Chevron Left
返回到 Economics of Money and Banking

学生对 哥伦比亚大学 提供的 Economics of Money and Banking 的评价和反馈

4.9
782 个评分
194 条评论

课程概述

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

热门审阅

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

筛选依据:

26 - Economics of Money and Banking 的 50 个评论(共 190 个)

创建者 Jennifer H

Jan 07, 2020

I am very lucky to find this course as my PhD thesis is about "the Banking evolution and bank performance". I looked for relevant literature to understand the phenomenon of Banking evolution and this course is exactly what I needed. Thank you very much! I am the one holding the minority view as well.

创建者 Nabilah N

Aug 26, 2017

A great way to revise a course that I did during my undergraduate. Especially because I have always found financial economics boring or hard to understand but Mr. Mehrling's lectures and reading materials are great resources to make it a fascinating subject to re-learn and finally understand.

创建者 Sebastian S

Apr 03, 2017

Excellent course, excellent professor, extremely interestig topics, presented in an understandable manner. the only little con might be that the assignments are not appropriate (too easy). This course is a teaser and a perfect starting point for any substantial engagement in modern finance

创建者 Giovanni B

Mar 08, 2020

The most insightful economics class I've ever taken. After completion, I'm gonna join the Young Scholars Initiative of INET in order to further develop "my money view" and, hopefully, one day contribute to this thinking with new ideas. Thank You Professor Mehrling! And thank you Coursera.

创建者 HP F

Mar 28, 2020

Being a central banker, I liked this course a lot - it showed me many new aspects of our role, not just in the area where I am working in (which is Treasury). I also liked many of the suggested readings a lot, especially those on the history and development of monetary policy.

创建者 Carlos A D J

Apr 24, 2017

I indeed appreciated this course! Now I can build a general view for both money and capital markets in an evolutionary and in a global perspective. I am able to understand and talk about all the players, their funtions and perspectives in the macroeconomic environment.

创建者 Addison L

Dec 11, 2018

Fascinating course that has well-explained in depth information about viewing the financial and economic landscape from the "Money View" and studying the evolution of banks, hierarchy between money and credit, liquidity vs solvency, the survival constraint, and more.

创建者 Marek D

Jul 28, 2017

Superb course. I work for an investment bank. I couldn't find single resource to understand broad picture of financial markets until I found this course. I recommend it to everyone, not only people working in finance but everyone who wants to understand modern world.

创建者 Herve Y

May 19, 2018

Thank you professor Mehring for this great course. Understanding Economics under the lens of Money is not very taught. This course gives us a starting framework analyze money impacts on Economics, based on number of years of experience and studies. Thanks so much!

创建者 Carlos H

Dec 03, 2016

This is one the best curses that I ever taken, it is a wonderful oportunitie to understand the money view, and how the monetary system realy works, with very preciseness and accuracy lessons, if you take this course, you are going to learn amazing knowledge.

创建者 Sheraz K

Feb 05, 2019

Simply the best. A well constructed course with some excellent reading material. Professor Mehrling was excellent. Thank you Professor, Columbia University and Coursera for making this wonderful course available to thousands of students all over the world.

创建者 Ryan C

Oct 22, 2019

Professor Mehrling is outstanding. Such a well structured and cogent explanation of the plumbing and funding markets that too many market commentators do not wholly understand. He has started me down a path of further exploring these concepts. Thank you!

创建者 Iulia A P

Nov 03, 2017

I'm grateful that I had the chance and inspiration to take this course online (even if only the free version of it) because it was one of the most fascinating presentation of original thinking I ever witnessed. Intellectual, convincing and inspiring.

创建者 John M O C

Feb 15, 2020

This is very insightful on how banks and dealers are the ones who make the world go round. It also showed me how shadow banking is actually very useful and how the history of using money has developed over time and affects how we use money today.

创建者 Bertrand K

Mar 07, 2017

Probably the best economics course I ever had in my life. Mr Mehrling's take on the economics of banking is vivid, modern, broad and does not leave the finance aspect of it aside, which is too often the case in typical economics courses.

创建者 Kee Y S S

May 31, 2018

The course lectures and materials are excellent that they explain the real economic situations in clear and simple ways. They help the students to understand the complex real world of economy without difficult quantitative models.

创建者 Jose R N D

Jan 27, 2017

Amazing experience! I had study finance and banking all my life during BS, MBA, and management consulting and by far the perspective of Perry Mehrling is truly inspirational. This course is a must for every professional.

创建者 David V

Sep 19, 2018

Professor is incredibly knowledgeable, class is taught at a good pace, and videos are broken down into an order which makes sense. I really enjoyed my time with this course, despite not having a math background.

创建者 David G H

Dec 04, 2016

Without any doubt, this is the best course I have taken in coursera. Both because of the contents, the approach and the professor. Surprising approach to the economy, and IMHO, one that once taken, is prevalent.

创建者 Paul C

Jun 30, 2017

I am working on understanding the Global Financial Crisis. This course helped me understand the banking system as it really is. This course is one of the best courses, if not the best course, I have ever taken.

创建者 Barbara G

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

创建者 Aparajita K

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

创建者 Giorgio G

Oct 13, 2019

Fantastic content, it explains how banks work behind the scenes and many intricacies of the current financial system. Super suggested even to those who don't have a financial background.

创建者 Daniel Z

Jul 13, 2019

This was an excellent course. I really enjoyed the way it was delivered and the was the Prof explained the concept. He is extremely knowledgeable and communicates very well.

创建者 Perikli P

Dec 04, 2016

Prof. Mehrling's ability to explain such complex items is just amazing. His passion in teaching as well as his neutrality are really thrilling. Thank you very much Professor.