创建者 Zack J

Jan 31, 2019

Please edit out the unnecessary/stupid 10 sec intro to EVERY video! In course 2, there are 89 videos. That's 890 seconds or 14.8 (basically 15 min) of pointless and meaningless time taken from the students! And that is just counting the videos from the second course!!! I'm not going to count how many videos are in all 5 courses of this program, but I'm assuming its in the hundreds. That's a lot of wasted time for a 10 second intro on every video!

And with some personal experience in video editing, I know that it really wouldn't take someone that long to go back and edit out the intros. I think someone could probably do it in a full work week (40 hrs) time.

I did enjoy this course a lot! This might be one of the most practical courses in this program. I probably experience a network issue at least once a day at my current IT support job.

创建者 Calicia S

Oct 5, 2020

It is A LOT. So gear up. I had a history teacher who once told me that you cannot use one source for history because different people will have different perspectives and you need to learn most of them. for those who are complaining about the course being a waste, I say you didn't use other resources like Youtube to help. Google and Youtube are your friends people. this a college level course and simply put, you won't be spoon fed.

Listen to the vids, take your notes, watch youtube videos on the topics you aren't clear on, do not rush the process, and google definitions for words and phrases that aren't clear.

I am a novice. All of this is new. Don't feel frustrated. take you time and learn at your own pace.

ask questions when you need help. read the forum threads. they are a wealth of help and sometimes resources.

We can do this.

创建者 Jaqi F

Oct 27, 2020

The course was extremely challenging because of the dense material. I appreciate that you broke it down as far as you did. My one critique is that the supplemental reading in the last couple modules were copies of the script from the video, with a link at the end. My constructive feedback would be that if you want to include the information from the previous video in the supplementary reading, maybe you could phrase it in a different way in order to give people another chance if they didn't quite grasp the concept the first way it's explained. Then you can include the links at the end for further study. Otherwise it feels like "the supplemental reading no longer matters to the program's creators, so why should it matter to me?" (I don't know if everyone would feel this way, but it's how I felt after it happened twice.)