Chevron Left
返回到 Programming Languages, Part A

学生对 华盛顿大学 提供的 Programming Languages, Part A 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,131 个评分
318 个审阅

课程概述

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

热门审阅

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

筛选依据:

1 - Programming Languages, Part A 的 25 个评论(共 313 个)

创建者 Allison C

Mar 03, 2018

I loved learning the concepts used in the ML language: case statements, tail recursion, signatures, pattern matching. The professor explained things really well. Being provided with the pdf summaries of the sections and the code used in the lectures was much appreciated. Doing the peer reviews was hard, having to parse through other people's code, but doing this made me understand the material much better. Getting peer reviews was also great because I never would have noticed the style mistakes I made. I'm on to Part B!

创建者 Mike S

Aug 12, 2016

A brilliant first part to this 3 part programming language course.

Part A focuses on teaching Functional Programming concepts using ML, a programming language that is becoming more relevant today with the popularity increase in the Haskell and F# languages, both based on ML.

Dan is excellent on the videos, explaining the core concepts extremely well, while also doing a great job with the live coding (a really hard thing to do, even for a software engineer with 10 years of experience).

Everyone on the discussion forums, the TA's, the Admins and Dan, are really great, and compliment the video lectures well.

Overall really happy with the course and can't wait to get started on Parts B and C.

创建者 Vaidas A

Mar 05, 2018

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

创建者 张弛

Apr 30, 2019

can learn fast

创建者 Yiang Z

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

创建者 Lincoln K

Nov 18, 2017

Committed Tutor, interesting and impact full content, good community and well, finishing needed that extra nudge.... Well worth it :)

创建者 Patrick B

Dec 19, 2018

Excellent overview of SML and great introduction to functional programming concepts.

创建者 Cheng H

Dec 22, 2018

Best ever classic courses! Never learnt so much from any programming courses! Expect to see materials can be published as book even textbook! Looking forward further courses from Dan!

创建者 Zhengtao X

Dec 10, 2018

This is a good course. It helps me to understand the same features about different programming languages, so I can get started quickly when I need to use a new programming language.

创建者 hanrai

Dec 13, 2018

This is a wonderful lesson. Bring a lot of new concepts to me. Functional programming is a big surprise.

创建者 John S

Aug 17, 2016

Great quality teaching and challenging homework. Much appreciated. Hoping for the Part B, and C to be on coursera soon.

创建者 Ernesto P

Dec 31, 2018

Excellent course! I learned the basic concepts of functional programming which I feel will be useful throughout my entire career, event when not writing functional code.

创建者 Eric T

Jan 26, 2019

I just finished Programming Languages Part A, and I can confidently say that it has been one of the most challenging and rewarding classes that I've taken in the MOOC format. Functional Programming is new to me, but this class gives a great overview of the language paradigm. The assignments are difficult and rewarding. I encourage you to take this class if you've taken an introductory computer science class using a language such as Python, Java, or C++. It is definitely worth the time investment and it will turn you into a more competent programmer.

创建者 Moatasem S

Jan 26, 2019

A very, very solid foundation in functional programming and programming in general. I recommend this for anyone who is starting to pick a functional language like Elixir for example and still find difficulties getting around it. Dan's fun way of teaching will make it feel almost second nature to you.

创建者 Hydra

Feb 03, 2019

The best introduction to functional languages

创建者 Arent S

Nov 06, 2018

This is one of the best courses I've taken so far. The assignments are difficult and interesting and more importantly, the assignment teaches the core of programming.

创建者 纯白棒球帽

Nov 08, 2018

When finding programming related courses on the Internet, I knew this lesson in “www.zhihu.com”, where someone give this course a high score evaluation. To satisfy my curiosity I tried a few lessons. However, to my surprise, it attracts me deeply. I told myself it was that courses which I have been looking for. I do believe it`s my great honor to participate and I will try my best to seize the opportunity and finish it perfectly.

创建者 Tang H T

Jan 06, 2019

Very good instructor, challenging but doable homework for week 3 and 4. Exam is too easy though. I would like the exam to be more difficult.

创建者 Chris T

Jan 21, 2019

excellent course!

创建者 Sean J A

Mar 04, 2019

One of my favorite classes, I retake it just because I enjoy it, and it is a good refresher. Dan has crafted a fine class, everything he teaches is concise and accurate. Now that I have begun my career as a developer, it is easy to see the knowledge in these lessons has been well honed from experience.

创建者 Christian K

Mar 04, 2019

Absolutely fantastic. This course is the best MOOC have ever experienced regarding the passion of the instructor, the well thought through structure and just the right level of challenge to keep you engaged without being frustrating. The experience taking the course has changed my perspective on programming languages that I already know and significantly increased my passion for the subject as well as my expectation of what MOOCS can achieve.

创建者 Icaro A P

Mar 08, 2019

Probably the best MOOC I've ever taken

创建者 Sohom B

Mar 09, 2019

Amazing Course. Professor Dan really brings out the best in the students, and communicates the material really well. Will be taking Part B and Part C shortly!!

创建者 Nicholas T

Mar 18, 2019

Incredible course, deepened my understanding of programming considerably!

创建者 Sean U

Mar 18, 2019

Great course! I learned some concepts of functional programming and language implementation, their advantages and caveats, I'm going check out part B. It's a quite easy course, considering what it is about (it's not an easy subject). But the resources are great and there's plenty of cool activities, this definitely made me a better programmer and I tried to make some things with haskell after I finishing this, and this course definitely made things easier.