Chevron Left
返回到 Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice 的评价和反馈

4.7
486 个评分
125 条评论

课程概述

In order to make a difference in the health and well-being of a population, we must understand the burden of all problems and conditions that affect the population, as well as how well our efforts to mitigate these problems are actually working. This course provides you with some essential skills and tools that will enhance your ability to describe and understand the health of your community. The tools that epidemiologists use are in fact useful for all public health practitioners, including data scientists, program officials, agency leaders, and policymakers. Whether you are deeply enmeshed in your career and looking to augment your skills, or are looking to change career paths into the field of public health, this course will give you some of the practical knowledge and skills that we hope you can apply in your professional endeavors....

热门审阅

KG

Apr 03, 2020

The lessons are very helpful and the method of teaching is very straightforward. I just wish there would have been handouts for the exercises so that we can easily keep a file for future reference.

MS

Mar 29, 2020

This course was a simple and easy-to-follow introduction to some integral programs that are used by public health practitioners. I highly recommend spending a few hours learning from this course!

筛选依据:

1 - Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice 的 25 个评论(共 133 个)

创建者 Cindy P G

Jan 13, 2020

Take this class for free before you pay for it because I bet you'll finish it really fast.

This first course in a series, Course 1, can be completed in one day if you already have basic math skills and knowledge of graphs. It is a fast introduction of what epidemiology is. The professor teaches very quickly and her slides are perfectly organized. I recommended it if you want to get a glimpse in public health. The last part of the lecture, week 4, shows an extremely brief intro to GIS, which I have never seen before, so it was useful and inspiring to learn more.

创建者 mike b

Mar 24, 2020

I found the content of this courser to contain just the right amount of information to introduce the reader to the goals of public health as well as introducing the reader to the basic concepts of epidemiology without overwhelming the learner. Excellent introductory course. Highly recommended if you want to explore public health as a career path. Well done to the instructor.

创建者 JANE E A

Mar 05, 2020

I have really enjoyed and benefited immensely from the course.

it has given me more insight into current essential tools in epidemiology and improved my skill in the field of Public Health .

My only challenge with the course was absence of note to serve as reference materials for learning.

创建者 kinder

Feb 18, 2020

Excellent

创建者 Mariko Y

Mar 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, the last week on GIS systems and the interactive lesson on how to use QGIS was particularly helpful, as my MPH program did not utilize any interactive GIS tools. However, I found some of the quiz questions to be rather subjective as opposed to clear-cut yes or no answers. Also, it may help to update some of the information reliant on websites, as some of the websites linked have changed a bit and it made following along tricky at times. Nice class, thank you!

创建者 Melissa F

Feb 08, 2020

Very easy to understand course. Quiz questions challenging so you must pay attention, can't just buzz through the videos without absorbing material. Only area of criticism was instructions to access some of the online features when engaging in the QGIS project were not current. Some of the features of the website and even the QGIS software were a little different from what was depicted in instructions, but minor stumbling block. Overall very good course.

创建者 Bryan B

Mar 15, 2020

Fairly simplistic, but a good overview of tools and methods. The last module on QGIS is definitely in need of an update, though, both in the sense of other, easier tools out there, and also just that more recent versions of QGIS have slightly different interfaces.

创建者 Zackary I

Mar 29, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the content I was learning, excited to use my beginner level skills with GIS where I can, and continue my education in the healthcare field. Thank you for providing this opportunity to spark an interest in a field I had no knowledge of before. While this course barley scratched the surface of Epidemiology, I feel miles ahead in terms of my intellect than before starting this course.

创建者 Giovanni

Apr 07, 2020

This course Is a great Introduction Into using the tools for Epidemiology In Public Health Practice. I strongly recommend It for those who need to update their skills or who are getting started In the field. Only one suggestion: update the GIS section as so many of the data sources have changed. Other than that, great class.

创建者 Babatunde B

Apr 02, 2020

The completion of this course have me an in-depth insight into Epidemiology and Public Health Science which is a field I look forward to. The information was well explained with visual aids and exercises in order to understand easily. Thank you Aruna Chandran and John Hopkins University for putting this together.

创建者 Taliah D J

Mar 30, 2020

This was a great refresher course for Epidemiology. I appreciate the timing as it relates to the COVID-19 outbreak. This course allowed me to pull together public health ideas and facts that will give me the opportunity to help find trends of the spread of COVID-19 in my community.

Thank You.

创建者 Jhemari Q

Mar 31, 2020

This course was incredibly informative and interesting, and it made me appreciate the work that public health researchers and professionals do. While I had only a vague idea of what public health was before, I can now confidently explain the type of role it plays in our day-to-day lives.

创建者 Lauren D

Mar 29, 2020

I enjoyed this course, and I liked that I could do it at my own pace. I found the information new and beneficial to my continued path towards public health and epidemiology. Instructions were well written and helped me learn skills that I did not have prior to this course.

创建者 Elesia H

Mar 30, 2020

I gained so much knowledge about epidemiology. Especially with the coronavirus making its way around the world, it is good to know how data is captured as far as statistics and knowing the numbers, we can see how fast viruses spread. This was a great course!

创建者 Nicole C

Mar 31, 2020

I believe this course's strongest attribute of this course is the lessons from week 4 that focus on QGIS mapping tools. I learned quite a bit about the tool and feel much more comfortable using the tool. I would recommend this as an introductory course.

创建者 sireesha t

Apr 07, 2020

It helped me (beginner in PH) a lot to develop my skills in creating GRAPHS, how to get the data from trusted sources (weblinks provided) and gettting the awareness of the real time scenario .. it built confidence in me ...THANK YOU SO MUCH

创建者 Evyan D

Apr 03, 2020

This was a wonderful course for anyone, like me, who is new to the world of Epidemiology and looking to sharpen their skills for this field. Clear and concise information with plenty of opportunities to test your knowledge along the way!

创建者 Leah C

Mar 31, 2020

This course not only gave me the opportunity to assess and improve my competency in various public health skills, but also taught me how to utilize GIS software to create images for both academic and general public usage.

创建者 Jaylon T

Mar 31, 2020

Great course! With the current pandemic taking place in the world, it was amazing to be able to have the opportunity to educate myself more on how diseases are spread, and how the calculations are made to track them.

创建者 Stanley M

Mar 30, 2020

Extremely effective in getting a baseline understanding of the importance of epidemiological tools in the practice of public health. Also a great opportunity to practice utilizing a very important imaging tool.

创建者 Katrina G

Apr 03, 2020

The lessons are very helpful and the method of teaching is very straightforward. I just wish there would have been handouts for the exercises so that we can easily keep a file for future reference.

创建者 Abhishek C

Apr 02, 2020

It was refreshing to go through the course content. I could not go through the fact finder as the website is moved to https://data.census.gov and hence the options too. Thank you for the learning

创建者 Mashaal S

Mar 29, 2020

This course was a simple and easy-to-follow introduction to some integral programs that are used by public health practitioners. I highly recommend spending a few hours learning from this course!

创建者 Hilary W

Mar 31, 2020

Thank you! I enjoyed the course. You speak very clear and concise in a way that made everything very easy to understand. I am new to this field, and this was a great starting point for me.

创建者 Jacqueline S

Mar 29, 2020

Very insightful! Straight to the point and allows you to read along as you hear the course. This is very helpful as sometimes it is difficult to hear. Great content in each section