Chevron Left
返回到 Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

学生对 东京大学 提供的 Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan 的评价和反馈

4.8
370 个评分
109 条评论

课程概述

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

热门审阅

SC

Sep 06, 2019

It has expanded my views not only on Japan Visual and Literary Culture but also has open for me a new way of looking at portraits in different cultures and times. Thank you so much

VC

Jan 10, 2018

Very knowledgeable lecturer with a gentle humble voice. Much was learned about literary portraits from 18th/19th centuries to literary photographs in the early 20th century.

筛选依据:

76 - Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan 的 100 个评论(共 109 个)

创建者 Luiza R V d C

Feb 15, 2019

Incrível, me ajudou muito com a minha pesquisa!

创建者 DEEPA K

Jul 08, 2020

Informative and Knowledgeable course.

Thankyou.

创建者 Alena R

Nov 02, 2018

Thank you! Brilliant course, very inspiring.

创建者 ANDREA V C G

Jul 01, 2020

Excelente Curso, muy completo e inspirador.

创建者 Desmond Y

Jan 04, 2018

Comprehensive and precise in the teaching.

创建者 Barbara K

Sep 21, 2018

charming course, beautifully presented

创建者 Clarisa L

Apr 22, 2020

very good explanation and sources!

创建者 Monika

Apr 18, 2020

Incredibly beautiful

Interesting

创建者 Juan M C M

Apr 24, 2020

Ha sido de gran ayuda!!

创建者 Lisheng H

Dec 10, 2017

Unique scope of history

创建者 Vy N

Mar 16, 2019

I love this course!!!

创建者 jordi o j

Dec 07, 2017

so interesting info!

创建者 Douglas Q

May 18, 2020

Very Interesting!

创建者 Sebastian G

Dec 01, 2017

Excellent Course!

创建者 Kleber L d S

Oct 24, 2019

Muito bom.

创建者 Gabriela A C

Dec 30, 2017

Great.

创建者 Lee Y S J

Dec 03, 2017

I found the course content very interesting and the delivery generally very easy to understand. The professor also showed his wealth of knowledge in the subject matter through his lectures. If there is one thing which I was unhappy about, it has to be the subtitles for the lectures which were riddled with mistakes and the Japanese terms had a fair number of spelling mistakes. If this can be improved, it will help the students learn better. On a related note, it would be good to have the Japanese names of the individuals featured in the course as I find that there are limited resources in English if I want to do further reading on these people and would need their names in Japanese script to find resources in Japanese.

创建者 Rinku P

Jul 05, 2020

The course took us through the evolution of the visual imagery in Japan right from sketches to paintings commissioned by people of status to arrival of photography. And how the various visual practices were accompanied by texts. Interestingly this helped Japan to develop a unique tradition in terms of visual practice. Not merely details of the image but evoking a relationship and meaning of the narrative to the image. I truly enjoyed engaging with the course and helps put into perspective Japanese finesse in the world of animation including Manga.

创建者 Renee N

Apr 07, 2018

Very suitable as my first online course. The content was very interesting and taught me a new way to appreciate and learn from different pieces of art. Assignments were generally very light and could be completed very quickly. However, some parts of the lecture can be slightly hard to comprehend at first. I find myself reading through the transcripts (they're really helpful!) again sometimes just to try and let the content sink in further. Anyone interested in art/history/culture and how they intersect should definitely check this out!!

创建者 Jesús F P H

Jan 28, 2020

Very good lecturer. Interesting.

As someone who has studied art before (and is acquainted with Japanese art, specially from the Edo period), the course doesn't evolve much; revolving all around the same thesis. However, the examples tackled are beautiful and greatly represent the popular Japanese art-culture of the time. Very satisfied, although I would've liked something new thrown into the table around the last module. Recommended.

创建者 Ebru O

Jan 04, 2018

The course presents an interesting point of view that combines literature and visual materials (ukiyo-e, illustrations and photographs) in Japanese culture. There are many specific examples that we study and make the concept easier to understand.

创建者 Father A

Nov 07, 2018

Good synopsis of the subject, accompanied by enough historical background information to understand the images and their captions. I only wish it would also provide a bit more philosophical and religious background.

创建者 Giulia M

Sep 18, 2017

I found this course really interesting, but way too easy for people who appreciate, know and study Japanese history, art and literature.

创建者 Alec Z

Mar 16, 2018

Interesting material. Lectures were slightly repetitious in describing points about some photographs but were interesting overall.

创建者 Sumyi L

Apr 19, 2020

Nice learning pace and interesting pick of works of art. It will be great if it can come with a suggested reading list.