Chevron Left
返回到 Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future

学生对 科罗拉多大学系统 提供的 Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future 的评价和反馈

4.7
602 个评分
179 条评论

课程概述

THIS COURSE GIVES YOU THE INSIDE TRACK TO A COMPLICATED INDUSTRY. The approach of this course is truly unique in how it approaches and engages learners. It looks at the electric utility industry, which has remained critical to our quality of life, health and comfort from the eyes of numerous industry experts through on-location interviews, compelling visuals, and animation. You will benefit from having the inside track because you see some behind-the-scenes information not covered in news stories, social media or even if we are in the business ourselves. EACH WEEK YOU NOT ONLY LEARN WHAT IS CHANGING, BUT WHY. As this industry continues to unfold at an unprecedented pace, you will be armed with knowledge and insights to form informed opinions supporting decisions you will increasingly make for your energy-dependent homes and businesses. This course kicks off with animated crash course on industry history, highlighting aspects of the structure, governance, and technology that remain today, despite the passage of time. Then, throughout the modules, you will build some basics about how electricity gets to you, who watches over decisions, including setting rates. This information establishes a knowledge foundation so that when we explore some of the most critical topics, like renewable energy, smart grid, battery storage, and you can think about it from a much more analytical and critical viewpoint. YOU WILL DEVELOP A FRAMEWORK FOR MAKING SENSE OF THIS INDUSTRY THAT WILL BENEFIT YOU BEYOND THIS COURSE. This industry can get pretty complicated, and this course will help you make more sense of it. Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future is the course for you whether you’re just curious about the industry or an industry veteran looking to grow – or, thinking about joining the industry. (Hint: now is a good time. You'll learn why in this course.) No prior education or experience required. You just need a healthy curiosity and an open mind to learn about an industry that I think a lot of us, including myself sometimes, take for granted....

热门审阅

CR
Sep 26, 2017

Great course for people who have no clue how utilities and microgrids work. Take this class if you're considering diving deeper into concepts like green energy, regulation and distributed generation.

JS
Oct 28, 2021

Exceptionally informative for someone new to the Utility industry. Very engaging, especially for complex content. Melissa is excellent! Quiz material is fair. Videos are high production value.

筛选依据:

151 - Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future 的 175 个评论(共 177 个)

创建者 Gadhave G G

May 20, 2020

nice

创建者 Deleted A

May 17, 2020

Nice

创建者 vanitha m

Nov 26, 2018

Good

创建者 Aleksandrs P

Aug 31, 2017

The course gives a good overview of the industry and raises all main issues. Some things could be improved though. Quizzes could be somewhat tougher. They should focus more on understanding the covered material and avoid some basic factual questions. Non-graded assignments are very good for broadening your knowledge so should not be avoided. I'd recommend making them graded so that people don't skip them. I liked many interviews with industry experts very much.

创建者 AnandSrinivasan

Jun 5, 2020

A great course to understand various aspects of the industry and the underlying problems with integrating evolving technology.

The modules are well-organized to facilitate learning for a beginner like me.

Interviews with the industry experts were really helpful.

The instructor did a good job explaining complex ideas/problems.

创建者 Vincent d M

Oct 8, 2019

I really liked the part focused on consumers habits, how the relationship of utilities to consumers are changing.

The course was maybe not challenging enough for my liking but still it is very well designed, offer a very good overview of how utilities operate in the US and what are the challenges they are facing today.

创建者 Jeffrey J D

May 11, 2020

Material was clear and appropriately organized. The professor and guest speaker were insightful and came from a variety of backgrounds. My only criticism is that the course material was a bit dated which is important when discussion current regulatory environments. Thank You

创建者 J P

Jul 4, 2018

The course topics were very useful. The instructor was clear, concise and enthusiastic about the subject matter. The only drawback is that the course is a few years old and some of the information is no longer current, especially where it relates to governmental policy.

创建者 Rohit J

Jul 16, 2020

The course is great for an introduction to electric utilities. It is more focused on the electric utilities in the US and it might not be very relatable for students of other countries. I would have preferred some reading material along with the videos.

创建者 shirisha k

May 26, 2020

It helpful in professional career. They explained clearly about electric utilities fundamentals and future. From this I learned a lot about electricity how to use and maintain to reduce monthly bills.

创建者 Sourabh J

Aug 27, 2017

The course is good introductory course. I had expected more rigorous and in-depth discussion on regulatory aspects of electricity utilities and challenges due to integration of renewables.

创建者 JOHN D L O J

Jun 4, 2017

it is important to work on most advanced material regarting smart grid technologies, rate structuring and markets policy,

创建者 Sara R

Apr 1, 2018

Great lecturer and approach. I wish the course would go beyond the scope of American utilities and regulations.

创建者 Rajashekhar S S

Sep 25, 2020

It's more connected to US laws and regulations. It should have also focussed on other countries in general.

创建者 Gautam S

Jun 16, 2019

This well structured and taught course is an excellent overview of the operation of electricity markets.

创建者 Filipo M

Jun 15, 2017

It is an easy course. Was expecting more though. Maybe it was okay for the audience intended.

创建者 Piyush K M

May 25, 2021

I would love to have a course on rates and rate categories.

创建者 surendra k

Oct 9, 2020

great course for students to learning electric utilities

创建者 Manuraj V

Jun 27, 2020

Explanation was too good. It helped me a lot. Thank you.

创建者 Harshal R C

Oct 1, 2020

good for knowing the basics of utilities

创建者 Sarella N

May 14, 2020

Good thank you

创建者 K R

May 8, 2020

It's Amazing

创建者 CHAVA S K

May 3, 2020

Very Good

创建者 Swathi r

May 13, 2020

Nice

创建者 Matthew B

Jul 30, 2018

Good information, but old. Many things have already c