Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的评价和反馈

4.7
4,284 个评分
1,445 条评论

课程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

热门审阅

BM

Nov 4, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

SD

Jul 13, 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

筛选依据:

126 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 150 个评论(共 1,444 个)

创建者 Ricardo P

Jun 17, 2019

Well presented lectures by Brando Skyhorse and useful assignments with prompts to make you exercise the writing concepts laid out throughout the course. This is the first time that I have done a Coursera course and I am pleasantly surprised with the results. Thank you Brando, and thank you Coursera for allowing me to improve my creating writing skills from the comfort of my home.

创建者 Ville H

Mar 17, 2021

Very precise and instructive. Even if some parts of it may feel too simplistic and/or American (not every country has the same standards for storytelling and writing), the way the theory and the assignments are integrated are highly useful. Besides: it's good to start with the basics! I loved the challenges of writing under tight constraints, and evaluating other people's work.

创建者 Kalin Z S

Jun 10, 2020

Very useful course. Initially, I thought that lecture-wise it was very brief but actually it is very nicely condensed to the essentials that you need to write engaging stories and content. I have written 4 stories as part of each week assignments and have noticed an improvement in my writing and the feedback from other learners was quite good and constructive for the most part.

创建者 Joe M

Dec 8, 2018

Very well put together course. Gave me great insight on plot but especially editing and revision. I was pretty directionless when it came to revising my own work and the last week of this course was a excellent eye-opener. I have a way better idea how and what I should be changing instead of just re-writing everything a bunch of times. Looking forward to the next course!

创建者 Elliana H

May 2, 2021

This course helped me so, SO, much! I am able to finish short stories that would have taken me years to complete. I highly recommend taking this course if your struggling trying to finish a story and having all the necessary components organized and distinguished. The assignments are intensive but are really, really helpful in helping you focus on the goal that's set.

创建者 A M o S د ص

Jun 7, 2020

I really enjoyed every moment of this course. What I have learned during this four weeks is extremely valuable and I hope that it will be benefecial for me in the near future. I would like to thank Mr Brando for his efforts, Wesleyan University who gave me this priceless experience, and all the other students with whom I exchanged reviews and opinions. THANK YOU ALL !

创建者 Nicolas S D

May 28, 2020

Realmente un curso muy interesante y dinámico. El tutor desarrolla muy bien los temas y el contenido es realmente provechoso. Las tareas son acorde al desarrollo de las lecciones y van generando un acumulado que permite reconocer el avance del estudiante en su escritura. Es un curso muy bien estructurado y el tutor está a la altura del mismo. Muy agradecido, saludos.

创建者 Muhammad Z

May 14, 2020

It was an amazing course. I was almost zero in creative writing when I started this course, and, now, I got the last assignment reviewed by my colleagues, and they were surprised and loved it.

Sir Brando Skyhorse made things look so easy.

Another surprising fact, I joined this course by mistake, but, now, I am thinking of taking the next courses in this specialization.

创建者 Mikey T

Feb 18, 2021

I've taken numerous Creative Writing courses over the years- in Community College, in a university. I can honestly say that Wesleyan University's Creative Writing Specialization benefitted me more than any other. Brando Skyhorse is a rock-solid novelist, prolific editor, and a great teacher of all the most important parts of Plot. This course is highly recommended.

创建者 Akanshya A

Sep 8, 2020

The Course taught me things that I feel like I wouldn't have to know if not for the course. It taught me the right way of doing things that I love. It helped me understand the concept of the plot in a story better and how I can make mine interesting. I recommend it to everyone who is confused about how to start. This course is all the guidance you need. Thank You.

创建者 Federico B S

May 30, 2018

I liked this course a lot. It helped me get a better sense of the formal structure of narrative and what each part of a story is supposed to achieve. The exercises are great. The constraints the instructor set for them make them useful tools for grasping the concepts he explained during each module. Make sure you stick to the instructions and just try to have fun.

创建者 Karsen

Oct 29, 2019

Lots of practical advice to consider for beginning writers. I did not value the editing parts as much as the other parts, especially since this is the first course in the specialization, but the analysis of plot construction was useful. I liked how Brando used Harry Potter as an example of structure because I know that series well (and probably most people do).

创建者 Beth

Jun 20, 2016

I audited this course so I was locked out of submitting assignments; however, I would recommend this course to any creative writing beginner (like myself). The course was well organized and concise and the concepts were clear. It was easy to apply the concept to the assignments and I was surprised at what I was able to write as a result of auditing this course.

创建者 David F

Sep 8, 2018

Very informative and helpful introduction to scene construction. I now enjoy watching TV and reading stories which involve the ABDCE structure and I ask myself questions based on the 21-point revision process. It adds a whole new dimension for enjoying stories which makes this course worthwhile even if you have no intention of ever writing anything yourself.

创建者 Rain v S

Aug 29, 2020

This course was really well put together! I'm a content editing intern at a small indie publisher, so I wasn't sure how much I'd really learn- turns out a lot! Taking this course has already improved my editing and my ability to communicate with authors, as well as giving me more opportunities to flex my reviewing skills for my peers. Wonderful, thank you!

创建者 Rachel N

Sep 7, 2020

This course taught me the basics of crafting, and I learned that my story needs more revision than I wanted to admit before. The instructor is awesome, and I look forward to hearing more from him. His lessons were structured and based on his journey to be an author, which improved the positive vibe of the whole course, making it easier and more enjoyable.

创建者 Mihaela G

May 7, 2020

As a beginner to creative writing, the structure and the interviews the Professor used in this course helped me a lot with understanding. I could see myself improving my writing from one assignment to another. Also I became very aware of the writing structure when I am reading books written by well-known authors, which is a great way to learn further.

创建者 Farzeen R

Feb 4, 2021

Loved this course! Prof Skyhorse explains everything so vividly. Learned many things regarding plot. Structure of story, what a scene should have in a story etc. I would want my peers to leave more detailed reviews on the assignments though. Writing 'well written' only does not help the writer. Try giving an advice or praise their work in someway.

创建者 Rayyan F

May 19, 2021

The videos are short and to the point. I especially appreciate the "example" videos. The assignments were challenging and enjoyable. I did not face any problems with reviews, so I don't know what happens to the schedule if you fail an assignment, so I have no feedback regarding the whole online experience. Thank you for the opportunity to learn.

创建者 Rida K

Apr 19, 2020

This creative writing course got me out of my comfort zone and made me realise that your weaknesses in writing can become strengthens if you work hard enough. The people who graded my assignments were very helpful and always left comments on not only how to improve but also what they liked about the stories, this was a great confidence booster.

创建者 Maria-Isabel C

Feb 11, 2021

This was the first subject of the Creative Writing Course I took and I recommend it to anyone who is starting to write. After completing The Craft of Plot I was encouraged enough to continue with the other subjects of the specialization. Prof. Brando Skyhorse is clear and his teachings easy to follow and to understand. I really enjoyed it.

创建者 robin b

Jul 6, 2020

I had a hard time with this one.

I understood the rules, but sometimes writing about something you yourself find interesting doesn't necessarily fit easily into the required format.

Also, on one of assignments, half my summary got cut.

Plot is hard. I appreciate all the learning modules, found them quite inspiring.

I myself have a long way to go.

创建者 Cecilia F

Aug 27, 2017

Highly inspiring, comprehensive and interesting course. I learned a lot from the interesting lectures and talks, and was challenged to develop as a writer. The level of the assignments worked well for the timeframe, and the peer reviewing added a lot of new insights. I would really recommend this course and am looking forward to next module.

创建者 Eleanor L K L

Apr 22, 2022

I enjoyed this course a lot. Brando Skyhorse's classes are informative and enjoyable to watch and the peer review/feedback is structured well. There are always a few who don't put much effort into the peer reviews but I found that most people tried to give constructive critisism. I'm looking forward to the next course in the specialization.

创建者 Ma. C D

May 8, 2018

This course was really helpful. It helped get my creative juices flowing again and give me direction. I love literature and I know the basics, but application is different. The assignments helped me implement not just the basics but the advanced knowledge I gained about writing literary pieces in just the first course of the specialisation.