Chevron Left
返回到 Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences

学生对 悉尼新南威尔士大学 提供的 Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences 的评价和反馈

4.7
444 个评分
164 条评论

课程概述

Transmedia storytelling is the practice of designing, sharing, and participating in a cohesive story experience across multiple traditional and digital delivery platforms - for entertainment, advertising and marketing, or social change. Have you ever read a book, seen a movie, watched a television show, or played a game that centred around different aspects of a larger story or universe? You may be familiar with popular examples of such universes like Star Wars, Marvel, and The Walking Dead (to name a few). How do the professionals develop such expansive narratives? How do they ensure that each element stays true to the original story? How do they innovatively use different technologies to share the stories, grow audiences and create an active and involved community of fans? More and more, we are also engaging with elements or franchises of larger and more complex stories across a much more diverse range of platforms like interactive web experiences, social media communities, mobile devices, theme parks, and even augmented and virtual reality. A major challenge that current and future storytellers face is being able to engage different audiences in a story that is seamlessly told across all of these different platforms. WHAT WILL I LEARN? This course will help you to design a strategy for developing and telling your own transmedia story. You will learn about what it takes to: • Shape your ideas into compelling and well structured narratives and complex story worlds • Identify, understand, and engage different audiences in your stories • Create cohesive user experiences across different platforms • Evaluate existing and emerging technologies to share your story with the world, and help your audience participate in the larger storyworld you create The course provides you with a unique, authentic, and industry relevant learning opportunity. You will have access to current theory, industry examples and advice and undertake learning activities that will equip you with the tools you need to start developing your own ideas. WHO WILL MY INSTRUCTORS BE? You will learn effective transmedia design strategies from leading UNSW Australia Art & Design academics. You will also examine case studies that demonstrate how amazing ideas, technology and audience contributions can be brought together to create dynamic storyworlds. You'll see examples of major, successful transmedia storytelling projects involving movies, digital entertainment, gaming, virtual reality and more. In collaboration with our industry partner X Media Lab, the course will give you inside access to the personal stories, insight and advice of the following innovative transmedia storytelling professionals from Hollywood USA, Canada and Australia. • Susan Bonds, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Flint Dille, Screenwriter, Game Designer and Novelist, Los Angeles, USA • Cindi Drennan, Illuminart, Australia • Tom Ellard, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Catherine Fargher, Dr Egg Digital, Sydney, Australia • Hal Hefner, 3AM Creative, USA • Brian Seth Hurst, StoryTech, Los Angeles, USA • Henry Jenkins, School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California, USA • Mikey Leung, Digital Storytellers, Sydney, Australia • Alex Lieu, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Geoffrey Long, Annenberg Innovation Lab, University of Southern California, USA • John McGhee, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Joseph Narai, Transmedia Entertainment, Sydney, Australia • Jeff Nicholas, The Uprising Creative, Los Angeles, USA • Sergio Paez, Graphic Artist working in animation, TV, video games, and film. Co Founder, StoryboardArt, California, USA • Steve Peters, No Mimes Media, Los Angeles, USA • Stuart Samuels, Stuart Samuels Productions, Toronto, Canada • Charles Santoso, Concept Artist, Sydney, Australia • Seth Shapiro, New Amsterdam Media, Los Angeles, USA • Scott Snibbe, Eyegroove, San Francisco, USA • Tracey Taylor, The Pulse, Sydney, Australia • Robert Tercek, Public Speaker, Digital Media Strategist, and Executive Leader for Creative Ventures and Business Innovation, • University of Southern California, USA • Kevin Williams, Founder & Director of KWP Ltd and DNA Association, UK • Brent Young, Super 78, Los Angeles, USA • Maya Zuckerman, Transmedia SF, San Francisco, USA COURSE CONTENT DEVELOPMENT Karin Watson, Iman Irannejad, and Dr. Simon McIntyre....

热门审阅

NT

Apr 27, 2020

Great Course. Love the inputs from all the professionals and the various tools and methods provided to the students to complete the modules. Very interesting and enriching. Thank you

CL

Jun 23, 2020

All aspects of story telling and trans media story telling are discussed. The resource persons shared their experiences very effectively to keep the interest building. Thank you!

筛选依据:

126 - Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences 的 150 个评论(共 160 个)

创建者 Egorova E V

Dec 01, 2016

Wonderful!

创建者 SINGH R D

May 25, 2020

excellent

创建者 Лапиков В А

Nov 05, 2018

'mazeng!

创建者 Victoria C

Jul 07, 2020

the course itself was fantastically robust and the assignments walk you through producing your own transmedia bible, which was incredibly helpful for my project, and my career. the assignments say they will take 1 hour, but they are asking for 1000-1250 words (or equivalent) each and I don't know anybody who can accomplish that in an hour. I easily spent 3-5 hours on my homework to answer each question thoughtfully and bring it back to my project.

I left a star off because of the community -- I received a grade of 84%, and didn't receive any feedback that was useful over 4 pretty significant assignments. peers would give me 3/5 points -- the lowest you can get and get credit -- and then tell me my project was great. one peer assessed my work at 70% and then told me my work was good and very detailed. the user experience of assessment should have the justifications for points right next to the question rather than leaving feedback for the end -- they should be encouraged to explain which parts of the rubric were not fulfilled and it would be even better if they were asked to offer suggestions that would get full marks, too. the grading was useless to me other than telling the robots I was participating, and I was left to figure out the course as it related to my work completely on my own.

overall, the content is absolutely on point -- the community needs better UX.

创建者 Martina F

Dec 11, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I believe the content is really great and the way it is developed and told is also very interesting. Great professors and good real life examples. The reason why I chose to put a 4 instead of a 5 is that I found the system where the peers evaluate your work quite unfair. The four assignments where very elaborate and I believe that this kind of evaluation is too subjective. I didn't have a good experience with it. I know it's more difficult, but I believe it should be done by a professional, and like this avoid final grades being subjective, uneven and unfair. Otherwise, the whole course is super! Great way of entering the world of transmedia storytelling.

创建者 Jorge F M

Apr 02, 2020

El curso es bueno, extenso y sobre todo muy bien enriquecido por testimonios desde todo tipo de áreas, en boca de profesionales que se desempeñan en la narración transmedia. Creo que lo más interesante es la amplitud de perspectivas y experiencias que ofrece en torno a la participación activa de públicos. Aunque, por supuesto, sería deseable mayor nivel de profundidad en las explicaciones de los videos alrededor de ciertos temas que apenas son abordados como la realización específica de una etnografía o la conceptualización de un workshop con un grupo focal. Pero como introducción a la conceptualización de una idea que pueda proyectarse de modo transmediático está muy bien.

创建者 Alexander

May 25, 2020

A very complete course, with a lot of focus on Australian and US companies, but with great content and very well structured. What there are too many videos that some do not add value. And it would have been great if you had incorporated a map with the best transmedia studios by country. Still, I highly recommend it. I have been very surprised that the creation of content is so linked to USER RESEARCH, which is my profession, which opens up new and very interesting career paths for me. Greetings.

创建者 Deborah S

Oct 28, 2016

This course offers a comprehensive introduction to transmedia studies and practices. The framework of the course is well structured and it's easy to follow. The resources are fantastic with lots of advice and content provided by industry professionals. If you've heard of transmedia, but don't know what it is or how it's going to change storytelling in the future, take this course and find out.

创建者 Stuart M

Jul 13, 2020

It was a very good course introduction with the right intensity and knowledge tools to make a good start to building a transmedia project from your storyworld.

There is a vast amount of industry expert input and many, many resource materials for further development of your knowledge base and self-exploration.

创建者 Shreya M

Aug 12, 2020

Very interesting course with perspectives on transmedia storytelling from the best in the business.

The videos, the resources, the assignments were all extremely well designed and helped learn and understand easily.

Thanks to the instructors for putting together this course.

创建者 Xósem A

May 16, 2019

Un curso de especial interés para mí, ya que soy creador de contenido y storyteller. Muy interesante todo el contenido; sólo siento que falla un poco a la hora de interactuar con los compañeros, pues hay muy diversos niveles de interés e involucramiento.

创建者 Cristina

Dec 22, 2017

The course provides a good and broad overview of what transmedia storytelling is, where the "industry" is heading and how it can be used across any kind of communication. Plenty of resources and insights to dig further and start experimenting. Thank you!

创建者 Stephanie B

Mar 23, 2019

Very interesting, briliant contributors. Full of concerte examples to discover and get a clear understanding of the transmedia world. A very good introduction to it.

My only regret is that there is little intersaction with other students.

创建者 Aparna R

Jul 09, 2020

The course was engaging and opened my eyes to a lot of new technologies in use, and how experiences are designed keeping in view the audience at the other end. Relevant in any context we choose to tell a story in.

创建者 Enrico M M

May 30, 2020

Excellent course for beginners of theories and practices on storytelling and digital communication. For practitioners, in some parts it is a bit too vague and theoretical. Overall, a good experience. Good job.

创建者 Jami S

Jan 21, 2019

This course was very helpful in providing an in-depth look into transmedia in both the academic sphere and that of Hollywood. I'm looking forward to putting these skills to use in the not too distant future!

创建者 James S

Jul 15, 2017

Thought provoking and great evidence presented about the evolving story of the merging of content delivery systems, globally to promote and preserve late capitalism in the first part of the 21st century.

创建者 Paul C

Oct 29, 2018

Felt this was a well structured course that opened me up to a lot of good ideas. Instructors give clear instructions and the interviews are very helpful. Turnaround on assignment reviews was good.

创建者 Jonathan S

Dec 18, 2018

Great course content-wise. I think more concrete and practical assignments would be helpful - part of the course is to think iterative and in prototypes, yet you never have to produce one.

创建者 Puspita K

Feb 28, 2019

The only thing that I don't really like is too many speakers in each lesson. Hard for me to grab consistent points from one to another.

创建者 Jyothsna

Jun 04, 2020

Excellent course with fresh insights and lots of space for iterations in our own storytelling.

创建者 Chiara S

Mar 27, 2017

The additional links and research material were really interesting and insightful.

创建者 Shreya G

Jun 15, 2020

Great course, except for the last teacher who in my opinion did not teach well.

创建者 Jason L

May 26, 2019

I learned a great deal over the course. The bits of gold were invaluable.

创建者 Andrey K

Feb 12, 2018

A nice intro course with some useful industry tips.