Chevron Left
返回到 Indigenous Canada

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Indigenous Canada 的评价和反馈

4.8
16,300 个评分
5,945 条评论

课程概述

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

热门审阅

LM
Oct 31, 2020

so grateful for the experience and the opportunity. I am richer for having participated. I am not interested in learning more about the indigenous people that lived/live in my area of the PNW (Oregon)

MD
Jul 2, 2021

This course was very interesting and very informative. Not only did it help correct stereotypes or prejudices, it showed a wide range of subjects pertaining to global and specific Indigenous cultures.

筛选依据:

151 - Indigenous Canada 的 175 个评论(共 6,153 个)

创建者 Leanna B

Aug 21, 2019

I am white and my ancestors are colonizers. I took this course because I realized how ignorant I was to Indigenous history in Canada. I read stories in the media that I did not understand and wished to seek out a better education. Anything that I learned in the public school system, which was limited to begin with, was post-colonialization and from the perspective of Europeans. Since taking this course and having many conversations about it with my mom, who is currently in grad school, she decided to take an Indigenous Studies class herself. I have also been able to apply to newfound knowledge to conversations with other non-Indigenous folks and have really productive dialogue. I hope to continue the conversation, respect the land I inhabit and be an ally for this community. Many thanks for creating this fantastic course.

创建者 Laurie G

Aug 12, 2021

I​ found this course to be very informative, eye-opening and thought provoking. It has certainly helped me to have a much better understanding of the many challenges faced by Indigenous people today and why such challenges continue to exit (intergenerational trauma, government policies and an un-informed public etc.). I personally feel a course such as this should be taught in all schools, starting in junior high and expanded upon my understanding of ondigenous people was based on the colonial interpretation, which would be the case for many. I applaud the work that would have gone into creating such a course and am thankful for the opportunity to learn about Indigenous people from their own lens. Time well spent and I will be sharing this course and how to access within my own group of freinds and family. Thank you

创建者 Norma L

Feb 22, 2021

The lectures were clear, accessible, varied and allowed me the time I needed to review and think about the material they contained. I loved looking at Leah Dorion's art works and seeing the visual images that accompanied the lectures. I enjoyed listening to all the speakers and being able to follow along with the transcripts if I felt I wanted to do so. I also enjoyed the invitation to view Indigenous artworks outside the frame of this course, which I was able to do because the course provided some key names. This was a disturbing and stimulating course, a perfect introduction to important current affairs. The past cannot be changed, but we are able to make responsible and accountable choices in the present in the hope we contribute to a better future for everyone. Thank you for offering this course.

创建者 Andrea E

Sep 7, 2020

What a fabulous way to educate Canadians in a collaborative, empathetic and compassion way. Thank you to all of the contributors, academics and visionaries who saw this course through to its completion. As a non-Indigenous elementary school educator, this course gave me that very important ´next step' that I have been looking for the past 3 years. I work alongside the Gord Downie and Chanie Wenjack Fund and with several community groups in The Dish With One Spoon, so becoming better educated in our shared (and tumultuous!) history is of utmost importance back in the classroom and at home with my own young children. I highly recommend the resources available in this course to all Canadians, and hope to rely on this experience moving forward in my own journey to Reconciliation. Miigwech. Andrea Eby

创建者 Angela F

Aug 28, 2021

I am so grateful for this course. I feel appalled and ashamed about the education that the Canadian catholic school system of the 80's saw fit to NOT provide me. Like many others have commented, I feel like I was vaguely aware of various parts of this history, but certainly not with a true understanding. I relish the opportunity to better inform my own children and, though deeply saddened by so much of what I've learned here, I remain hopeful for real, meaningful, lasting change for Canada's future. Every Canadian should have this information so our history can be accurately told.

创建者 Sarah S

Sep 27, 2021

Thank you for providing me with such an eye-opening foundation to understanding indigenous worldviews, history, communities and how they interacted with Canadian settlers from first contact to modern times. This course from an indigenous perspective should be essential learning in our school curriculum. I highly recommend this course to anyone sincerely interested in learning about the richness of indigenous cultures and experience, from the fur trade and land treaties, to residential school trauma and environmental activism to art.

创建者 Darlene W

Aug 27, 2021

I have learned so very much. I've learned about colonialism, indigenous worldviews and their connection and respect for mother earth, the importance of storytelling and artwork, how important the past is to the future, respect for others, cultures and land to name a few. By offering this course to everyone for free will hopefully change what is taught for Canadian History because it's been taught incorrectly for much too long. Thank you to everyone :)

创建者 Gabriele B

Dec 23, 2021

Was so unaware and shocked as to how badly and poorly Indigenous people have been and still are treated in Canada. Really bothered me that I never heard, knew or was taught any of this when I was in school in the 60's as I did not even know that residential schools existed. I have learned so much from this course and gained a whole new respect and understanding for First Nations Peoples. Thank you

创建者 Scott H

Aug 28, 2021

I felt the content of this course was a great introduction to learning about the Indigenous people of Canada, the material was delivered in an easy to follow manner and made it easy to absorb. I enjoyed this course quite a bit and being able to do it on my own time was really beneficial to me being able to retain the information I was learning.

创建者 Camille R

Aug 27, 2021

​Covers many important topics very well. Represents the true seriousness of Indigenous history in Canada. As First Nations myself, I learned so much more from this course that I have never learned before. This was enlightening, informative, and a great source of valuable information.

创建者 Stacey W

Aug 27, 2021

Excellent course. Loved the freedom to explore the lectures at times where it fit in my schedule. Learned a lot of information that was never included in our previous schooling about Indigenous People. Thank you for the opportunity to learn more and understand.

创建者 Beverly C

Dec 18, 2021

C​ongratulations! You have created an essential course for Canadians. I am angry I did not have this information earlier in my life but I will certainly strongly recommend this to my friends and acquaintences. Special thanks for the reading list and course notes.

创建者 Alexandre H

Sep 28, 2021

Very informative for a starter to learn and understand more about indigenous peoples of Canada. I thank you very much for making it available, I spent 12 fantastic hours! Special thanks to the narrators and the artist whose art was very moving and beautiful.

创建者 Barbara K

Dec 20, 2021

Really enjoyed the format, the pace, the structure, the presenters/presentations/support materials provided in this program. The content topics built upon one another really well. Thank you for creating and providing an invitation to learn !

创建者 Myrna H

Dec 19, 2021

This was an exceptional opportunity to learn about Indigenous people and the history of colonialism including Canada's role. The lectures were presented by three engaging people. The content completely relevant. Many thanks.

创建者 Lorna R

Aug 26, 2021

Excellent course. Well presented. Very informative. I learned a lot about the Indigenous people, in which I was very ignorant about. This course should be taught to all elementary students in schools across Canada.

创建者 Elizabeth A H

Aug 26, 2021

I thought the c​ourse was fantastic! I really enjoyed the information and format for the course and found the lessons full of interesting facts. The only issue I had was in getting the certificate after.

创建者 Andrea K

Aug 28, 2021

This course was the information I wish I had learned in grade school. As an allied, I look forward to looking into other courses. I feel the faculty did a fabulous job with this introductory course.

创建者 Thérèse S

Aug 27, 2021

An excellent course. A few tech glitches such as questions during videos popping up before the item was discussed. But it was an informative and engaging introduction to Indigenous Canada.

创建者 Garry B

Aug 27, 2021

Wow! I did not know what I did not know. This course is a great introduction to the tip of a very important knowledge iceberg. Please find the time to take this course.

创建者 Jordan L

Aug 28, 2021

This was a very comprehensive course and I am grateful for the opportunity for UofA to provide this free through Coursera. Thank you for this!

创建者 Sharonlee L

Aug 27, 2021

This course was an excellent eye opener to the history and how we can make a better future. Thank you for the opportunity to learn at no cost

创建者 Stephanie C

Sep 27, 2021

This course was great and the structure of it really allowed me to study when time permitted. I would highly recommend this course.

创建者 Alex I

Aug 27, 2021

A fantastic overview course packed with knowledge that frankly should be delivered to all Canadians in Grade school/ High School.

创建者 Gord W

Aug 27, 2021

This course is the history they should be teaching in high schools in Canada. Fascinating and thought provoking.