Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,371 个评分
407 条评论

课程概述

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

热门审阅

RV
Dec 12, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A
Mar 3, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

筛选依据:

351 - Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的 375 个评论(共 404 个)

创建者 Ricardo G T

Sep 20, 2017

Simply amazing!

创建者 bhargavjanjam

May 2, 2017

Beautifully put

创建者 ylfan

Oct 22, 2020

Very helpful!

创建者 Miguel M A

Oct 10, 2020

excellent!!!

创建者 Willie C

Oct 19, 2019

great course

创建者 Bryan F R

Feb 19, 2021

I loved it.

创建者 Ashish K

Jun 28, 2020

Learnt alot

创建者 ena

Oct 14, 2016

Fantastic!

创建者 mestar j

Feb 3, 2021

Brilliant

创建者 Maria E B B

Aug 1, 2020

Excelent!

创建者 Mercede P

Jun 27, 2020

Amazing

创建者 Hassan Z

May 22, 2020

great !

创建者 Juwayriyyah B O

Mar 25, 2019

AMAZING

创建者 Ghaxala A

Jul 21, 2017

perfect

创建者 Jesus m m g

Jan 23, 2018

genial

创建者 Hans W

Jul 21, 2017

O

创建者 Marcelo d S Z

Aug 15, 2018

The course is brilliant, really insightful and enjoyable. Daniel Chamovitz is a very good teacher. Only issue that can be solved very easily is to adjust the rubrics of the final quiz to be clear if the questions allow one or more correct answers, as this doesn't follow a pattern and confuses while taking the test. I almost gave up to try it again after filed the first time (and ultimately purchase the certificate) because I was sure I opted for right answered many times but got a negative feedback until I realised what was going on.

创建者 Janet L R

Nov 27, 2020

I enjoyed the class. The teacher was great. The readings took many hours due to being a beginning Botany student. I had to study the syllabus a lot for basics. The quizes could be more straight forward if each question had only one answer. I especially liked watching the time laps plants growing. The text was good and the lectures were often entertaining. He had some good questions.

Thanks for the free class. now I need to take a class in horticulture so I can improve my skills in the garden.

创建者 Nancy L

Mar 5, 2019

Lots of great information - Thank you! It would have been helpful if some key concepts had been repeated/emphasized more throughout the course. Maybe include a unit summary or study guide before taking each quiz. And definitely include a course review before the final quiz! Thanks for a great course. I'm going on to take Part 2.

创建者 Lois B

Nov 25, 2019

Fascinating information, very interesting lectures. But the tests weren't designed very well - more likely to trip people up than provide a real review of the information. It would have been helpful if we were informed of how many of the possible answers were correct for each question.

创建者 Natthpan

May 9, 2020

This is a very good opportunity to learn plant. I once hated this lesson in school. Because the way my teacher taught was so boring, but this course is completely different, it is so interesting. The important thing is that it save a lot of time the lesson was short but got the point.

创建者 Amanda S

Jun 27, 2017

Very interesting course, although some of the concepts were beyond me and I couldn't get to grips with them! Very pleased to have passed though, so perseverance paid off. Never take plants for granted, they're amazing!

创建者 Aadra G

Jun 26, 2020

I highly commend the explanation of multiple core principles in cell biology, experiment design, and history while covering the topic. The pace suited me well.

创建者 Bat-el P

Jan 19, 2017

Professor Daniel Chamovitz was wonderful and very interesting. But it was difficult for me as I have very little preliminary information on plants and biology