Chevron Left
返回到 Mathematics for Computer Science

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 Mathematics for Computer Science 的评价和反馈

4.2
133 个评分
47 条评论

课程概述

“Welcome to Introduction to Numerical Mathematics. This is designed to give you part of the mathematical foundations needed to work in computer science in any of its strands, from business to visual digital arts, music, games. At any stage of the problem solving and modelling stage you will require numerical and computational tools. We get you started in binary and other number bases, some tools to make sense of sequences of numbers, how to represent space numerical using coordinates, how to study variations of quantities via functions and their graphs. For this we prepared computing and everyday life problems for you to solve using these tools, from sending secret messages to designing computer graphics. If you wish to take it further you can join the BSc Computer Science degree and complete the full module ‘Numerical Mathematics’. Enjoy!”...

热门审阅

AJ
May 30, 2020

There are problems with some of the quizzes and were extremely frustrating, but I had positive learning experience with Dr Sara Santos

EA
Jun 14, 2020

This instructor makes math really fun! The material was challenging, but she was very engaging and gave a lot of descriptive examples.

筛选依据:

1 - Mathematics for Computer Science 的 25 个评论(共 43 个)

创建者 Sébastien L

Mar 5, 2019

I have learnt quite a few things in this course. However, I will point out that you must be very attentive and not too surprised when you find a mistake, as they are common. I will leave aside the fact that there weren't many classmates around, which prevents you from having meaningful conversations in the forums and feedback on your peer-reviewed assignments, but I believe it is of interest to realize this soon enough as to not have unrealistic expectations. I was especially disappointed with the quality of the quizzes and other assignments: there were many mathematical expressions that weren't formatted correctly which made it very hard to decipher them. Apart from having badly formatted questions (containing spelling mistakes here and there), there are a few instances where even the answers gathered from the grading tools are wrong in some cases and at the very least ambiguous in other cases. I knew most of the material before taking the course and I was unable to achieve a perfect grade, partly due to the fact that there is absolutely no support from the teaching staff and partly due to the grading system used by the university. On the positive side, most of the videos were engaging in my opinion and all the concepts presented are directly useful to any computer scientist. I particularly enjoyed the first half of the course on number bases and modular arithmetic. Depending on your background, you may find the second half of the course somewhat basic, yet still useful. Overall, I would recommend other courses such as CS50 by Harvard University before this one if you are looking for a certificate. Otherwise, you can skip assignments, do not worry too much about the grades and learn important concepts from this course as a great mathematical foundation in computer science.

创建者 Greg L

May 3, 2019

still errors in quizzes after notification in beta-test. No-one from staff replies to comments or forums. I really want to give it 3.5, not 4

创建者 Volodymyr B

May 10, 2019

I'm on week 3. So far so good. Challenging. Love practical tasks with implementation of steganography and cryptography.

创建者 Toygar E

Jun 26, 2019

The professor is nice and does her best but overall the course is not structured well. Some hard to grasp assignments, assignments where you must collaborate with peers in loosely defined ways. Almost no feedback in quizzes. Failure in quizzes due to incorrect input format.

创建者 Abdurakhmon J

May 31, 2020

There are problems with some of the quizzes and were extremely frustrating, but I had positive learning experience with Dr Sara Santos

创建者 Jordan W

Mar 6, 2019

Great review of maths for comp sci

创建者 Deleted A

Feb 20, 2019

The content is very interesting and the professor is amazing.

But, the quality of the examinations could use some perfecting, although they are challenging and relevant which is a very good thing!

创建者 Jong P

Dec 14, 2020

Certain parts of the course are overkill and dragging. The course manager should shorten and make learning points more concise.

创建者 Chan C K

May 9, 2019

quizes are sometime buggy otherwise everything is fine

创建者 Pasquale D S

Dec 31, 2020

Positive points: The course content is good and Dr Sara Santos is a very gifted teacher. Especially if you have little exposure to these mathematical concepts, it is a good introduction, otherwise it is a good recap. However, if it was intended as publicity for UoL online bachelor program in computer science, the message of this course is: Stay away from it! There is NO moderator or professor support on the Forum. Quizzes contain mistakes and typesetting errors, making challenging if not impossible to attain full score (the last week is a nightmare, since the key part of a question is blank, and you need to score perfectly on the others to pass!). Even if these issues are pointed out in the Forum since months or years, nobody cares to correct them. The professor does not reply to e-mails either, of course. Finally, there is a honours track option, which is flawed (i.e. no way to get the honours certificate!). After contacting Coursera, the reason is that the instructor by mistake set the track on the 'practice' mode. Several weeks after that he was solicited by Coursera to correct the mistake (he is the only one that can do that) nothing happened and, based on the above record, I dare to predict that nothing will happen in the coming months or years. Concerning the quizzes, the evaluation and certificate part, the course is abandoned /on autopilot. If you just want to audit, go ahead without worry, but please take all this into consideration, before enrolling for a certificate. I truly hope that's not how they manage their online Bachelor program...

创建者 Dustin R

Oct 7, 2019

The material was interesting, but the format that we were to give for quiz answers was, at times, ambiguous. Several of the quizzes had errors in the material which made answering the question and receiving full credit impossible. I have submitted these to the Coursera Support staff, and they are to get in contact with the university regarding these issues.

创建者 Sergio F C C

Aug 11, 2019

VERY VERY VERY Detailed class. The professor is very intense and makes you practice a lot to reinforce learning and has so many outside resources to supplement learning. She also encourages communication among class members which is cute. She is very passionate. This is the closest I have come to a real college class on Coursera, talking from actual college experience.

创建者 Puan Y M

Sep 20, 2020

Content of the course is good, but the administration of the module is very bad. There are quizzes with error and have reported them, but there is no reply or updates on them. Also completed the honors content, but did not receive an honors certificate.

创建者 Doug D

Jul 15, 2019

Pretty good teaching. My only complaint would be some seeming technical flaws with some tests that made a few questions hard to understand. They are either technical flaws in rendering the templates maybe, or I just couldn't understand the explanation.

创建者 Grzegorz K

Sep 4, 2020

Good material but the lack of support from moderators can be frustrating (especially when it comes to the last practice exam and a question that doesn't load properly, making you re-test numerous times...

创建者 Gyula A

Oct 10, 2020

There were enjoyable parts. I liked the presenter's style and enthusiasm. I'm giving 3 stars only as there are mistakes in quizzes, raised by students long time ago, but nobody seem to care and nobody takes action to correct them. Some mistakes make you spend time on re-trying the summative quiz many times, it is really annoying and wasting of one's time.

创建者 Yazhuo W

Dec 11, 2020

I think the course material wasn't very helpful. The instructor explained things pretty well. But a lot of the assignments and quizzes are just a waste of time.

创建者 Emanuele M

May 16, 2020

Excellent teacher, but missing support and errors in the tests make up, primarily towards the end of the course for a frustrating experience.

创建者 Nikita K

Mar 13, 2020

extremely awful

创建者 Gabriel O B

Oct 29, 2019

I didn't purchase the certificate because I only do this for learning, but I completed all the contents that were allowed to me and I loved the course. The professor is great, she explains with great clarity and good examples. Also, the quizzes are perfect to maintain a good learning progression curve. Thanks to all!

创建者 Ellie A

Jun 15, 2020

This instructor makes math really fun! The material was challenging, but she was very engaging and gave a lot of descriptive examples.

创建者 Robin I

Jun 28, 2020

Very good course. I am left feeling like I want more. The professor was excellent. The material was well presented.

创建者 Aljosja B

Jul 19, 2020

Gentle introduction into mathematics for computer science, taught with a lot of enthusiasm.

创建者 Patrick Z

Oct 16, 2020

I had enjoy learning math with Dr. Sara Santos. The quizzes were challenging though

创建者 DOMI E T J

Jun 20, 2020

I have learnt about how maths plays a good roles in computer science.