Chevron Left
返回到 Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life 的评价和反馈

4.6
406 个评分
140 条评论

课程概述

According to legend, inscribed on walls of the temple on the sacred site of Delphi in Ancient Greece were two premier injunctions: NOTHING IN EXCESS, and KNOW THYSELF. This course will be an examination of the latter injunction in an effort to discover what self-knowledge is, why it might be valuable, and what, if any, limitations it might face. What is missing from a person lacking in self-knowledge that makes her less wise, virtuous, or competent in certain areas than others who have this capacity, and what if anything might she do to fill that gap? Historical sources as well as recent research in philosophy, experimental social psychology, and neuroscience will inform our investigation, in the course of which we will become students of our own dreams, and cultivate some meditative practices. Learning Outcomes: Learners will gain familiarity with prominent themes from Western, classical Chinese, and Buddhist approaches to our knowledge of ourselves. In the course of doing so, they will gain an appreciation of the relation of self-knowledge to wisdom, of the value of intellectual humility, as well as of methods of learning about oneself that do not depend on introspection. Learners will also become familiar with contemporary research in experimental social psychology, philosophy, and neuroscience into the emotions, the unconscious, the role of affect in decision making, and self-deception. They will also gain an appreciation of a challenge to the assumption of a coherent, unified self that derives from the Buddhist tradition. --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

热门审阅

ST
Jun 20, 2020

Really in depth and easy to follow information on a great array of topics, philosophers and philosophies. I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest of learning new knowledge .

DB
Jun 23, 2020

This is a well put together course. It is beneficial to borrow or purchase the course textbook. I enjoyed the course instructor and his use of meditation breaks every so often was great.

筛选依据:

26 - Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life 的 50 个评论(共 142 个)

创建者 Fernando S

Jul 23, 2020

The course is very well-elaborated, with well-produced and interesting videos covering the topic of self-knowledge from a variety of philosophical sources. I especially liked the forum activities, which encourage students to reflect on the material presented and provide our own perspective of the ideas explored. There is also a wealth of additional material and references for those who want to explore these concepts further, allowing students to delve as deep into the subject as their interest will take them.

创建者 Kathryn B

Aug 3, 2021

I loved this course, for its clarity of presentation, different levels of engagement, and thought-provoking questions. Professor Green provided an balanced, basic discussion of several important topics: what is self-knowledge to Socrates? Descartes? Ryle? Freud? How does knowledge change when we think about the mind-body? Is knowledge empirical or a priori? And what about human nature, as a source (and excuse) for some types of knowledge (or behavior)? A worthy addition to my study of philosophy.

创建者 molly w

Oct 30, 2020

I found this course engaging and I never felt that the content was in any way laborious or pointless. Each week there are several "quizzes" which pose prompts on debatable or interesting issues which arose in the previous lectures. I enjoyed reflecting on ideas I had learnt and felt challenged enough without being overwhelmed! The optional extra material is a lovely way to accommodate people who want to delve deeper into the topic! Highly recommend.

创建者 Jennifer C

Feb 7, 2021

I enjoyed this course. It was easy to follow and the different levels allow learners to engage at a level suited to how much time they have to dedicate to this and how in-depth they want to go. Focus on the philosophy of what it is to know one's self and why it may be useful. The additional resources provided to go further into the topics were really interesting

创建者 Adrian P T L

Oct 7, 2018

I've Learned a lot about this course. i learned that how should i put importance to myself that knowing some limitation and giving importance in what talents and abilities that i have. knowing myself is show to me that how am i special on this world that i stand. so that I concluded this course, we should love ourselves and accept who really we are.

创建者 A K

Aug 24, 2018

One of the best resources available on the subject of Self Knowledge that is not only accessible, but with pointers for further study to go further & deeper. I had earlier viewed a few lectures when this course was given a couple of years ago, and was waiting for taking the course. It was well worth it! A BIG Thank you, Prof Mitchell Green!

创建者 Seán Ó h

Dec 28, 2020

I found this Course to be really excellent. it provided ver clear, insightful and informative knowledge and information in helping me to examine, understand and reform so as to achieve a more fulfilling, rewarding and happier life. Thanks so much to everybody concerned with the Course's preparation and presentation. Wonderful!

创建者 Suzanne

Sep 6, 2018

This course was very well presented: challenging concepts were delivered in a coherent and approachable manner, inviting further exploration and discussion. The meditative moments of "mono-tasking" were a bonus! Thanks and kudos to Mitchell Green and Simon Fokt for a really worthwhile learning experience.

创建者 Ma. C S B

Mar 17, 2021

This early (I am currently finishing the course), I can say that so far, this is the best course I've enrolled in Coursera. Professor Mitchell Green is the best Philosophy teacher there is. This lectures are easily understood. I am now more interested to learn Philosophy because of Prof. Green.

创建者 Ana R

Apr 12, 2021

Very well guided the issue through different authors and theories, good texts and resources as well. It was sort of intuitive to follow the course from week to week, I realize it's because it is 'well-crafted'.

Thank you for the meditative moment! (I'll never forget the bamboo meditation)

创建者 Yogamitra

Sep 8, 2021

This is my first course on the coursera page that has brought me a lot of encouragement to think about my conception of life. It is very richly designed with a lot of information through historical philosophical views. Kudos to everyone who participated in the creation of this program.

创建者 Regina V R

Apr 9, 2019

Great content, really enjoyed taking this course. The lectures are really good and the adicional material is very helpful. Also, I enjoyed a lot the meditative moments. However, the video "theory of human emotions" in week 4 is missing (instead there's the video for part 5 two times!)

创建者 PC

May 6, 2019

An excellent course encompassing theory, story, learning and tools from many historical and contemporary sources. Really well explained, flowing smoothly and yet provocative in helping you think about the topics yourself. The meditative videos are very useful too. Worthy of 5 stars.

创建者 Aedrian A

Jan 19, 2021

This is an extremely insightful course, and it made the cited ancient philosophical texts much more accessible for casual philosophy learners like me. The unexamined life, truly, is not worth living - and I do think that this parallels with psychological essence of finding purpose.

创建者 Neringa B

Sep 7, 2018

I have gained some useful insights thanks to the course material thus I recommend this course to those students who have already realised that there is a connection between their positive belief system and the negative events that unfold in their social/personal life.

创建者 Jay L

Mar 28, 2021

A challenging class that helps us to dissect what it means to be a human being, to what degree we are influenced by our nature, other people and when we can use our rational mind to change our nature. Enlightening. Though I did not care fro Ryle.

创建者 Renee K

Jan 13, 2021

I enjoyed this short philosophy course and the content brought out in the lectures and presented readings was quite informative, which brings me to say that'd recommend this course to anyone interested in philosophy it will be worth your time.

创建者 Helen J

Jan 17, 2021

Excellent course. The bite sized videos and lecturer were engaging. Simple explanations as well as the options and signposts to investigate the subject further was clearly laid out. The quizzes reinforced the learning for each module well.

创建者 Munira M

Dec 2, 2020

Attending this course gives you an understanding of yourself with a different perspective, debates and views by different philosophers, which keeps you thinking a. This does not have a conclusion but open questions to be solved by ourself

创建者 Vanilson J P

May 14, 2020

I've started this course because of the lockdown in London, but I found the course to be really good. Lots of new theories to think about. The beginning if very simple but after while, needs dedication. Highly recommended.

创建者 Marieta C

Mar 23, 2021

Complicated matters made easy by a very charismatic lecturer- Professor Green.

I also enjoyed the meditation moment.

Highly recommend!

Thank you, professor Green for the enjoyable time and all I learned from your lectures.

创建者 Yeoh C K

Jul 25, 2021

k​now thyself series is a course that i did finished. i appreciate the effort of Dr Simon and Mitchell for sparking the curiousity of our mind and how we can do some of the simple practice to calm our mind.

创建者 N P

Apr 4, 2021

This is the first online course I have taken and it certainly set a high bar. It is a well arranged course, presented clearly, lots of opportunity for engagement, and it delves deeper than I was expecting.

创建者 Anne S

Oct 26, 2020

This course and the survey of thoughts and theories about the limits of self-knowledge are not only interesting, but especially poignant when applied to the world as we know it in this time of the pandemic.