Chevron Left
返回到 生命工程:合成生物、生物伦理与公共政策

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 生命工程:合成生物、生物伦理与公共政策 的评价和反馈

4.3
53 个评分
16 条评论

课程概述

Synbio is a diverse field with diverse applications, and the different contexts (e.g., gain-of-function research, biofuels) raise different ethical and governance challenges. The objective of this course is to increase learners’ awareness and understanding of ethical and policy/governance issues that arise in the design, conduct and application of synthetic biology. The course will begin with a short history of recombinant DNA technology and how governance of that science developed and evolved, and progress through a series of areas of application of synbio. Content will be presented in many forms, including not only reading and lectures, but also recorded and live interviews and discussions with scientists, ethicists and policy makers. Learners will have the opportunity to think, write and talk about the issues and challenges in their own work and in real-life case examples. A final project will engage students in the development of governance models for synbio....

热门审阅

JQ
Jul 27, 2017

fun and interesting course. very well taught by somebody obviously knowledgeable. Thanks so much.

TN
Jun 15, 2017

Highly thought-provoking. One of the most interesting classes I have taken on Coursera.

筛选依据:

1 - 生命工程:合成生物、生物伦理与公共政策 的 15 个评论(共 15 个)

创建者 Juan C G P

Mar 3, 2019

This course has further deepened my passion for bioethics!

Debra JH Mathews delivers the course in a way that makes you feel confident that you can face such difficult questions and the material is very well-chosen and explained.

Thank you for this course!

创建者 Alexis N

Sep 12, 2018

Dr. Matthews is a fantastic instructor; Slide deck is great.

创建者 Vanessa C d C L

Apr 15, 2018

I really enjoyed taking this course. It was very interesting and informative for me. The course allowed me to get a deeper and more broad points of view about the topics of ethical issues related to synthetic biology and biotechnology. Thank you professor Debra Mathews and to all involved in this course!

创建者 JOHN Q

Jul 28, 2017

fun and interesting course. very well taught by somebody obviously knowledgeable. Thanks so much.

创建者 Qitong L

Nov 29, 2020

Very insightful course for young scientists and engineers to understand bioethics!

创建者 José E M A

May 12, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, excellent explanations and very good class material.

创建者 Alejandra I C H

Nov 6, 2020

Great course! Learn a lot of new information about governance in Synbio.

创建者 Mauricio M P

Aug 13, 2020

Great topics to review bioethics from a bunch of perspectives.

创建者 NISHANT J

Nov 26, 2018

Nice experience

创建者 Jonathan G

Feb 24, 2018

fascinating course about genetics and disease. However, it's kind of a no-brainer to know that their unethical and ethical ways to use genetics. Lord knows some mad scientist is going to use this technology to create a new disease or some sort of Frankenstein to unleash upon the world.

创建者 Joy S

Nov 7, 2019

pretty good class. kind of technical but gives one some good stuff to think about

创建者 preesha c a

Aug 5, 2020

for some reason I was not getting any feedback on my week 1 quiz, and I tried the quiz so many times and i got the same 60 percent which was unbelievable since I prepared for the quiz, this has been throwing me off

创建者 Michelle B

Sep 22, 2020

many tecchnical problems including grading, several of the readings are no longer on the web where she had linked them (i.e she shouldve uploaded or scanned etc)

potentially fascinating but a total waste of money and time because of all of the technical difficulties as well as the missing links.

创建者 Pranjali V B

Mar 12, 2020

correct marks are not being updated in quizzes

创建者 Deleted A

Jun 2, 2020

Bad course design.