Chevron Left
返回到 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,143 个评分
280 个审阅

课程概述

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

热门审阅

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

筛选依据:

251 - Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的 273 个评论(共 273 个)

创建者 Sebastian L M

Aug 29, 2019

I got a great general Knowledge about materials science applied to my own proffesion as a Chemical Engineer. It was a good course. Thanks

创建者 Pritam G

Aug 31, 2019

This course is great to understand the basics of how a material behaves and failure conditions. The reference to the molecular structure to understand the effect of physical phenomena on the metals is phenomenal.

创建者 Benjamin J R

Sep 08, 2019

Great course.

Could have used some more real life examples to help explain the effect of concepts on material properties.

创建者 Hazzar M R

Sep 09, 2019

It's a great refresher course for those who have undertook materials science as one of their subjects at school!!! It gave me a good foundation pursuance to study this at grad school.

创建者 Himanshu V

Oct 01, 2019

The lectures are short and sweet. There is a lot of new things I got to know even though I had read about some of those before.

创建者 Robert M

Sep 12, 2019

Good overall view of materials science

创建者 Khushal s

Oct 12, 2019

nice and informative

创建者 Adam B

Jan 04, 2019

Needs a lot more context! Why why why are we learning each topic. I love all the math and the depth, but just say why we are learning each thing first!

How about modeling each of the 10 things after a historical case study? Like the invention of carbonated steel, vulcanized rubber, or high temperature super conductors...? The historical case will put the abstract processes into context.

创建者 Kishor D S

Mar 22, 2019

Though good but less content.

创建者 Samet G

Nov 27, 2017

This course consists of beneficial topics for all engineers. The topics are explained in briefly and the quizes contains the relavent terms about the topics. I hope to take the new courses about material science in Coursera.Thanks UC Davis and Mr James Shackelford.

创建者 muhamed m e

Jan 29, 2017

It's good but depend only save informations than understand it

创建者 Marcin G

Aug 15, 2017

It was OK, I guess...

创建者 Bryan H

Dec 19, 2016

Good use of figures and graphs. I like the input of historical references to help understand the material. Lectures can be disengaging at times, the professor uses a lot of pauses which makes it hard to follow. Overall, it's a good introduction and overview to material science.

创建者 Padraig C

Jul 15, 2017

Very informative course but professor Shackleford was quite sterile and unengaging. He also tended to brush over things without explaining them

创建者 Anthony E S

Nov 19, 2017

Not what I thought, but a good introduction to the material.

创建者 Frankie L

Oct 07, 2017

More in depth explanations w have was omitted.

创建者 Bhaumik U P

Dec 12, 2017

I would say that the lectures delivered by the Prof. James were not loud and clear as he was taking so many pauses in between the speech. Else, the material data illustrated was good !

创建者 Chinmay N B

Sep 20, 2019

Basic introductory course

创建者 Avril K

Dec 16, 2016

This course is not terrible, I learned a few things, but it is poorly designed.

Some things are explained as if to people who aren't familiar with the concepts at all, while others are explained as if to people who must already know a lot about the concepts. I often felt lost. The "quizzes" did not help, you could do well on them without actually understanding things (I remember one multiple-choice question where the options were something like (a) "Arrhenius's first law", (b) "Arrhenius's second law", (c) "Arrhenius's third law", and you didn't even have to look at the question or know what the law was to know the answer because only one of Arrhenius's laws had been mentioned in the course at all).

There are two types of videos in this course. In one type, the professor is in a lab or kitchen or classroom or something and is physically demonstrating things. These videos are useful and mostly understandable. The other type of videos are lecture-style things that appear to have literally been sliced out of some other more thorough set of videos - sometimes the professor refers back to "earlier" parts of the lecture that we haven't actually seen before. Concepts and variables are often introduced without even mentioning what they refer to.

创建者 Shakeel A Q

Jan 23, 2017

Very much low details and the course instructor has very slow pace when he is teaching on the board that (aaaa,aaaa) is very irritating....

创建者 Sampath K , R

Jun 27, 2016

I was disappointed with the treatment of the main concepts. They were cursorily dealt with. Examples from the real world and a more graphic explanation esp. of the crystal defects would have helped. Otherwise, all the main points were covered.

创建者 Matt S

Jul 04, 2016

OK introduction to material properties, but not rigorous (leaves out definitions, motivation and conclusions/consequences) and skips some things that come up on the quizzes. No worked examples.

创建者 Allen G

Oct 26, 2018

so dry