Chevron Left
返回到 Systems Science and Obesity

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Systems Science and Obesity 的评价和反馈

4.6
193 个评分
51 条评论

课程概述

Systems science has been instrumental in breaking new scientific ground in diverse fields such as meteorology, engineering and decision analysis. However, it is just beginning to impact public health. This seminar is designed to introduce students to basic tools of theory building and data analysis in systems science and to apply those tools to better understand the obesity epidemic in human populations. There will also be a lab in which students will use a simple demonstration model of food acquisition behavior using agent-based modeling on standard (free) software (netlogo). The central organizing idea of the course is to examine the obesity epidemic at a population level as an emergent properties of complex, nested systems, with attention to feedback processes, multilevel interactions, and the phenomenon of emergence. While the emphasis will be on obesity, the goal will be to explore ways in which the systems approach can be applied to other non-communicable diseases both nationally and internationally. Topics will include: a) the epidemiology of obesity across time and place, b) theories to explain population obesity, c) the role of environments and economic resources in obesity c) basic concepts and tools of systems science, d) modeling energy-balance related behaviors in context, e) agent-based models, systems dynamic models, and social network models...

热门审阅

CS

Mar 31, 2019

Fantastic course. Really thought provoking, and well presented. Useful as an intro to systems thinking, and as a way to understand the obesity epidemic in a nuanced way.

PV

Sep 11, 2017

This course was surprisingly challenging and educational. I had little background in system science, and very much enjoyed the learning process!

筛选依据:

26 - Systems Science and Obesity 的 50 个评论(共 51 个)

创建者 JOHN Q

Feb 13, 2017

FUN AND INTERESTING COURSE. THANKS.

创建者 Musalula S

Sep 11, 2016

Great introductory course

创建者 SEHA-01424

Mar 24, 2021

Very interesting course

创建者 Taha M

Nov 12, 2020

i Learned so much

创建者 Thiago G d S M

Feb 26, 2017

very good

创建者 Paola S

Aug 6, 2017

amazing!

创建者 Carolina A

Oct 24, 2017

great

创建者 Sofiul A

Jun 24, 2020

Good

创建者 Emayamsavitha

Apr 29, 2020

Gud

创建者 Rachel A B

Oct 24, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course because it used a real-world example to teach systems thinking. I also appreciated that the more technical aspects, like using software, had been moved into Labs, which left space and time in the lectures to cover material relevant to the topic.

I was surprised at the lack of interaction, though. I have no idea if there were more than a handful of other students nor if there was a support team since there was hardly any participating in the discussion forum. One technical question remained unanswered for example... It seems that there could be a lot of great discussion on the course material if more engagement were encouraged.

创建者 Rahul G

Oct 4, 2016

I enjoyed the course! It helped me organise information about methods in understanding complex systems. I would have definitely used some more detailed explanations about the model building process.

Thank you very much for your kind interest and effort!

创建者 Reena A

Oct 28, 2016

Good course, the lab classes can be improved further.

not easily comprehensive

创建者 Hadeel D

Aug 5, 2017

It is only that the language is little hard for non native speakers

创建者 Mary P

Apr 28, 2020

enjoyed the course and learning about systems science soft ware.

创建者 Bui N A

Aug 20, 2018

Useful course with excellent learning materials. Thank you!

创建者 Melanie C

Oct 29, 2017

good, you need more time to complete the quizzes.

创建者 Fatma P

Apr 28, 2021

i learned more about software designing.

创建者 Jessica B

Sep 25, 2019

A good introduction to the methods

创建者 Jorge A P

Mar 11, 2021

Buena teoría y dinámica

创建者 jungsungmoon

Nov 22, 2019

very good!!

创建者 Aboudalal M

Jul 11, 2016

Good

创建者 Margo

Oct 6, 2020

Wording of questions was questionable ! Also I couldn’t understand graphs! I will continue with net logo but I’d like more examples of working with obesity related data and how to interpret. Maybe that will become clearer when I work through tutorials on Netlogo

创建者 Tomas S

Jun 19, 2020

While interesting it does little to provide me with a sense of confidence in my capability to apply Systems Science in the wild.

创建者 Charleen S

Jul 25, 2017

More about systems analysis than obesity but interesting. Too much on computer model software.

创建者 olivier h

Dec 18, 2018

I've finished week 1, and I think it could have been much much better.

The subject is very interesting.

The pace of speech by the prof is way too slow, and the quiz isn't up to my standards.

I urge them to add explanations for instance, it would help to increase the understanding of the student, not just evaluate if she has viewed the (somewhat boring) videos..

I'll update this review after one or two more weeks...

UPDATE:

this gets even WORSE towards the end and the last quiz is bogus.

Really, this is sad, and it's making me angry, since the subject is interesting, efforts have been put towards this course (not only mine I mean) but the result is a bunch a videos lacking professionalism (huge typos in the quizzes, files missing, lack of overview binding the videos together, lack of proof for some assertions etc)