Chevron Left
返回到 Industrial Biotechnology

学生对 曼彻斯特大学 提供的 Industrial Biotechnology 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,007 个评分
255 条评论

课程概述

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

热门审阅

JC

Apr 29, 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

JQ

Aug 07, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and although I am not a chemist nor a research biotech guy, I am a dentist that enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about industrial biotechnology. Thanks so much!

筛选依据:

1 - Industrial Biotechnology 的 25 个评论(共 253 个)

创建者 MUHAMMED A

Sep 20, 2018

perfect .. but it will be amazing with certificate

创建者 Anwar N M

Mar 28, 2020

why you don't offered a certificate??

创建者 MARIA B P B P

Apr 08, 2020

I was so disappointed in the end when I figure out that the course not include the certificate

创建者 Jitendra C

Apr 29, 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

创建者 JOHN Q

Aug 07, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and although I am not a chemist nor a research biotech guy, I am a dentist that enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about industrial biotechnology. Thanks so much!

创建者 Laura S

Apr 04, 2020

Very little continuity between topics, even within the same week. There are different professors teaching each video module, and there is just massive variation in the knowledge required going into it, the slides, etc. It seems like professors were just asked to talk about their work for 10 minutes with little direction about the level of detail required and how it fits into the course overall. I am super interested in industrial biotech but this course was disappointing.

创建者 Khadija M M

Nov 16, 2017

Hi, i am taking this online course via coursera i would like to know if their is a certificate of recognition for the course?

创建者 Arturo M

Jan 29, 2019

Extraordinary MOOC. All speakers presented the most important current topics in industrial biotechnology. Very well documented and the expertise of all exposers quite evident. My current field is precisely biotechnology (production of rec proteins) and I really enjoyed this MOOC. I strongly recommend it. Congratulations to U. of Manchester.

创建者 Carlos V B

Jan 13, 2020

Great course, but Why don't give certificate?. I am very interested in the doctorate (PhD) of Biotechnology at the University of Manchester.

创建者 Estefania

Mar 14, 2020

Extremely interesting course. Also very attractive due to examples of biotechnology examples of real industrial applications.

创建者 Dilshan D S

Sep 22, 2019

This is a great course for beginners and provide very extensive knowledge on Industrial Biotechnology and the applications

创建者 KRISHNA R G

Apr 20, 2020

It is outstanding course to get informed about advanced information. I really learn from this course.

Thank you! Coursera

创建者 Prajwalitha P

Apr 08, 2018

It would be better if there would be a certificate for it

创建者 Shechinah F C

Apr 07, 2020

very good

创建者 Max B

Jan 28, 2018

Awesome intro to modern technologies and production processes used in the Biotech Industry! Does a great job of detailing where the industry is headed in the upcoming years.

创建者 Xiangyang L

Jun 30, 2019

Synthetic biology, industrial fermentation and green chemistry are integrated into the course and it is well organized and is a nice interdisciplinary course.

Thanks.

创建者 Joemark N

May 21, 2018

The lectures were divided into modules that were appropriate in length/tie. Speakers were very easy to comprehend and the outline of the topics were well presented.

创建者 Roshan A J

Apr 25, 2020

It was really wonderful course I really enjoyed the material and presentation of material and assessment.

创建者 Malintha P

Jan 14, 2020

PRETTY GOOD COURSE TO GET AN OVERALL IDEA ABOUT THIS FIELD

创建者 Emmanuel P Q

Aug 22, 2018

Muy bueno como repaso y actualizado.

创建者 Feargal G

Feb 04, 2018

A useful overview of modern biotech

创建者 Rory H

Aug 22, 2019

Some lectures where very good and very well presented, Others where unfollowable and too hard for a 'Beginners' course

创建者 Nirmal K

Dec 30, 2019

No certification upgrade

创建者 Michael N

Mar 09, 2019

it was pretty good. I learned a lot. Im from Dominican Republic and i didnt know how wonderful and widely is this area of industrial biotechnology. it makes me wanna know more about all of this

创建者 Saddam H

Apr 17, 2020

This is a really fascinating course that sparked my enthusiasm for industrial biotechnology. Information incorporated encompasses a broad variety of basic sciences and advanced technology.