Chevron Left
返回到 Network Dynamics of Social Behavior

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Network Dynamics of Social Behavior 的评价和反馈

4.6
341 个评分

课程概述

How do revolutions emerge without anyone expecting them? How did social norms about same sex marriage change more rapidly than anyone anticipated? Why do some social innovations take off with relative ease, while others struggle for years without spreading? More generally, what are the forces that control the process of social evolution –from the fashions that we wear, to our beliefs about religious tolerance, to our ideas about the process of scientific discovery and the best ways to manage complex research organizations? The social world is complex and full of surprises. Our experiences and intuitions about the social world as individuals are often quite different from the behaviors that we observe emerging in large societies. Even minor changes to the structure of a social network - changes that are unobservable to individuals within those networks - can lead to radical shifts in the spread of new ideas and behaviors through a population. These “invisible” mathematical properties of social networks have powerful implications for the ways that teams solve problems, the social norms that are likely to emerge, and even the very future of our society. This course condenses the last decade of cutting-edge research on these topics into six modules. Each module provides an in-depth look at a particular research puzzle -with a focus on agent-based models and network theories of social change -and provides an interactive computational model for you try out and to use for making your own explorations! Learning objectives - after this course, students will be able to... - explain how computer models are used to study challenging social problems - describe how networks are used to represent the structure of social relationships - show how individual actions can lead to unintended collective behaviors - provide concrete examples of how social networks can influence social change - discuss how diffusion processes can explain the growth social movements, changes in cultural norms, and the success of team problem solving...

热门审阅

SC

Jan 20, 2018

A Crisp yet effective overview of some of the most critical works in the field of Networking. Anyone from the fields of Management, Sociology, Anthropology et al should try the MOOC.

PG

Jul 28, 2019

This course really enhanced my understanding of collective intelligence, however, it would be great if instructors provide lecture slides also to revise the course whenever required.

筛选依据:

76 - Network Dynamics of Social Behavior 的 89 个评论(共 89 个)

创建者 YAO E M K

Nov 23, 2018

It was a very good class and I learned a lot. Thanks for sharing and continue the good job.

创建者 Teemu P

Jul 16, 2020

Extremely timely and well taught course. I only wish we did some Netlogo coding as well!

创建者 Rine l C

Dec 28, 2020

Good introduction in computational modeling of social behavior using agents (NetLogo).

创建者 Rhythm G

Aug 29, 2020

Add more content and please share more NetLogo Coding examples

创建者 Ken

Feb 19, 2022

A​ very good introduction to the social network analysis.

创建者 Andrew Z

Jan 27, 2018

I whould like to have more of the models practicing.

创建者 KARINE L

May 17, 2019

Very good introduction to the topic

创建者 Mylene v d K

Jan 6, 2020

I left a mediocre review on this course but it does not show up. I feel like I have to write it again, if only to check the system for review bias/corruption. The course subject was interesting and the instructors were pleasant to listen to. My main concerns were that it was not that focused (introduction to theory, example in netlogo) and does not lead to a feeling of having a foundation to either abstract the concepts for modeling or learning the modeling techniques. The concepts that are explained are relevant but terminology is used in a confusion way, leading to a mismatch in intepretation when reading additional social science or modeling techniques. No focus on mathematics whatsoever. Might be good knowledge for somebody who works with influencing people like a social media manager. Not sufficient enough as a scientific foundation.

创建者 Jo-Ann J

Nov 25, 2021

I​nteresting content for the course. Problems with NetLogo model availability made it difficult to practice the modeling for better understanding of the processes. Also, Unit 5 test was difficult to understand as the vocabulary did not seem to fit with the video lecture.

创建者 Rafael R S

Mar 18, 2020

Too much theory, it needs to be a more practical application approach. Give challenges and real exercises to students, real problems to be tested. Give more details about the software used in the course and its features, etc.

创建者 Roy L

Jul 8, 2019

interesting description of application of network analysis to social dynamics. However it could be improved a bit to discuss the models more in-depth

创建者 Apoorva P B

Jan 24, 2018

It's too bare-bones and not very challenging, but talks about very interesting concepts

创建者 Awani B

Oct 5, 2020

I felt that the course could be better in terms of the tests/assignments which could have some basic problems to model. It would definitely help to better understand how netlogo works and the thinking process behind modelling social phenomena. I also suggest that more reading materials be given as it helps to connect with the research aspect better.

创建者 Cansel K

Jul 30, 2021

I am turkish but no turkish subtitle option. so, I don't understand this lesson...