Chevron Left
返回到 Writing Stories About Ourselves

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Writing Stories About Ourselves 的评价和反馈

4.2
84 个评分
42 条评论

课程概述

In this course, creative nonfiction writers will explore traditional storytelling methods, especially those which overlap between fiction and memoir. By looking at examples from a wide range of genres, including film, song, painting—even the theme music for Jaws!—we’ll practice exercising the creative muscle that sees ourselves as characters and the experiences we’ve had as tales. We’ll focus on critical elements, like how to begin a story, what makes for worthy content, the essential use of detail, the strengths and limits of dialogue, the power of the white space. The ultimate goal is for us to become aware of an “audience” when we write, so that the documentation of our lives will begin to resemble a “performance” crafted onto paper rather than a private entry in a journal....

热门审阅

PT

Jan 25, 2021

Very interesting and engaging! I learnt a lot about writing about myself, which is actually very difficult. This course provide a great start for someone who are looking for something like this.

MI

Aug 15, 2021

I really enjoyed this course, I learned a lot through simple and clear approach. the method of teaching with Mr. Said was genuine and artistic; which what writing is all about.

筛选依据:

26 - Writing Stories About Ourselves 的 44 个评论(共 44 个)

创建者 Mare

Jun 15, 2020

Got some good insights about the subject

创建者 Arman S G

Dec 10, 2021

this course was so lovely

创建者 Maurice C

Sep 8, 2019

Excellent Class!!!

创建者 Stefanie L

Oct 6, 2019

Great instructor!

创建者 Sharra F

Jan 30, 2021

great course

创建者 Pamela J

Oct 21, 2020

Great Course

创建者 Marilyn G

Feb 25, 2021

Like the other courses in the specialization, I enjoyed this one as well. I learned a lot of useful information to help me write a personal essay that is currently in progress. But, like other Coursera courses, I find the peer review process particularly useless in terms of the timeliness and quality of reviews. In fact, finishing this specialization was a bit of a nightmare because for my very last assignment in my very last class I got a failing grade and it was such a convoluted process to renew my subscription, which I'd just canceled -- hoping to complete the Specialization before the billing cycle ended, which was just days away -- resubmitting and then getting someone to review the re-write in a timely manner. To accomplish this required the assistance of three customer support reps and making a nuisance of myself on the discussion forums pleading for reviews. Not a good process at all!

创建者 Victoria R

Oct 15, 2020

Once again I have to take away a star not for course content, which was great as it has been throughout this specialization, but for course mechanics. The peer-review process tends to be ineffective at best. While some reviewers really but thought into it and offer genuinely constructive critiques, too many just type random characters into the rubric just so the computer will mark them as having done the required reviews. The algorithms assigning things to be reviewed are equally flawed. Unfortunately these flaws detract from the quality of the course experience, even tho the instructors, content, and some reviewers are excellent.

创建者 Vishwas B

Jul 17, 2020

The course is really nice. The instructor explains by taking examples and uses creative things to explain. The course requires no pre-requisite. Even if your English is not that good, don't worry the course doesn't judge you on that basis.

创建者 Liesbeth A

Aug 5, 2021

Nice course and specialization. The videos are inspiring. Would be nice to see more involvement of the lecturers in the forums.

创建者 Marione M E

Dec 4, 2020

I learned so much about writing, and the instructions were clear and encouraging.

创建者 Manjusha D

Jun 6, 2020

Overall good, but not as effective as expected. More contents were needed.

创建者 Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

Personable lecturer making informative points.

创建者 Michael H

Jun 7, 2022

I hate to complain, but it is getting frustrating. I haven't recevied a grade yeet. My essay which I turned in on time has yet to be read or reported back to me that it has been read. I have reported this issue on my essays each of which I have turned in on Sundays, but have had to keep deleting and then sending again. I read my quota of others' essay immediately and usually more than the minimum. The last few weeks I just reead the minimum because I was receiving the bare minimum if anything at all. I enjoyed the class because I love writing. You have not been that encouraging. I have reported this issue every time to no avail. I would like to continue taking writing courses, but could you please help me out when I report an issue.

创建者 Linda A

Jun 18, 2021

The course was very interesting and I enjoyed the speaker and his message, the assignments, and reading other students' work. What I didn't like was waiting for students to review my work (which was slow), and then waiting for more assignments to review. I think reviewing 1 or 2 students would be much better than waiting for 3. Also, I would like to hear what the instructor thinks about my work, not only student opinions.

创建者 Carole A E

Apr 16, 2021

The exercises were good, but I found the lectures lacking in substance. Some were 3 minutes long, give me a break. Some of the peer reviews that I got were a joke. One person just wrote, "I like your story" as a review for every single rubric question. The same person wrote "The dialogue was fine." as an answer to every rubric on another assignment.

创建者 Nang T T H

Oct 25, 2020

I think this course is not bad.But for me,it can't also say very good.Need to be more attractive to be the best.Because it's less attractive and interesting.

创建者 B E

Mar 12, 2021

I have to give this course a one star, actually the entire certificate program should be listed as one star. There are not enough students to get enough reviews, or to get grades. You will be perpetually charged month after month waiting to get graded or to get enough assignments to review. Ridiculous.

创建者 Dennis L

Jul 13, 2021

C​ontent is outstanding and I'm learning a lot from the lectures.

H​owever the functioning of the website is beyond terrible and does not reflect well upon the trade name Coursera nor on Wesleyan University.