Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Imagemaking

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Imagemaking 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,722 个评分
345 条评论

课程概述

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

热门审阅

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

筛选依据:

276 - Introduction to Imagemaking 的 300 个评论(共 341 个)

创建者 Susan M

Mar 24, 2017

Good introduction to important workflow concepts for creating and designing publications from scratch

创建者 Kasturi K

May 30, 2020

very very interesting , highly recommend if u looking for a good course to do during this quarantine

创建者 Eumorphia K

Jul 20, 2016

Very interesting through creative assignments you can learn and refine things about image telling.

创建者 Winnie W

Jul 14, 2017

More theory and example will give students more detail about image making. Not only a notion.

创建者 Mohamed K E S

Jun 26, 2017

again for this kind of course, peer review isn't really effective.

but the content is nice.

创建者 MUSTAFA A

Apr 08, 2017

Thanks for this creative course that learned us different ways andaspects of image making.

创建者 Chris

May 10, 2020

Great video content. Assignment targets can be difficult to understand at times.

创建者 Kolya K

Feb 16, 2018

Nice course of superb specialization. Wish it could be a little more detailed.

创建者 Lisa H

May 21, 2017

Nice, hands on course where you really get to the practical parts of design.

创建者 Benjamin g

Mar 09, 2019

Good start for anyone trying to learn image making techniques and zines.

创建者 Utku K

Jul 28, 2016

Good course, maybe more detailed information would be better.

创建者 Nicole S

Jun 04, 2018

Very good course for the amount of time they spend with you.

创建者 Kaiva J

Jun 05, 2016

Loved it. More non graded assignments would have been great.

创建者 Marie A

May 16, 2016

I started 2 Hours ago.... it's amazing, such good teachers !

创建者 Daniel M

Dec 17, 2018

Nice lectures and assignments. Also provided good resources

创建者 Julia R

Jun 15, 2018

Great course if you want to practice image making!

创建者 Hung C F F

Jan 08, 2020

Pretty informative on the subject, inspiring also

创建者 Karen

Sep 30, 2016

如果有真实的workshop,相信效果会更好,这样的教育形式将在中国有很大的发展。

创建者 Naomi M H

Oct 13, 2019

Great methods for development.

创建者 Joy S

Jan 13, 2019

Good, practical course

创建者 Maria T G

Nov 10, 2016

Challenging and great!

创建者 eder a r c

Aug 27, 2018

Muy interesante

创建者 Alexandra K M

Mar 06, 2019

I't was good

创建者 Passant M T

Oct 19, 2018

good course

创建者 Sister E B

Jun 01, 2016

This course gave a great opportunity to explore one's creativity, with assignments that didn't require us to have skills in particular types of graphic expression. However, I also found that it didn't give me the richness of principles and techniques that I've found in other courses in this sequence. I expect that, for an in-person course, this instructor gives individualized feedback that provides that content. In a peer review situation, the feedback is quite general and so doesn't take up the slack from the lectures. I suggest that Coursera work with the instructor to retain the current content, but produce much richer lectures that have concepts and principles which students can put into practice even after the course ends.