Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Virtual Reality

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 Introduction to Virtual Reality 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,261 个评分
335 条评论

课程概述

This course will introduce you to Virtual Reality (VR). The course will teach you everything from the basics of VR- the hardware and the history of VR- to different applications of VR, the psychology of Virtual Reality, and the challenges of the medium. The course is designed for people who are new to VR as a medium. You may have experienced some virtual reality before, and may have some hardware- but this course is suitable to individuals who have never experienced VR and those who do not have much hardware- we will explain Mobile VR as well as devices such as the Oculus Rift and HTC Vive. Introduction to Virtual Reality is the first course in the Virtual Reality Specialisation. A learner with no previous experience in Virtual Reality and/or game programming will be able to evaluate existing VR applications, and design, test, and implement their own VR experiences/games using Unity by the end of the specialisation....

热门审阅

MA

May 14, 2020

The course is highly recommended by me. Learned so many things at once. All the lecturers are too good in illustrating a complex issues and now my basic ideas about virtual reality is clear and wider.

NC

Jan 29, 2018

Very good overview of theory of VR and a great start to deepen the knowledge. The course encourages you to seek out additional information and prompts you to think of applications of the technology.

筛选依据:

1 - Introduction to Virtual Reality 的 25 个评论(共 333 个)

创建者 Alexander S

Feb 07, 2019

I audited this course for Professional Development from February 1st, 2019 through February 7th, 2019. For reference, I have a Bachelor's degree in Psychology and a Master's degree in Communication Studies where I completed some research (though unpublished) in virtual reality. Overall, this course took me about three hours per completion week outside of some of the larger readings which took longer. I completed all activities available via audit (even if I couldn't submit them) and read all readings except for a few journal articles that seemed to repeat themselves.

I'll complete a week by week breakdown and then provide my thoughts about the course overall.

For week one, I thought it was a nice introduction to various head-mounted displays on the consumer market. Additionally, there was a nice overview of the history of virtual reality which included some research devices I had not seen previously. Fun fact, this is the only week you will see Dr. Gillies in this course.

For week two, there is a breakdown of all the different ways virtual reality is helping in contemporary society today (from sports to science to medical improvements). The final reading in this week is a great piece by Mel Slater describing everything from the first two weeks and most content from the third week. While certainly not a ten minute read as described, I would recommend this week for this reading along.

For week three, it is easily the most material of the entire course. Mel Slater comes as a guest professor to describe presence, immersion, embodiment, place illusion, and plausibility illusion. Dr. Slater seemed like a great fit, and the only complaint about this week was the fact that readings were academic research papers that had seemingly already been described (such as the one from week two). Additionally, these readings were described as ten minute assignments which was not the case.

Lastly, for week four, there is a shift to the development side of virtual reality. There is a large focus on graphic development and issues one may face while programming for virtual reality today.

Looking over the course as a whole, here are the positives:

I found I had learned more than I knew coming into the course.

This course specifically can be completed by those interested in social science as well as those interested in development as there is a larger focus on Psychology and theories in the field of virtual reality.

I thoroughly enjoyed hearing from Dr. Slater and his thoughts on the psychology of virtual reality as well as the illusions he showed.

Dr. Sylvia Pan had good content and was involved in almost every video.

Here are the negatives:

There were times I could see a large emphasis on CAVEs over other types of virtual reality, though I believe this to be due to the creator's own expertise.

Marco Gillies seemed to be very little involved with this particular course.

There were some grammatical errors in questions provided during lecture videos, and the answers are not examined by instructors. It is an auto-generated response so that it feels as those you are not receiving actual feedback.

Questions during lecture videos often pop up immediately after that information is covered, leading to parroting the answer back when asked about it.

Readings are all described as ten minutes, but some take hours while others take three minutes or thirty seconds. It is very inconsistent.

It appears most individuals audit this course, so those who are paying fill the discussion forums begging those who pay to review their work for the certificate completion before being charged again.

Some videos focus on the specialization and do not describe the course as an individual unit making the content confusing.

Overall, I would recommend this course. For those brand new to the subject, be aware there is peer-reviewed academic reading for this course. For some people, that alone can be a turn-off. For those fine with that content, I would spend about an hour a day on the content and you could have it completed within a few weeks time.

创建者 SK S A

Jun 12, 2018

This is best VR introduction course. I learned a lot of about VR apps, hardware, VR illusions and many more. Teachers are great in explanation of the content.

创建者 Natalia C

Jan 29, 2018

Very good overview of theory of VR and a great start to deepen the knowledge. The course encourages you to seek out additional information and prompts you to think of applications of the technology.

创建者 407 E T S

Jun 01, 2020

I was interested on the topic VIRTUAL REALITY ,it's application and hardware ,the topics that I wanted to know about VR is briefly explain in this course and I also received the certificate in VR

创建者 Mahati B

May 25, 2020

This is surely a wonderful course. I had a great time learning from this course. This course gave me detailed information regarding VR and it was really interesting for a first timer like me.

创建者 Ivan C

Jun 15, 2018

Being a non-techie, I find this course quite easy to understand. The required readings are academic papers and I took some time to understand them but it is good quality readings.

创建者 Jean V T d P

Jun 16, 2018

Excelent content, there are so many interesting subjects about VR that I have not thought yet. Every lesson makes me fall even more in love to VR and its possibiilties to change our world for good.

创建者 Mengqi L

Sep 09, 2019

5 stars for a very thorough introductory course with great examples, references and visuals! Great, well-organized videos that break mid-video to ask you a question (helped me pay attention).

3 stars for the sometimes frustrating quizzes: some information tested is not needed as practical knowledge for working in the VR industry. Why do we need to memorize what year something was invented? Sometimes the answer would be 3 answers instead of 1, but the phrasing is unclear, so it was difficult to choose.

0 stars for the graded peer assignment. I worked hard on my assignment, but all 3 peers I graded gave one-word answers or no answers to their assignment. This is very discouraging. Coursera, please have a minimum word count for people to submit their assignments, and match the people who submitted thorough answers with others who submitted thorough answers!

创建者 Matias N

Jan 06, 2019

This introductory course on VR is awesome both for people without any previous knowledge of VR as well as for VR developers or content creators. The course introduces the very basics concepts of VR, ranging from its definition, going through its history, current VR hardware and software, the psychology behind VR and some of the challenges that the technology introduces. The lecturers Sylvia and Marco are great at teaching, making the lectures quite engaging and enjoyable overall. In addition, there are a few guests lecturers that makes the content to shine even more. That's the case of Anthony Steed, which gives a great thoroughly description of the history of VR from the analog era to the current status, and in particular, all the lectures on the psychology of VR taught by Mel Slater. Really interesting information there, including concepts and some mind-blowing researches that Mel has done. So regardless your actual experience with VR, there is something new to learn in this course for sure. Good luck!

创建者 Douglas M

Jan 11, 2018

I have just finished auditing the course. I provides an in-depth introduction to all the aspects involved by VR, from the long history to the diferent HMDs and the challenges like avoiding nausea. I have to say the the most interesting part for me was the one covered by prof. Mel Slater: the consequences of Embodiment are so very exciting, such as the reduced bias/prejudice after people enter a virtual environment owning a diferent body color, and so on. I really look forward to checking out the next courses!

ps.: apparently there's a glitch that when I download the content to watch offline, it does not check as "done" afterwards, maybe it's worth checking out!

创建者 Callum W

Feb 10, 2020

I loved this course. I have a lot of background in film, VFX, game development and I still gained a massive amount from it. I am trying to further my ability from 360 Video and this has definitely been a step in the right direction.

The course brings aspects of VR that I had not initially considered from a development standpoint and a marketing standpoint. The psychology behind why certain choices are better than others, when it is better to use different technologies and even delving into the history of the technology and how it has grown into the beast it is today!

创建者 James M

Oct 18, 2017

I was quite pleased to find the level of detail in this course. I feel like I have just gotten the benefit of a veteran programmers retrospect on the industry. Very cool.

One thing I would suggest... splitting part of week 3 into week 4... week 3 was fairly heavy compared to the others... though I certainly understand the desire to group that specific material together.

I would also suggest changing the assignments to be specific to one type of VR each... HMD or 360 Video. It would help people think out use cases in both spaces.

创建者 Irvin S

Dec 17, 2019

This is a very informative course and was instrumental in my basic understanding of virtual reality. It is a great foundation for anyone who is just curious about the technology or wish to specialize in the field. The delivery of content is wonderful as there is a good balance between listening, viewing, reading and assessing ones understanding. I highly recommend this course!

创建者 Mainak B

Sep 14, 2020

Very informative and awesome course. They instructors and teachers were really nice. They explained the whole realm of Virtual Reality in the best way possible and with utmost dedication and care. The whole course layout was perfectly planned and designed. The Coursera Platform is also wonderful. I really enjoyed learning this course from you all. Thank You !!!!

创建者 Nandini U

Aug 19, 2020

The course was very informative and interesting at the same time. Each and every video was just the right length with just the right amount of content. Assignments were interesting to do and quizzes were quite interesting to solve. Overall, this was an amazing course for anyone who wants to get started with the basics of the concept of virtual reality. Great job!

创建者 Rhuta J

May 17, 2020

I never thought I would have an idea for VR application design by the end of this course. The instructors did a phenomenal job of introducing virtual reality with demonstrations, assignments etc. The resources provided for further reading are really insightful. Even for someone who has no experience of VR, this course can help understand the basics.

创建者 Piyush S

Jun 09, 2020

It is really a good basic knowledge of VR technology . Actually i am a research scholar who want to explore more about this VR technology . This course really helps me to find a good basic understanding of this technology . I want to learn more deep about this subject to insure my skills to next level .. so that i can utilize in my research.

创建者 Sergio G

May 31, 2018

This has been a really good course. Although I have been working in game development and VR for some years, this module focuses on the basic principles and also in the psycology behind VR. It is a pretty simple course in terms that it does not get any technical but all the concepts explained are worth considering when planing a VR project.

创建者 Giselle A

May 09, 2019

The instructors covered the basics in the first week, and moved on quickly to cover more in-depth topics throughout the course. I liked that I could speed up the audio for certain videos that covered what I already knew about VR. Overall, this course had a lot of material that is perfect for anyone looking to get into VR design and UX!

创建者 Johan v M

Nov 03, 2017

I was very pleased with the level. Of an introductory course you would expect a listing and shallow description of applications, software and hardware. I was pleasantly surprised to see that this course goes well beyond that. I specifically enjoyed and learned a lot from the psychological challenges of VR and how to achieve immersion.

创建者 Athan S

May 16, 2020

This is a great introductory course to Virtual Reality. It explains the history of VR and its fundamentals in sufficient depth while also providing quality reading material. Having Prof Mel Slater explaining the theory behind Immersion, Place Illusion, Plausibility Illusion and Embodiment Illusion was the highlight for me.

创建者 Ihendu B

Jul 28, 2020

It’s a wonderful course, at least I have learnt more about computer graphics, 360-degree videos, casualty, plausibility, how to be someone else, somewhere else and somebody else, I have really equipped myself with more knowledge. Thanks so much to our lecturer for clarifying us the more on this course.

创建者 Yasas S W

Jul 20, 2020

Wow, this is one of the best online courses ever I have attended. Thank you Dr. Sylvia and all instructors who conducted did very nicely. And I really loved to see guest speakers and specially the professor's sessions. Learnt a lot and loved every bit of it. Looking forward to continue this series.

创建者 Dinusha G J

May 02, 2020

I was very interested in this area and fortunately, I got this chance to study about VR through coursera. Today I've successfully completed the course and received the certificate. I would like to thank everyone. If you like to study something new and trending you must do this course. Thank you!

创建者 Rohan S

Jun 07, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and learned alot about VR. I used to think it is just another tech but it made me realise that there is alot going for it. I really loved Mel's voice and how he explained things and kinda wished he stayed all the way to the end but then again other's were great too.