Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies 的评价和反馈

4.7
2,018 个评分
623 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

热门审阅

RD

Jul 31, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK

Jun 2, 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

筛选依据:

551 - Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies 的 575 个评论(共 612 个)

创建者 Nancy B

Oct 25, 2017

I enjoyed the subject matter, however, the presenter is very monotone and makes it hard to pay attention.

创建者 Sukran C

Aug 6, 2017

It was very well prepared lessons. I have found all lessons very usefull indeed. Thank you sharing with us

创建者 Edouard

Aug 24, 2021

Very good pedadogy, IMO it's better to make small quizz after/During each videos. 'll recommand it

创建者 Stephen B

Aug 17, 2017

Excellent incorporation of these two disciplines! It has been said that movies make memories!

创建者 Boules N L

Aug 12, 2017

Beneficial to those who want to learn how memory works and how to save it even in old age!

创建者 Prasanthee

Aug 16, 2016

Enjoyed the course. Explained how memory works and memory loss occurs in simple terms.

创建者 nagarajan

May 22, 2020

Well, the course helped me view memory and cognition through a cinematic experience.

创建者 Unmesh R

Sep 19, 2017

Articulated well how memory works through the medium of different move clips.

创建者 Dimple Y

Apr 25, 2019

A good way to understand complex structure of memory. Enjoyed thoroughly.

创建者 Georges E A

Dec 4, 2016

I liked the way that course go... it was nice to know how our memory work

创建者 Rich I

Mar 15, 2019

An entertaining way of learning more about this neuro-biologic process.

创建者 Jorge A D F G

Jun 29, 2017

An overview of memory and its problems, using movies to reflect on them

创建者 Hemanth V

Sep 9, 2016

This course has improved my understanding of how human brain works.

创建者 Diana M

Apr 7, 2021

The course was truly engaging, easy to follow and to understand.

创建者 Linda

Oct 25, 2020

Very interesting course! Kind professor. Lovely film episodes.

创建者 Berenice J

Jul 6, 2018

It was an exceptional course. I have learned a lot. Thanks!

创建者 Isil M

Nov 12, 2017

Un curso excelente y muy práctico. Totalmente recomendable.

创建者 Sharon D

Jun 26, 2016

Very interesting course. Easy to follow and well presented.

创建者 Weronika B

Nov 16, 2016

Nice comparisons, presenter might have talk a bit louder

创建者 Katherine M K

Jul 4, 2017

I found this course interesting all the way through.

创建者 Madelyn S

Oct 1, 2016

Enjoyed the content and examples through the movies

创建者 Saisree M P

May 27, 2020

It makes "memory" a lot more interesting chapter

创建者 Jouhans H G

May 27, 2019

Muy bueno, interesante, práctico e interesante.

创建者 Mansi K

Jul 4, 2016

Liked the course, subject, content and faculty.

创建者 John C

Mar 11, 2019

Awesome course. Loved the use of movie clips.