Chevron Left
返回到 发现 DNA 中的隐藏信息(生物信息学 I)

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 发现 DNA 中的隐藏信息(生物信息学 I) 的评价和反馈

4.7
stars
527 个评分
108 条评论

课程概述

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

热门审阅

JL

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

DD

Sep 11, 2019

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

筛选依据:

1 - 发现 DNA 中的隐藏信息(生物信息学 I) 的 25 个评论(共 103 个)

创建者 Saif-AlDin

Aug 03, 2018

I have received financial aid because I was interested in the bioinformatics field and was reading alot about it and wanted to start my first course, it was my biggest mistake that I have chosen this course. It is awfully explained, terrible accent, basically a course with 50% information for beginners and 50% for coders and the quiz for week 2 just pumped my blood pressure to the roof, this course is in no way to be called for beginners and the interactive text is a mess and it is no way as a biotechnologist that I am going to recommend this course to anyone !, I need to apologize for coursera company for giving me aid for this COURSE !

note : this course is basically like a money grab, it is not enough that you are on their course they actually from Minute one advertise for their book vol 1 and 2... such a joke.

All in all I am stopping this course because the knowledge I am gaining from this course is 1 on the scale of 10, and the amount of confusion and frustration and disappointment I am getting is 10 on the scale of 10 !!

I really hope coursera can forgive my dropping out of this course and allows me to get a financial aid at an actual course

创建者 Laura L

Nov 13, 2017

Very tough but rewarding class. The programming part was easy, the algorithms kicked my butt. Love the challenge and can't wait to take the rest!!! Such an interesting field!

创建者 Melinda B

Apr 30, 2019

This course is really frustrating if you are not a computer scientist.

The 'language-neutral pseudocode' given on the computer science tasks is buggy and hard to figure out and there is no support or solutions. This course is just hours spent rerunning your code by brute force to pray you get to their answer to pass.

Work is not explained well. The only reason to take this course is that its supported by UCSD.

创建者 Juris L

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

创建者 Gener A R

Apr 08, 2019

Good course, very solid community.

创建者 Federico R

Sep 28, 2016

Excelente!!!

Very well explained. I'm a molecular biologist seeking for some programming skills and understanding of the basics of the everydays tools. I've found some caveats in the coding problems from stepik but I understand that's difficult to give complete and exact explanations to everyone and every programming language that someone can use. Besides that everything's perfect! And recommended!

创建者 Marek B

Sep 17, 2017

This course was fun and very rewarding, I feel like I learned a lot about both algorithms and biology.

I have completed the Honors track---coming from a computer science background the algorithmic parts were mostly easy for me (I generally came up with all the algorithms on my own) but still fun to work through, especially because of their connection to real-world biology problems.

Interesting as the biological motivations had been they really only scratched the surface and made me want to learn more. For that I worked through the online MIT biology course [1] led by Eric Lander (of the Human Genome Project fame) that I cannot recommend enough.

[1] https://courses.edx.org/courses/course-v1:MITx+7.00x+2T2017/course/

创建者 Philipp M

Sep 10, 2017

This course is really educational and well designed. The course content is well structured and clearly described. If you have no previous knowledge in this topic, I would recommend to start with the beginner's course "Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners" in order to be prepared for concepts like pseudocode or the computational way of thinking in general.

Definitely recommended!

创建者 Darius F

Feb 04, 2018

Well made introduction into the field. Good programming exercises which are easy to medium difficulty with a computer science background. It feels like they put a lot of thought into the course structure. Some of the biological explanations are too brief without a biological background, and I would guess the same for students without a computer science background regarding the exercises.

创建者 Robert K

Aug 30, 2016

This was fantastic course! I've never experienced such passion in an online course. I've learned so much, and I am striving for more... fortunately this is just the beginning. No wonder it has been proclaimed as one of the 50 most popular MOOCs of all time. Not because it is popular you should take it, it has become popular because it is just marvellous.

Worth it!

创建者 Tirthankar S

Apr 02, 2018

One of the best online courses I've ever taken. Since I come from a biotechnology background, this course was particularly relevant for me in terms of its depth and thoroughness. Seriously considering a future in computational biology, thanks to this course.

创建者 Manuel A

Jul 26, 2016

Very good course, but at the same time very hard. Unless you have quite a bit of experience programing, be prepared to spend at least 15 hours a week working on this class. The good news is that if you do spend that time, you will learn a lot.

创建者 Hercules P N

May 10, 2017

Excellent course. It can be tough at times but it is amazingly accessible to all who are genuinely interested. The final assignment was very well prepared and gave a real hands-on experience that puts the course into practice.

创建者 Krishnendu S

Mar 28, 2019

Exceptionally beautiful course. Must be for those want to start career in bioinformatics. But prior basic knowledge in any programming language would be appropriate if someone wants to extract every aspect of this course.

创建者 Daniel D

Sep 11, 2019

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

创建者 Qianhao L

Jul 27, 2017

The algorithms mentioned in this course are explained very well. But still a little bit of programming language is needed. Look forward to the advanced courses.

创建者 Mihai P

Dec 04, 2017

Nice and recommended.

(The final exam was a bit tedious though, with many points repeatedly given simply for "uploading the logo" and not much creative leeway)

创建者 Ali J

Aug 17, 2019

Hard class

If you have problems, go ahead and take Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics (University of California San Diego)... Highly suggest that

创建者 Andrew C

Mar 29, 2019

I feel this was a good introduction to bioinformatics. It can be a little confusing sometimes, but there was nothing I could not figure out in the end

创建者 Mhd Y Y

Dec 12, 2017

A GOOD START TO LEARN BIOINFORMATICS, AND ITS ALGORITHMS.

YOU SHOULD HAVE SOME PROGRAMMING EXPERIENCE FOR A BETTER UNDERSTANDING.

^_^

创建者 Oscar J O R

Aug 14, 2018

Really nice and clear course. The hands-on learning is fundamental to create a smooth transition between algorithms and biology.

创建者 Ivo P

Apr 02, 2018

Well prepared course although sometimes tough due to algorithmization tasks even for people with programming background.

创建者 Hao-Wen S

Feb 12, 2018

The course was challenging and the workload was heavy (for the honors track). Yet very rewarding in the end - thank you!

创建者 Borislav M

Jun 09, 2016

This course offers in terms of knowledge and programming far more than I had expected. Very satisfied with it.

创建者 Amila R

Dec 31, 2019

This is an awesome approach to learn bioinformatics things. Very concise and detailed (not boring) teaching!!