Chevron Left
返回到 Number Theory and Cryptography

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Number Theory and Cryptography 的评价和反馈

4.5
493 个评分
102 条评论

课程概述

We all learn numbers from the childhood. Some of us like to count, others hate it, but any person uses numbers everyday to buy things, pay for services, estimated time and necessary resources. People have been wondering about numbers’ properties for thousands of years. And for thousands of years it was more or less just a game that was only interesting for pure mathematicians. Famous 20th century mathematician G.H. Hardy once said “The Theory of Numbers has always been regarded as one of the most obviously useless branches of Pure Mathematics”. Just 30 years after his death, an algorithm for encryption of secret messages was developed using achievements of number theory. It was called RSA after the names of its authors, and its implementation is probably the most frequently used computer program in the word nowadays. Without it, nobody would be able to make secure payments over the internet, or even log in securely to e-mail and other personal services. In this short course, we will make the whole journey from the foundation to RSA in 4 weeks. By the end, you will be able to apply the basics of the number theory to encrypt and decrypt messages, and to break the code if one applies RSA carelessly. You will even pass a cryptographic quest! As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

热门审阅

SS
Jul 31, 2020

I loved this course! It is unlike any I have taken before. All courses in this specialization have always included fun activities to make the taught content fun and understandable.

PW
Nov 21, 2018

I was really impressed especially with the RSA portion of the course. It was really well explained, and the programming exercise was cleverly designed and implemented. Well done.

筛选依据:

51 - Number Theory and Cryptography 的 75 个评论(共 102 个)

创建者 Rishi b

Sep 12, 2020

A Very Good Course for Beginners who want to start learning cryptography from scratch

创建者 Ryan T

Jun 15, 2021

for the joke at the very end of the final project, i give this course 5 stars

创建者 Kushwanth R

Aug 5, 2020

I can't really get sync b/w mathematics and programming

创建者 Jherson A M C

Sep 24, 2020

Very fun and simple, maybe too simple, but it's fine

创建者 Akash V

Aug 24, 2020

Really good course, kept my really good questions

创建者 Henrique T Y

Apr 22, 2021

A great course, I loved the cryptography part!!!

创建者 SYED J H

Jun 21, 2020

probably the best course of this specialization

创建者 SHREYAS M C C

Nov 29, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken so far!!

创建者 Zhen X

Jun 24, 2020

The last week of this course is very amazing!

创建者 Gaoge Z

Jul 31, 2020

Great RSA Quest. Fun and engaging!

创建者 Hans D E H

Sep 18, 2020

I loved the quest, was very fun!

创建者 Snehal P

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent Course and Very Useful

创建者 Chandrakala P

May 3, 2020

Faculty gave good explaination

创建者 Angel G

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent (Excelente)

创建者 Afnan A

Aug 15, 2020

It was awesome!!

创建者 V. Y

Jul 10, 2020

Excellent

创建者 Dhruv P

May 3, 2020

The best!

创建者 Preetam K S

Aug 3, 2020

Good one

创建者 Satyam K M

Jun 1, 2020

good

创建者 Luis M V F

Jan 11, 2020

In general, this course is much better than the previous 3, and I enjoyed all weeks but Week 4. I think Michael Levin should improve his explanations, and also try to give further examples about the algorithms he is talking about. I would say that it is worthy taking this course, but I really hope Week 4 can be improved.

创建者 Greg L

Dec 11, 2017

Generally pretty good. Pretty easy level, and the maths is undemanding. Some imprecision in the wording of the tests, and a little too easy on the programming side, but well worthwhile if you still have some holes in your understanding of the principles of RSA encryption.

创建者 Stephen L

May 11, 2018

The class was interesting but I felt it was difficult and not explained well...to do the modules I had to constantly go back and re-read the slides, re-watch the lectures. There weren't any examples, I feel it would have been helpful in order to grasp the material.

创建者 Mr 4

May 7, 2020

The instructor tried their best to explain difficult topics like cryptography to make as easy as possible. For this, they really deserve great appreciation. It can be improved if they did not just read out the slides but explain them in some places.

创建者 Aren T

Nov 19, 2019

Final week is a bit rushed, think it would have benefited from being one week longer.

Nevertheless, an excellent introduction to an extremely difficult and complex subject.

创建者 Camilo G

Feb 11, 2021

Some of the material is a bit hard to follow at times, but it's quite interesting and the final Quest quiz is a nice and fun way of putting everything together.