Chevron Left
返回到 The Art of Music Production

学生对 伯克利音乐学院 提供的 The Art of Music Production 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,162 个评分
342 条评论

课程概述

Explore the art of record production and how to make recordings that other people will love listening to. This course will teach you how to make emotionally moving recordings on almost any recording equipment, including your phone or laptop. The emphasis is on mastering tangible artistic concepts; the gear you use is up to you. You will learn to develop the most important tool in the recording studio: your ears. You will learn to enhance every aspect of your own productions, both sonically and musically, by employing deeper listening skills. Assignments will include posting your own recordings for peer review, and reviewing your classmates’ work by employing specific tools and strategies. If you use a digital audio workstation to record and mix, that’s great, but as long as you can record into your computer and post an MP3, you can complete the assignments. As you learn about the art of record production in this 4-week course, you will also learn about yourself and who you are as an artist and producer. It is not necessary that you read music or play an instrument to take this course....

热门审阅

LR

Sep 26, 2016

Exceptional and essential guide for music producers. This course really makes you think of music production from a holistic perspective. I'll never listen to music the same superficial way anymore...

BD

Aug 22, 2018

Really enjoyed this and got a lot out of it.\n\nGreat curriculum, great delivery. Meaningful assignments, great community. Highly recommend if you want to reflect on and hone your artistic vision.

筛选依据:

1 - The Art of Music Production 的 25 个评论(共 332 个)

创建者 Christian K

Apr 01, 2019

Do not let this short 4 week class fool you, there is a lot great info. The class is short because Stephen Webber gets to the point and gets the important information out there, no nonsense. This class gets you writing and recording, that is the focus. If you are interested in music production, this class will get your feet off the ground quick!

创建者 Leigh C

Jun 28, 2016

I found this course in the suggestions list after taking Introduction to Music Production with Loudon Stearns. I audited it, so I couldn't/didn't do the assignments but I found it really interesting so I binge-watched the lectures in the space of a day. The way the course is set up as compared to Intro to Music Prod. it is a lot less detailed technical instruction and more of a broad look at the artistic/aesthetic/philosophical components of various aspects of music production. And since Loudon touches upon this in the other course, I would say the two courses nicely complement each other and are both worth watching all the way through. I think they could be taken in any order, but personally, even though Intro is more technical, I think I got more out of this one having already taken Intro. Even as someone who considers myself pretty good as far as lyrics/songwriting/composition, I still got something new and useful out of those parts and liked the way the instructor put these "creative" parameters in concrete terms. The way he talked about and clarified Vision, Identity, and Intention I personally found very empowering, interesting, and practically useful. I feel like some of these ideas had been floating around in my mind before, but it validated that they were valuable things to be thinking about. There are a couple specific things that popped up in the course that are really cool and useful: for example, the rule of threes, and the information on panning, delay, mixing, etc. Very glad I found it! I hope these keep being offered for free because I find them more efficient for learning than some YouTube videos, and at some point I would consider doing one not just audited but "for real."

创建者 Haitham A

Nov 28, 2016

i live in yemen and there is a war going on right know

i was really mad at life and i had a big motivation to make music

i realized after i started this course that really my problem is that i was listening technically

that i started to hate music .. i couldn't even enjoy the music i used to love

i just started the first course

but let me tell you after i just watch

the first three videos(listening like a producer)

it really helped me alot thank you so much

创建者 Luis R

Sep 26, 2016

Exceptional and essential guide for music producers. This course really makes you think of music production from a holistic perspective. I'll never listen to music the same superficial way anymore...

创建者 Alexander K

Jul 22, 2018

Very short course that is even shorter considering the fact that 90% of it is basically pure water. Even a beginer could hardly find any useful info here, but will probably be stopped by submition tasks which ask you to record you own music, which is kinda odd considering that this is the first recomended course in specialisation that does not require any background knowledge.

创建者 Kurt S

Sep 06, 2019

After decades dabbling in bedroom recording, this course's crucial lesson for me was the need for artistic focus, i.e. a clear identity as an artist and a vision for my work.

The homework did at least a couple of great things for me. First, it disciplined me to actually finish writing a song! The First Commandment for aspiring writers is, "Write every day!" Now I see why. Striving for creativity even when inspiration was ebbing was a revelation. Having a completed song is icing.

Second, the homework not only gave me a new perspective on music and art, it gave me a new perspective on myself and my music. In trying to determine my artistic identity and vision, I was struck by how little I knew myself as an artist. My influences didn't show up in the homework the way I expected, and I actually sound more like some artists I don't listen to. Disconcerting but really good to know!

I also enjoyed classmates' music, goals, influences, and perspectives. While grading classmates' work I'd listen to their influences, which exposed me to artists I'd never have even heard of otherwise. Even cooler was enjoying a classmate's music that was unlike anything I'd heard before.

Finally, Stephen Webber is a fantastic, engaging instructor. His enthusiasm was contagious.

创建者 Manuel G

Aug 12, 2016

For better or worse, I’m a self-taught recording artist (lookup “Don Manolo Frutorama” in Spotify if you’re into lo-fi psychedelic grooves) and I can attest that the lessons given in this course are truly valuable and empirically verifiable. On top of that, Stephen Webber is a super likeable guy who explains complex themes like reverberation, sound proofing or microphone types in a pretty straight-forward manner without ever being condescending. I especially liked his use of this famous quote attributed to Orson Welles: “The enemy of art is the absence of limitations.” and his advice on avoiding the pitfalls of digital audio. I also found very valuable the lessons about Identity, Vision and Intention and The Rule of Threes. If you’re new to the world of music production or just someone who wants to fill some knowledge gaps as in my case, you won’t regret taking up this excellent course! Cheers from Madrid! Don Manolo

创建者 bart d

Aug 22, 2018

Really enjoyed this and got a lot out of it.

Great curriculum, great delivery. Meaningful assignments, great community. Highly recommend if you want to reflect on and hone your artistic vision.

创建者 Alex F

Apr 01, 2019

helped me a lot to find what type of music I am into and what I should make, in saying that, it also helped me understand a lot of important and key features when it comes to music production!

创建者 Hielmi A

Apr 30, 2017

the course seemed to be more geared to artists/composers than technicians wishing to expand or futher their skill set

创建者 Juanjo R C

Aug 07, 2016

Muy flojo en cuanto a materia teórica

创建者 Benjamin H

Nov 16, 2017

I appreciate the high-level discussion of artistry as an introduction to the Music Production specialization, but I found that the assignments assumed that I would have pieces that I wanted to compose and develop, and this isn't the case for me. I came to this specialization to learn how to use this technology so that I can assist students in developing their own skills, not necessarily to develop my own artistry. Moreover, to the degree that I am a composer I write mostly in a "classical" style so a lot of the discussion of form, overdubbing, etc. didn't really apply to my style.

创建者 jose p c

Aug 21, 2018

There is a major difference in my musical education and a lack of skilled and crafted information which berkley provides in a nutshell. The description instructs and programs us to think link music producers instead of fans. Everything though about create a song a beat went out the window when mastering phase came into play. I spent several years hopping and begging producers to teach and I did pick here and there well enough to create my own radio ready music. I did feel there was something missing in my path on this musical journey. I have heard about berkeley for years but it was now it dawned on me I give this class 5 stars two thumbs two big toes up and all my other fingers as long as I ain't needed on them piano keys.

创建者 Marie-Thérèse L R

Dec 26, 2016

An extremely enjoyable and accessible course to get started in music production, or to understand music production from a performer and songwriter's point of view. Easy to understand, yet introducing enough technical points to elevate the quality of recordings. The course is presented in a very friendly and genuine way, and alongside the technical knowledge there is a good amount of soul-searching to home artistic/producer identity. No special equipment is needed for the course, and in fact the material is likely to support better equipment buying decisions, so don't go shopping before Week 4. Very inspiring and highly recommended for anyone interested in finding out more about music production.

创建者 Miller B

Mar 25, 2017

I am Brazilian and, at the age of 31, the dream of be graduated at Berklee was already slept. However, our dear internet could make it possible bringing Coursera and Berklee world wide. I couldn't be more satisfied. I learned how really works the art of music production as the tools to accomplish the tasks given were gradually revealed. Now I know how a music producer may think to achieve an high level of good listener's responses to the song as well how to experiment and work on the skills to really make a diference. Thanks Berklee for the magnificent course, and thanks Coursera for make it possible.

创建者 Himalaya R

Jul 16, 2019

I took this course to learn the processes involved in Music Production. It was exactly as I had expected. A step-by-step guide to producing good music with or without lyrics in 4-weeks. Such a beautiful compact course.

By the end of the course, I managed to write a full song in Verse-Chorus-Bridge form. I did the recordings and assignments using a cellphone, guitar and my voice, but people with better equipment will probably do more with the concepts and things taught in the course.

Thank you for this course. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

创建者 Samantha L

Apr 02, 2019

I'm a singer/songwriter who's fairly new to music production, my goal is to be able to self-produce. I know my way around GarageBand enough to put something together, but I don't really know what I'm doing or how to make it sound good. This course is a great starting point and I'm excited to take the next one which seems more in depth. This course is also great for artists, it forces you to sit down and think about your vision and your intentions, and guides you through putting it into words. Overall I found it very helpful.

创建者 Zachary M

Oct 19, 2016

Going into this course, I knew how to use which effects and what knobs to turn. If that's what you're trying to learn, this course doesn't focus so much on that. Instead, it focuses on WHY the music was made, WHAT you're trying to accomplish with it, and shows ways of achieving that goal while improving efficiency. I now look at what I'm trying to accomplish first instead of finding it somewhere along the way (after who knows how many wasted hours turning knobs and pressing buttons). I'd highly recommend taking this course.

创建者 Ann

Sep 08, 2017

Excellent course, but not for a total beginners.

This is a great course if you've already made your first steps in music production. If you're a total beginner who don't have so much experience with music theory and music production at all, I think this could be too difficult for you. But if you've already produced something or you at least know how to do something with sense, this course will be a great journey where you can learn a lot simple but awesome things you may not noticed before. Completely recommending it.

创建者 Luisa A

Sep 07, 2016

This course offers an excellent introduction to methods that can be used to focus the creative process, with intention and purpose. It forced me to think about exactly what it is I wish to achieve with the music I make, how I want it to sound, and to what end, and also gave some basic information on how to achieve certain aesthetics in a recording. It is a well-structured course that encourages engagement with other participants, and exposes you to the ideas of other creative people around the globe.

创建者 Steven S

Jul 28, 2017

This course definitely helped me learn how to evaluate other people's music, as well as my own. I learned some life lasting techniques, such as the rule of threes, prosody, and sonic signature (and more!) I am leaving this course feeling inspired to add more emotion into my music, as well as simplifying the sound. I loved being able to do full evaluations on student progress, as well as receiving feedback in criticism and praise on my own. Awesome course!

创建者 romiquo

Jun 17, 2017

this is such an amazing experience and honor to be a part of this course . everyaspect of this course was very interesting and the structure of the entire class the way its set up is so great being able to connect with other students and sharing ideas and getting feed back , makes even more better. i love this course and want to thank the educators and the ones behind the scenes who mad this all possible . this was a great course i loved it!

创建者 Andrew H

Aug 03, 2018

Well very designed introduction class that covers all the basic of being a singer/musician/producer. It covers all the key concepts on the art of music, what type of singer one can be, the Rules of Three, song structure, basic concepts of manipulating recorded sounds.

The only part I don't understand is the unusual length it spends explaining about the different microphones. (Maybe it will becomes very important in the future).

创建者 Anthony K

Jul 03, 2019

This course extremely potent in the sense I felt like I learned what I needed to know, was given a clear way to apply the concepts, and gain a grasp of getting my feet wet on my music production journey in an extremely short amount of time. I would recommend this to ANY creative whether you are a performance artist, create social media content, etc - as producing original sound allows unlimited possibilities with your art.

创建者 Gemma W

Oct 31, 2016

Absolutely loved it. As someone who is quite technically minded when it comes to music production, it was refreshing to see it from an artistic point of view, and to think about the essence of what a music recording all boils down to - capturing and conveying emotion/feeling. The emphasis on staying true to an artistic vision and intention is fantastic. I would recommend this to musicians and producers of any genre.