Chevron Left
返回到 Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

学生对 美国自然历史博物馆 提供的 Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,849 个评分

课程概述

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

热门审阅

AJ

Jun 1, 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

YH

Jan 3, 2021

One of the best course, I have ever taken. The materials is not hard to follow and the in-depth explanation gives you a proper new perspective which is still open to debate due to conservation topic

筛选依据:

101 - Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation 的 125 个评论(共 781 个)

创建者 Joanne N

Oct 3, 2021

I​ found this course to be extremely relevant and important. All of the presenters were very knowledgable, well-spoken, and adept at explaining the material so that it was easy to understand. The articles were thought-provoking, and the references listed reliable sources for additional information. Excellent course!

创建者 Dr. R S V

Jun 8, 2020

I amaze with the way of delivery of scientific interpretations in very simpler way. I got new dimension to understand concept of ecology it’s dynamics. It will help me in practicing conservation philosophies with proper understanding. Thank u to all who put their efforts in providing it on Coursera learning platform

创建者 ANGELO K S

Jul 15, 2020

This is by far the most comprehensive yet concise program I have encountered here in Coursera. I love the idea of having a real scenario of conservation efforts and studies (Gorongosa National Park) as an example for the program, that way we could apply the things we learned from the lecture directly to the field.

创建者 Redvers F C

Jun 21, 2020

This course is the best course that I have ever studied. The lectures were fascinating, intriguing and the lecturers were all extremely informative, my interest in these subjects will undoubtedly grow because of their ability to hold my interest on these fascinating topics of great importance to our natural world.

创建者 Davis R J

Mar 15, 2021

This course represents a generous repository of exciting and essential knowledge that is capable of taking someone from a position of having absolutely no appreciation of biodiversity to having a deep understanding of ecology and how humans and their every day lives impact nature -- as a critical part of nature.

创建者 Sara F

Dec 20, 2020

Fantastic course! Such an incredible insight into conservation biology, and the various applications around the world. Learning using a case study takes the theory, and applies it into real-life example that you can connect with, improving the learning experience. Thank you for producing such a wonderful course!

创建者 Luca O

Dec 13, 2020

Very informative, engaging, and excellently explained, by all teachers involved. Besides being a non trivial introduction to many key topics, the course also presents some key controversial issues with a genuinely scientific, ideology-free approach, and brings multiple points of view to the learner's attention.

创建者 Santiago F

Jan 10, 2022

A​s a person with no background in Ecology, this course allowed me to understand basic concepts in the subject. But even more importantly, it showed me the ways in which humans should shape their efforts taking into account many more variables than are teken today in the decision process across all activities.

创建者 Sarah H

May 24, 2020

I have no prior professional experience or education in ecology, but am interested in learning about conservation. This course provided me with a solid foundation to understand how to talk about conservation in terms of ecology and psychology. Includes a solid mix of mathematics, science, and anthropology.

创建者 Richard M M

May 12, 2020

This online Ecology class is awesome! I learned so many insights about how ecological systems work and how components of ecosystems inter-relate with one another. The conservation part of the lessons are also eye-opener into the real world aspects of sustainability, development and resource management.

创建者 Tushaani N

Jul 5, 2021

It's a short course of 5 modules, but plenty of resource materials and lecture videos to get an in-depth understanding of conservation. I love the approach of systems thinking and bioculture as a solution to the environmental challenges we face today. Definitely inspired me to study this field deeper!

创建者 Vidya S

May 11, 2021

I gained knowledge on many things about ecology and is conservation, which I was not at all aware of till date. It was really very informative course which gave a very depth knowledge on ecology. The lecturers who taught the importance were amazing and did really give us the best knowledge on ecology.

创建者 K M K

Nov 23, 2020

It's pleasure to be a part of the course; All of the hard work from the team members brings me a insightful knowledge about the ecosystem and it's functioning and how it helps in the co-existence of various living organism especially the ways the nature helps towards the betterment of human being .

创建者 Christina M

Jun 21, 2020

The information was amazing and thorough. It might help send some points home if you ask questions during some of the longer lectures. I am leaving this class with some amazing information I can use to help conserve my land for generations to come. Plus a renewed interest in what I can do globally.

创建者 Miguel a O b

Sep 7, 2020

i coursed ecology the last semester and this course is magnifique. it gave a wider perspective of the ecology and clarified me a lot of other concepts. Also congratulation to people who do the traductions so not native speakers like me can have access to this type of high quality education.

创建者 Shifath B S

Jun 10, 2020

I must say that this 5 weeks course changed my point of viewing and understanding ecology, how we interact with our ecosystem, learned to see beyond my visualization. Thanks to Dr. Ana Luz Porzecanski and also the other educators for designing and delivering such a great course curriculum.

创建者 Samyuktha R K

May 8, 2020

This was a beautiful and fun course with many case studies and detailed analyses on what worked for each case and didn't. This is filled with interesting insights that are often not mentioned in textbooks and help ecologists understand each process on different spatial and temporal scales.

创建者 Karien S

Nov 20, 2019

I am qualified as a Nature Manager (Centurion Academy South Africa) and was in the mood to review and compare data. The course is great as a base to build upon and very interesting. I recommend it to anyone who is interested in ecology and the very unique Gorongosa Restoration Project.

创建者 Ching L

Mar 4, 2020

I took the course because I was curious about this field. I had learned a lot from this course. Even though my job is not related to this field, it is still important to have the knowledge since we are all human beings and we are all related to the ecosystem. I like the course a lot!

创建者 Susana C A

Jun 7, 2020

Great course! Engaging, up to date information with an entertaining case study to follow through all the topics. Thanks for creating this learning tool and opportunity. Especially in these time when we need more folks thinking about ecology and conservation. I highly recommend it.

创建者 Melissa V

May 30, 2018

Absolutely loved this course. The diversity of topics, the clear thread on how these theme's and subjects are approached currently as compared to historically, and the continual linkage to current projects, research and paradigms made for a fascinating and valuable experience.

创建者 Isabella S

Jun 14, 2020

A really fantastic course that was challenging but not impossible. I aspire to do some conservation work after A levels and University so this was a very helpful and educational insight int what's ahead of me. Brilliant lecturers who are clearly passionate about what they do.

创建者 Lara T

Jul 1, 2020

I randomly took this course (and earned the certificate thanks to the partnering thing through my university!) because I have a casual interest in wildlife. This course was amazing. I enjoyed the entire thing, and learnt a huge amount. Considering a change of field of study.

创建者 Chloe L

Oct 26, 2020

This course has helped me to expand my knowledge of ecology issues and management and strengthen my critical thinking skills. This is a great course if you already have an understanding of ecological processes and principals and want to build on that knowledge further.

创建者 Gian M C

Apr 15, 2020

Fully interesting and teaching course for basis (but not only) in ecology. Particular interesting the wide approach to vert different views of this science: building blocks concept, basis of a mathematical view, experimental example and so on. I really appreciate it.