Chevron Left
返回到 The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

学生对 罗马大学 提供的 The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill 的评价和反馈

4.4
269 个评分
107 条评论

课程概述

Studying ancient - as well as medieval or modern - cities basically means telling local urban stories based on the reconstruction of changing landscapes through the centuries. Given the fragmentary nature of archaeological evidence, it is necessary to create new images that would give back the physical aspect of the urban landscape and that would bring it to life again. We are not just content with analyzing the many elements still visible of the ancient city. The connections between objects and architectures, visible and non visible buildings, which have been broken through time have to be rejoined, to acknowledge the elements that compose the urban landscape. Landscape and its content are a very relevant and still vital part of any national cultural heritage. The course will introduce students to the way we have been reflecting on over the last twenty years and still are engaged with the study of the past of our cities, beginning from the most complex case in the ancient Mediterranean World: the core of Italy and of Roman Empire. On the other hand, knowledge means also preservation and defense of material remains and cultural memory. “The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archeology and History of the Palatine Hill” presents to a large public the topographical lay-out of the most relevant part of the city (according the Greek and Roman Historians Rome was founded on the Palatine). Research developed on the Palatine since the end of last century by the team of Sapienza Classical Archaeologists opened a new phase in the urban archaeological investigation and in the scientific debate about the relation between archaeological features and literary tradition as well as the “correct use“ of both kind of evidence, key issues of wide archaeological and historical significance....

热门审阅

CS
Mar 21, 2018

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

JC
May 1, 2018

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

筛选依据:

76 - The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill 的 100 个评论(共 107 个)

创建者 Raymond S

Oct 11, 2021

I​ got the feeling that the quiz questions were translated directly from the Italian originals. But the English version of the lectures could not have been as succinct as the original Italian. This made the completion of the quizes a real puzzle.

创建者 Carlos E R C

Sep 9, 2020

Curso de fácil assimilação, tive um grande aprendizado em pouco tempo, com folga do prozo estimado pelo curso, grato pela disposição deste conteúdo que me proporcionou uma grande soma nos meus conhecimentos.

创建者 Jordan F

May 15, 2020

A well-researched course that delves deep into the history of Rome and the Palatine. Answers to the quizzes should be more evident and not require studying the background images that appear, though.

创建者 Anna E S G

Jun 3, 2021

Interesting topic but can benefit from having clearer and dynamic visuals. The questions on the quizzes seem not taken from the instruction. You cannot find them even from the transcripts.

创建者 Joseph I

Nov 16, 2020

It would be better if the quiz had no latin terms, for the directions in the lecture aren't always clear and the quiz is absolutely mystifying in places.

创建者 Reggie W

Oct 19, 2020

It was challenging because it required a lot of research because the questions on the quizzes seemed to be quite obscure

Thank you Prof. Paolo Corafa

创建者 Dorothea M F

May 24, 2018

The teacher is great! He shows us the actual ruins whenever possible, it is the next best thing to being there and seeing it ourselves.

创建者 Alessandro C

Jun 7, 2020

Very good course, even though some of the quizzes seem to be not completely aligned with the information provided during the lessons

创建者 Kate T

Dec 6, 2020

Amazing detail and very interesting. Would have scored 5 stars if maps were included, cannot read them on screen.

创建者 Alexander R

May 19, 2018

Great Course to understand the founding and aspects of the roman empire. Pretty good.

创建者 sadek M

Sep 27, 2019

Interesting course with profound knowledge about Roman archaeology

创建者 Eliano F

Jun 15, 2018

Very, very interesting. I wish to have more handouts

创建者 Rebeca P M

Aug 17, 2017

It is a great course to know ancient Rome

创建者 Magda B

Nov 30, 2017

Very interesting and detailed class.

创建者 Carmen

Apr 1, 2019

L

创建者 Andrés C B

Jul 13, 2017

.

创建者 Guey-Mei

Mar 21, 2021

The content is great, but the teaching (language, material, quizzes) are CHAOTIC. Maps are important for this course, but they are NOWHERE to be found. Quizzes are problematic, often pointing to either wrong answers (contradicting to the videos) or minute details that weren't mentioned at all. The language is confusing as well, as the lecturer did not provide description of the slides and maps, therefore the transcripts are no help at all.

创建者 John B

Aug 15, 2017

Graphics were interesting but did not focus on what the professor was saying. The professor was sincere and seemed knowledgeable though his speech impediment became distracting very quickly. Overall, having visited the Palatine several times over the years, I found the course very helpful in giving me a feel for physical aspects of so much of what I have read about ancient Rome in history and literature. Thank you for the opportunity.

创建者 San

Oct 13, 2020

I was excited to take this course, eager to hear Prof. Carafa. However all of his knowledge, all of the work that went into creating this valuable course, was degraded by the very bad English text and subtitles. So many mistakes! 100+. Some are significant, some are comical, none are excusable. So five stars for the professor, no star for the transcriber.

创建者 Judith h

Aug 4, 2020

I've taken several course dealing with this subject and definitely found this class informative, but the professor was difficult for me to understand and particularly towards the end I questioned whether the quizzes had any relationship to the lectures. Perhaps I didn't hear correctly. Speaking of hearing, the translations were not the best either.

创建者 Andrew O M

Jul 29, 2019

Great content, especially for serious archaeologists. While understandable for the most part, the presentations in second-language English at times lagged.

创建者 Michelle N

Jul 11, 2020

Found a lot of translating errors which made the course a little frustrating. Overall learnt a lot about Ancient Rome.

创建者 David J W

Dec 24, 2018

Lost interest, couldn't finish. Probably could have read a book on the subject and saved myself the time.

创建者 Leticia L

Jun 12, 2017

Curso interesante y entretenido

创建者 Ygor K B

Feb 19, 2019

very good