Chevron Left
返回到 Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods 的评价和反馈

4.3
968 个评分
295 条评论

课程概述

Learners discover how apply to research methods to their study of Positive Psychology. In this course, we study with Dr. Angela Duckworth and Dr. Claire Robertson-Kraft. Through an exploration their work "True Grit" and interviews with researchers and practitioners, you develop a research hypothesis and learn how to understand the difference between internal and external validity. You also begin to understand and apply the strengths and weaknesses associated with different types of measurements and evaluation designs. You then interpret the results in an empirical study. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science and Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions....

热门审阅

RW
Dec 27, 2019

Though i have nightmares of research design from my undergraduate career, this puts a neat spin on it and reminds the sheer importance of it. Thanks for the reminder of what is important UPENN!

MW
Oct 23, 2020

It was a wonderful class! While I was expecting something different than learning about research and how to read research papers, that is my fault for putting my expectations on the class.

筛选依据:

26 - Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods 的 50 个评论(共 292 个)

创建者 Benjamin S

Jul 12, 2017

Interlacing Grit and Research Methods was a very clever idea and resulted in much more palatable experience of the research methods content. Usually this aspect of science is very dry and this approach made it the best implementation of a Research Methods program I have seen to date. Angela is also very entertaining, practical and I could sit and listen to her wisdom for days at a time without getting bored.

创建者 Marie G G

Sep 6, 2020

Many thanks to all of you. I was able to get financial assistance for this course. I am applying the concepts that I have learned both in teaching and in counseling. Thank you for supporting students coming from developing countries. Words cannot measure our deep appreciation for your kind gesture.

The course is indeed helpful as I can create programs based on research evidence.

创建者 Derek T

Aug 14, 2017

Very useful course and excellent preparation for my 2nd year of the MAPP. As I do not have a background in research methods this was exactly what I needed and covered lots of new terminology and what it all actually means. I feel a lot more confident about reading and understanding journal articles and have a much better idea of how to begin planning my dissertation. Thank you.

创建者 Hardik J

May 21, 2021

What a fantastic course to understand how to carry out research with the use of different methods. Both the instructors have explained the concepts very well.

I am honored to Coursera and the University of Pennsylvania for giving me 100% financial aid so that I can fulfill my passion to spread awareness about Mental Health through the Thumbs Up Foundation.

创建者 Sameer R

Mar 20, 2018

This course has helped me clarify a lot of things regarding how to be gritty and how to persevere through obstacles.I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn the same.The teachers are tremendous and explain the workings behind the topics in a simple and an easily understandable manner.The reference material is deep and diverse.

创建者 Marc V H

May 21, 2019

Provides an easy to understand introduction to research methods in the social sciences. Knowing that this is a rather dry topic, the module includes a variety of teaching media to closely tie in the theory with real world practices. Possibly an underestimated module because of the subject matter, but highly valuable to any serious practitioner.

创建者 Hanny F M

Nov 18, 2019

Claire is truly amazing, she could explain the research design and all related to research in a friendly way so I am able to get a better understanding of research. In addition, she had taught me how to read the research article. I really enjoy taking courses organized by Coursera and for sure this makes me want to visit UPenn as well soon!!

创建者 U B R

Nov 8, 2020

Teaching research and statistical analysis to a beginner is no easy task. Though initially the Course seemed difficult, being exposed to the same content of research often to learn of the various statistical terms and their significance only improved our understanding the subject. Thanks to Dr.Angela Duckworth who made the study so simple.

创建者 Raihanah M

Dec 1, 2018

This course really pushed me to develop something concrete that i could research into within the domain of positive psychology. I feel more confident going forward as a student of positive psychology, specifically reading and researching into my area of interest because of the tools and skill-sets introduced in this course. Thank you!

创建者 Ben

Dec 10, 2018

This was one of the best courses I have attended. The theory is very well organised and there is a focus on applied positive psychology with many real-life examples to illustrate the theory. This could have been a very dry statistics course, but Claire, Angela & colleague researchers made the course material very engaging.

创建者 Luiza W A

Aug 8, 2020

If you are looking for a course for methodology 101, that is your course! Very well explained and if examples. There is not as much about positive psychology as in the others courses of this series, although, it is really good if you want to understand methodology or you intend to become a researcher in this field.

创建者 Maria B

May 3, 2021

This course is well presented. Candidly, I cannot say that it was a fun course because formulating research studies is not my interest. However, the instructors were engaging and explained research methods and concepts in a very accessible way. I feel I have a better understanding of how to review a study.

创建者 Amy H

Apr 19, 2021

By far the most rigorous of the courses in this specialization thus far in terms of content, amount of reading and assessment. I must say though, I enjoyed the high standards and content even if it seemed more intense than the other positive psy courses. I think I'm grittier just from taking this course!

创建者 Zhao W

Sep 6, 2018

Love all the courses in positive psychology. They are so practical and fun to learn. I really like this particular course to combine research methods and design with Grits, which give a flavor of sciences yet we are not just learning methods. Grits is an interesting concept. I have learned so much.

创建者 Rachel J

Sep 30, 2018

Very challenging! I love this course because research, applying research methods, and understanding (and creating) formulas is not my strength. However,this course was able to break down the topics of grit, character, and research methods in a very user friendly way. Would definitely recommend.

创建者 Mialan G

Dec 6, 2020

I really really liked the technical aspect of this course. Love Angela Duckworth and Claire. I learned how to read a research article and refreshed the statistical part. Claire has done a great job. I just wish it never ended because I really liked attending Angela Duckworth's sessions :/.

创建者 Ruby O C

Sep 28, 2020

It was agreat way to refresh what I learned about Statistics and Research while I was at University. I highly recommend this course. I loved how interactive this course is, and the examples provided to know how to be a smart research consumer and how to read Positive Psychology researches.

创建者 Maria R

Sep 11, 2017

Loved all the information on Grit in this course. I am using the Grit research findings already as I prepare to disseminate it to teachers and parents in the community. Thank you for all your hard work and expertise in conducting the research and in teaching it to us.

创建者 Leslie S

Oct 3, 2019

Excellent course, the training in research methods was particularly interesting and useful not only for those who might want to do research themselves, but for those who want to evaluate the quality of research and the media's reporting of research.

创建者 Duncan C F

Jan 7, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to research methods. I learned a lot about how to create a research plan and how to read scientific articles. I also learned a lot about character strengths, especially grit, and how many factors contribute to it.

创建者 Deyanira S

Jun 24, 2020

I have to admint was little bit difficult, don't if is normal regarding the topic or because of me - for me the topic is complicated in my native language- but at the end of the course I permerformed better than I expected! Love the course :D

创建者 Lim Y H X

Apr 24, 2020

A simple-to-understand and succinct course on the basic research knowledge required for applied positive psychology research. Videos on field experts applying the theoretical concepts taught were included as well, which reinforces knowledge.

创建者 Bob C

Nov 12, 2020

Claire and Angela successfully make statistical analysis, dare I say, fun! I better understand how to think critically about research that I encounter. The coursework kept the learning germane to positive psychology and not a stats class.

创建者 Michiko K

Oct 1, 2017

I am personally not interested in data collections but am very much interested in the results and findings. Thank goodness for the researchers! I think this course is definitely helpful and needed to become educated consumer of information.

创建者 Carey N G

Sep 22, 2020

This is by far my most favorite out of all the courses in the specialization. It was so so helpful and the way the research process was explained is top notch and not intimidating AT ALL. Thank you so much! I really enjoyed this one :)