Chevron Left
返回到 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,329 个评分
446 条评论

课程概述

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

热门审阅

TS

Apr 30, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

NS

Apr 22, 2021

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

筛选依据:

76 - Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 的 100 个评论(共 445 个)

创建者 Anastasia S

May 24, 2021

I find the course valuable for beginners. Here there is no practical implementation, but this is not a focus of the course. The point is to understand the main points of statistics and probability. Dr Abdey has a great enthusiasm to explain the topic.

创建者 Graham P

Jan 5, 2021

Thank you Dr James Abdey for an excellent and very clear explanation, delivered with enthusiasm and appropriate detailed notes.

Wishing you every success in these very uncertain time and I am reminded that the only constant in life is change.

创建者 Pallav G

Jun 15, 2020

With vivid explanation and attention to detail of various course material along with the coverage provided. Highly recommend this course to people who want to learn the number crunching part of for a budding Business analyst and data scientist

创建者 Ashish T

Jun 4, 2020

Not much in depth dive into calculatory Probability and Statistics is present in the course, but still the best course out there for the beginners, who are looking for a solid base in the theoritical section of various Prob and Stats Jargons.

创建者 Jordan T

May 27, 2020

Dr James Abdey presents the course material in a straight forward manner and presents examples that are easy to grasp. I enjoyed taking this course and would recommend it to someone looking to learn the basics of probability and statistics.

创建者 Brian Y

Dec 27, 2020

Fantastic introduction course. Pacing was great and the instructor’s recorded lectures were very interesting. Would recommend to anyone looking for an intro probability and statistics course as a first time or as a refresher. Thank you!

创建者 Khoa d

Jul 9, 2020

Really enjoyed it. The lecturer was excellent in breaking down the principles into layman's terms. I do wish there was a bit of a smoother transition between the video lectures and the accompanying text which is more technical.

创建者 Greta T

Jun 6, 2021

Great introductory course! Dr James Abdey is a great lecturer: simple but precise language, excellent examples, always interesting. All these features really helped me to enjoy this course and improve my skills on the subject.

创建者 Derome R

May 25, 2020

Honestly an amazing MOOC! It has definitely heightened my interest in the field and I hope to learn even more in the near future. Anyone looking for a good introduction into Probability and Statistics should try this out!

创建者 Leonardo M

Jun 8, 2020

I was impressed by the way in which topics were explained, with such a dynamic approach that made lectures interesting. I would recommend this course to anyone who is willing to get introduced to the world of statistics.

创建者 Roshni R B

Aug 2, 2020

Very interesting subject and very nice way of teaching. The examples used in the lectures helped me a lot to understand the concepts properly. Thank you for putting up such course. Expecting more such courses in future.

创建者 Facundo N

Jul 5, 2020

The course was excellent !!! Obviously it was a basic course, however, the clarity, simplicity and ease with which the topics were transmitted make it one of the best courses available! Great job!!! I really enjoyed it.

创建者 Duvvuri Y S P

Aug 2, 2019

This course gives brief idea about different probabilistic methods used and their purpose in the real world. It's a very basic course where anyone can take and have a detailed knowledge on probability & Statistics.

创建者 Imad E

Apr 29, 2020

It was a great event for me to re learn statistics over 12 years from last course that i had in the business school.

Mr James abdey was fantastic and very helful to understand all statistic concet. thank to hime

创建者 Stefan H

Jun 20, 2020

Valuable learning. Concise format.

Some explanations were not as simple as they could have been though. Still, with some supplementary readings (or youtube/khan academy), it is very accessible and informative.

创建者 Reza G I

May 20, 2020

The course is great for introduction to Probability and Statistics. The instructor gives great explanation on basic theory with simple real world problem without touching too much detail with the formula.

创建者 Ludovic G

Aug 4, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Aimed at beginners wishing to dip their toes in Probability and Statistics, Dr. James Abdey explains concepts in details while keeping the lessons lively and entertaining.

创建者 Murad J

Apr 27, 2020

Thanks for giving this great opportunity to get access to all resources and helping to learn lots of new statistical terms and data. I finally found the answer for "to p or not to p?" :)

thank you again!

创建者 Nebojsa S

Apr 23, 2021

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

创建者 Ludvík P

Sep 22, 2020

Recommend way more than statistics for international business - that one is terrible. Everything is explained in a slow, fun way. Absolutely loved it. Better than the teachers at my University!

创建者 Santiago M

Aug 20, 2020

Me quedo muy satisfecho de haber tomado este curso. Mi entendimiento de la incertidumbre, de el proceso de decision bajo incertidumbre, y del alcance la ciencia estadística, ha mejorado mucho.

创建者 Cody P

Feb 27, 2021

Wonderful course, the kind that makes you excited about a subject. Dr Abdey is a great lecturer. Sometimes the contents in quizzes isn't quite formatted right, but otherwise no complaints.

创建者 Hanna M M S

Mar 4, 2021

This is a very mind-blowing course and it helped me in many ways. The subtitles and note-taking are great ideas too, plus they are not strict which is a total opposite in real classes

创建者 Inge v d K

May 4, 2020

The basics of statistics are very well explained, with easy to follow and clear examples! Some concepts finally clicked (although explained before in a university statistics course).

创建者 Ivan

May 25, 2019

Really well done!

It starts slow, explaining everything clearly. If you want to add material to a specific lesson, you can easly do it following what the teacher already explained.