Chevron Left
返回到 Vector Calculus for Engineers

学生对 香港科技大学 提供的 Vector Calculus for Engineers 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,123 个评分
310 条评论

课程概述

Vector Calculus for Engineers covers both basic theory and applications. In the first week we learn about scalar and vector fields, in the second week about differentiating fields, in the third week about multidimensional integration and curvilinear coordinate systems. The fourth week covers line and surface integrals, and the fifth week covers the fundamental theorems of vector calculus, including the gradient theorem, the divergence theorem and Stokes’ theorem. These theorems are needed in core engineering subjects such as Electromagnetism and Fluid Mechanics. Instead of Vector Calculus, some universities might call this course Multivariable or Multivariate Calculus or Calculus 3. Two semesters of single variable calculus (differentiation and integration) are a prerequisite. The course is organized into 53 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve following each video. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of five weeks to the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/vector-calculus-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/qUseabHb6Vk...

热门审阅

DK
May 22, 2020

i have completed Three courses of Professor Jeffrey. I'm so happy that i learnt a lot from him. Thanks to our professor Jeffrey and thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

BB
May 14, 2021

Professor Chasnov is a great instructor. I strongly recommend this course (and others from his). Thank you so much for making such great quality content available for everyone no matter where.

筛选依据:

251 - Vector Calculus for Engineers 的 275 个评论(共 314 个)

创建者 TUHIN S M

Feb 20, 2021

good

创建者 Anjana A

Oct 3, 2020

Good

创建者 Akshayreddy

Jul 15, 2020

Good

创建者 tomisin g

Jun 27, 2020

g

o

o

d

创建者 S. M

Jun 24, 2020

GOOD

创建者 Naga M G

Jun 6, 2020

GOOD

创建者 Deepika V

May 29, 2020

Good

创建者 Naveen P

May 21, 2020

Good

创建者 Rodrigo T T

May 11, 2020

yes!

创建者 程铁杰

Mar 15, 2020

cool

创建者 Mohammed S

May 24, 2020

I

创建者 Pablo L

Jun 8, 2020

I took the course as complementary material to my vector calculus class, since I felt many things were skipped and not talked about in my class. I enjoyed that the course encourages you to do derivations and practice by yourself, however, I felt certain problems should have been talked about in the lectures.Vector calculus is a course that deserves more than 4 weeks, however I can understand the time requirements. So overall, the course is good but you will need other resources to fully understand some problems and derivations. For someone like me who was never introduced to Kronecker Delta, Levi Cevita and many many derivations, this was a rewarding but challenging course.

创建者 Sarah K

Aug 20, 2020

All in all well-run class. Videos were for the most part clear and well-diagrammed, and organized in a way that made sense. Got a good sense of the basics of vector calculus, since we used divergence/curl etc in problems repeatedly after we learned them.

Several sections relied on outside knowledge - for example, the applications to electric/magnetic fields, particularly in the fourth week, was really hard to understand for someone with only a Calc 2 background.

创建者 Peter B

Aug 16, 2020

This class was a very interesting class, but that may be due more to the fact that I am very interested in math than to anything the instructor did. However, I would have appreciated if this class went into more depth about the more abstract, mathematical side of vector calculus, instead of being so laser-focused on practical applications.

创建者 Andrew D

Jun 16, 2020

A difficult course, especially week 3. Two lectures - 24 minutes - on line and surface integrals over vector fields is just not long enough - needs more intuition. I can recommend Clark Brays multivariable calculus book for the intuition. Still not sure how I scraped a pass - worth doing though and thoroughly enjoyed as always.

创建者 Saman M

Jul 9, 2020

Lectures and accompanying pdf notes are clear, but proofs are sketchy. More worked examples would be helpful (perhaps in the accompanying pdf with solutions). Requires a solid background in linear algebra and calculus. Worth taking, particularly if you want to review this material.

创建者 Idorenyin U I

Jul 14, 2020

The beginning was easy and seemed that the rest of the course would be easy, but as you keep on, it gets tougher and harder and only the tough can keep going untill you get to a point where it becomes easy once more to you.

创建者 Jose R F

Apr 22, 2020

Some additional time for some concepts would be needed, but in general, a really interesting course. Learnt some new "things" that I hardly knew from my old studies. Congratulations to you too for the course.

创建者 Usman E G

Aug 4, 2020

It was a hard course for me, I don't think the math I did in high school was foundational enough for me to understand this course. I suggest doing some fundamental math courses before attempting this course.

创建者 Hayford A A

Jul 11, 2020

The quizzes and the practice quizzes were a bit challenging. I feel like the videos need more explanations that can help understand some problems in the quizzes. But in all I felt challenged to learn more.

创建者 Kodi O

Jul 18, 2020

It was great, the professor did a great job in explanation, but at the same time, he didn't explain further with examples for some topics which made it really challenging for me to understand.

创建者 Jose M B D

Apr 10, 2021

It was exciting and challenging more than anything when you already saw something at school then you reinforce it or learn something new, you even put into practice what you know

创建者 simon w

Mar 1, 2021

excellent videos; good problems; unusual to get a series of high quality notes to download. I found the final section demanding and I will need to review this section.

创建者 Abir M

Jul 25, 2020

Very good course with difficult problems. Very good instructor. Needs to provide a bit more geometric intuition to the sections involving vector integral calculus.

创建者 Jose R H P

Apr 13, 2020

prof. Chasnov explains really goodand all the topics are presented in a well structured way. I wouldn't recommend this course for learn vector calculus from zero