Chevron Left
返回到 Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

学生对 伦敦帝国学院 提供的 Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA 的评价和反馈

4.0
1,906 个评分
453 条评论

课程概述

This intermediate-level course introduces the mathematical foundations to derive Principal Component Analysis (PCA), a fundamental dimensionality reduction technique. We'll cover some basic statistics of data sets, such as mean values and variances, we'll compute distances and angles between vectors using inner products and derive orthogonal projections of data onto lower-dimensional subspaces. Using all these tools, we'll then derive PCA as a method that minimizes the average squared reconstruction error between data points and their reconstruction. At the end of this course, you'll be familiar with important mathematical concepts and you can implement PCA all by yourself. If you’re struggling, you'll find a set of jupyter notebooks that will allow you to explore properties of the techniques and walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you are already an expert, this course may refresh some of your knowledge. The lectures, examples and exercises require: 1. Some ability of abstract thinking 2. Good background in linear algebra (e.g., matrix and vector algebra, linear independence, basis) 3. Basic background in multivariate calculus (e.g., partial derivatives, basic optimization) 4. Basic knowledge in python programming and numpy Disclaimer: This course is substantially more abstract and requires more programming than the other two courses of the specialization. However, this type of abstract thinking, algebraic manipulation and programming is necessary if you want to understand and develop machine learning algorithms....

热门审阅

JS

Jul 17, 2018

This is one hell of an inspiring course that demystified the difficult concepts and math behind PCA. Excellent instructors in imparting the these knowledge with easy-to-understand illustrations.

NS

Jun 19, 2020

Relatively tougher than previous two courses in the specialization. I'd suggest giving more time and being patient in pursuit of completing this course and understanding the concepts involved.

筛选依据:

101 - Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA 的 125 个评论(共 452 个)

创建者 María J S G

Aug 29, 2019

Very good 3 courses for those of us who are beginners in Machine Learning and IA! However I miss a whole course, perhaps the first one of then four, teaching us what we need to know about python, numpy and plotting.

创建者 Arnab M

Jun 03, 2019

A great course. Learnt a lot, a lot of Linear Algebra, Projections/ Geometry/ all of these Mathematical ideas would help greatly in understanding of Machine Learning concepts and applying them to real world data!!..

创建者 Krishna K M

Jun 24, 2019

I am not sure why the rating is so low for this course.

Personally, I found this course really insightful as the instructor explains what the different statistical measurements mean, and why are they useful.

创建者 Akshat S

Jul 24, 2019

I will present my self with some amazing songs!!

Excellent staircase to the heaven for learning PCA.

Breaking the habit of struggling with hardcore bookish mathematics.

Loose yourself in this adventure!!

创建者 Jose A

Jul 18, 2020

Well explained, some issues with assignments but some of them are to not just type and think a little.

May be one is a real mistake... hard time with it, but lot of learning too.

创建者 Aleksey A

Feb 15, 2020

Challenging, but doable. Has some bugs in coding assignments, but clearing them out makes you understand things better. Get ready to spend extra time understanding the concepts.

创建者 Christian H

Dec 28, 2019

This course is well worth the time. I have a better understanding of one of the most foundational and biologically plausible machine learning algorithms used today! Love it.

创建者 Tse-Yu L

Mar 14, 2018

Practices and quiz are designed well while I will suggest to put more hints on programming parts, e.g., PCA. Overall, this series of course are pretty useful for beginner.

创建者 Miguel A Q H

Feb 21, 2020

This is the best course of the specialization, its very hard but it lets you to understand very important concepts of what means dimensionality reduccion.

Great Job!!!!

创建者 Aymeric N

Nov 25, 2018

This course demystifies the Principal Components Analysis through practical implementation. It gives me solid foundations for learning further data science techniques.

创建者 XL T

Apr 04, 2020

It is a bit difficult and jumpy. You will need some hard work to fill in the missing links of knowledge which not explicite on the lectrue. Overall, great experience.

创建者 S J

May 03, 2020

Your Teaching and Video quality is par excellence.....Thanks a lot for such amazing stuff...I am looking forward to joining more courses in the same line

创建者 Christine D

Apr 14, 2018

I found this course really excellent. Very clear explanations with very hepful illustrations.

I was looking for course on PCA, thank you for this one

创建者 Ananta M

Apr 20, 2020

Although the course was little out there and the instructor was trying his best to articulate a difficult topic, the overall experience is great.

创建者 Prime S

Jun 24, 2018

Nicely explained. Could be further improved by adding some noted or sources of derivation of some expressions, like references to matrix calculus

创建者 J A M

Mar 21, 2019

Solid conceptual explanations of PCA make this course stand out. The thorough review of this content is a must for any serious data researcher.

创建者 Moez B

Nov 25, 2019

Excellent course. The fourth week material is the hardest for folks not comfortable with linear algebra and vectorization in numpy and scipy.

创建者 Hasan A

Dec 31, 2018

What a great opportunity this course offers to learn from the best in this simplified manner. Thank you Coursera and Imperial College London!

创建者 Alexander H

Jul 31, 2018

Highly informative course! Loved the depth of the material. Found this course content highly useful in my current project based on PCA.

创建者 Jason N

Feb 20, 2020

A lot of reading beyond the video lectures was required for me and some explanations could be more clear. Overall, a great course.

创建者 Rishabh P

Jun 17, 2020

Well-detailed course and straight to the point. I enjoyed the course even though the programming assignments can be challenging

创建者 UMAR T

Mar 10, 2020

Excellent course it helps you understanding about linear algebra programming into real world examples by programming in python.

创建者 Josef N

May 14, 2020

It would be great if the course is extended to 8 weeks, with the current week 4 spanning at least 3 weeks. Otherwise great.

创建者 Dora J

Feb 04, 2019

Great course including many useful refreshers on foundational concepts like inner products, projections, Lagrangian etc.

创建者 Vo T T

Sep 19, 2019

This course is very helpful for me to understand Math for ML. Thank you Professors at Imperial College London so much!