Chevron Left
返回到 天文学:探索时间和空间

学生对 亚利桑那大学 提供的 天文学:探索时间和空间 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,208 个评分
372 个审阅

课程概述

This course is designed for anyone who is interested in learning more about modern astronomy. We will help you get up to date on the most recent astronomical discoveries while also providing support at an introductory level for those who have no background in science....

热门审阅

UA

Jun 27, 2019

Amazing introductory course and covers wide variety of topics ranging from history, to astronomy to astrobiology. Really great of amateur astronomers and for anyone who is remotely interested in it.

SR

Sep 20, 2017

Thi course is fentastic one. It enhanced my knowledge about astronomy and space from zero to 8 on 10 scale. I am also able to appriciate some of my Physics learnings during my 10+2 high school

筛选依据:

351 - 天文学:探索时间和空间 的 364 个评论(共 364 个)

创建者 Elena M

Dec 22, 2016

Course was excellent. Prof. was excellent. I am a retired nurse so I took the course because of my lifelong interest in astronomy, science and the unknown. My only complaint is that I could not complete the last quiz because I could not get the micro-observatory to work on my Mac OS. My husband is a computer engineer and he could not get it to work on his computer either. This was disappointing!

创建者 bhairav k

Jul 17, 2017

It was a very good experience and super experience to add p your knowledge, but I face a problems only while reviewing peers otherwise it is best.

创建者 Alankar T

Jun 02, 2017

It was an amazing course. Learned a lot of things about space and time that i was unaware.

创建者 Wouter O

Nov 26, 2016

Good and clear explanations. At the end it became more difficult since filosophie was involved which for me opened my ey. Some 'slides' are old fashioned.

创建者 Josephine G

Aug 22, 2019

A good introduction to some of the more difficult aspects of astronomy and astrophysics for a person that wants a top level overview of string theory and the creation of the universe.

创建者 Nicole s

Aug 25, 2019

Sometimes very repetitive, especially in the Teach Astronomy readings, but overall an interesting and informative course.

创建者 Meir B

Sep 08, 2019

The course in general is very interesting and anyone who's even slightly intrigued by Astronomy and the universe we live in will find it very satisfying. The video lectures were great, and supplementary materials were in abundance.

However, some of the material was quiet hard to understand, especially for non-native English speakers like me. I'd improve the accompanying subtitles for the video lectures (some of them were actually misleading).

Some of the lectures included animations, simulations and external footages that really helped understanding some of the complexed materials - more of these would have been great (they were indeed missing sometimes).

Also, the later subjects were more interesting than the first ones, and though I understand the importance of understanding the basics before diving into the "deep water", I'd make the first classes more brief (history of astronomy, the scientific method), and extend the later subjects (astrobiology, distant galaxies, the Solar System planets and moons, etc.)

Overall, I had really great time, and I definetely recommend this course to anyone :)

创建者 James W

Sep 11, 2019

A really good course to get an overview of the topic and the Professor is quite good too. This is an easy course to recommend, for interest or certificate.

创建者 Ting Q

Sep 13, 2019

The course is really interesting. The space always fascinates me a lot, and I have obtained much knowledge about our solar system, the Milky way, and the universe. Ready for more advanced courses in this area:)

创建者 Robin D

Oct 27, 2019

It was an interesting course. What I would like to see is a course offered that is a bit more intensive. Perhaps with a bot of mathematics involved. What I see offered is entry level survey courses that are quite easy and then advanced courses that require knowledge of second or third year mathematics. A course or a certificate (4-5 courses) that bridges the gap between the two would be a benefit. Thank you

创建者 Adith P M

Apr 05, 2019

Unnecessarily lengthy but overall a good introductory course into astronomy :)

创建者 Gabriel A P

Sep 14, 2017

The mayor problem is "peer graded activities"...

创建者 Tanmay B

Nov 30, 2015

Boring

创建者 Anil K

Apr 17, 2016

This course is bad!

I had come upto week 4. While Chris Impey is knowledgeable and good, the course structure is very poor and leaves a lot to be desired. I would venture to make some suggestions:

a. Restrict each video to a max of 7 minutes. More than that makes one sleepy.

b. Reduce the number of videos in each module to a max of say 6.

c. Instead of having Chris expound it like an audio reading, please include some slides, pictures,tables so that the matter to be learnt becomes self evident and Chris doesn't have to speak so much. A good example is the Coursera "The Global Financial Crisis", which I am also doing currently.

d. If you feel all the material in this course has to be studied, then to achieve the objectives in (a) and (b) above, divide this course into two parts, Astronomy: Exploring Time and Space - part I & II.

e. The written assignments are very simple and do not require any mental resources other than memory. Can you make the questions more challenging? For example, in Telescopes (Assignment 2), can you not ask a question like "In addition to Atacama, Chile, using Google earth, which other parts of the globe may be suitable for installation of ground based telescopes?" or "To obviate the blurring effect of the atmosphere, discuss the possibility of high altitude balloon based telescopes?" or "What do you feel about the fact that since today's mobile phones have high computing ability, their components can be used to make a low-cost space based interferometric telescopes?"

Kudos to Chris and his team! On the whole, knowledge wise, this is a good course.