Chevron Left
返回到 基因表达的表观遗传调控

学生对 墨尔本大学 提供的 基因表达的表观遗传调控 的评价和反馈

4.8
485 个评分
125 个审阅

课程概述

While the human genome sequence has transformed our understanding of human biology, it isn’t just the sequence of your DNA that matters, but also how you use it! How are some genes activated and others are silenced? How is this controlled? The answer is epigenetics. Epigenetics has been a hot topic for research over the past decade as it has become clear that aberrant epigenetic control contributes to disease (particularly to cancer). Epigenetic alterations are heritable through cell division, and in some instances are able to behave similarly to mutations in terms of their stability. Importantly, unlike genetic mutations, epigenetic modifications are reversible and therefore have the potential to be manipulated therapeutically. It has also become clear in recent years that epigenetic modifications are sensitive to the environment (for example diet), which has sparked a large amount of public debate and research. This course will give an introduction to the fundamentals of epigenetic control. We will examine epigenetic phenomena that are manifestations of epigenetic control in several organisms, with a focus on mammals. We will examine the interplay between epigenetic control and the environment and finally the role of aberrant epigenetic control in disease. All necessary information will be covered in the lectures, and recommended and required readings will be provided. There are no additional required texts for this course. For those interested, additional information can be obtained in the following textbook. Epigenetics. Allis, Jenuwein, Reinberg and Caparros. Cold Spring Harbour Laboratory Press. ISBN-13: 978-0879697242 | Edition: 1...

热门审阅

MM

Oct 02, 2018

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

DS

Aug 25, 2018

This is an excellent course that introduces you to fundamental knowledge of several hot topics in the field of epigenetics. Dr. Blewitt herself studies X inactivation, and I learned so much!

筛选依据:

1 - 基因表达的表观遗传调控 的 25 个评论(共 122 个)

创建者 Ismael V M

Jul 24, 2019

Fantastic course excelente teacher thanks.

创建者 EBENEZER W

Jul 24, 2019

Definitely an enchanting learning experience. This course expresses thoughts on epigenetics and how it could be the key to solve menacing threats such as cancer. It starts with a brief history and remarkable discoveries by scientists, followed by its mechanism, case studies in animal models, cohort studies, and eventually its implementation in cancer therapy. It is very intriguing filled with quizzes, learning resources (podcasts, debates, research findings, interviews, and newspaper articles) and not to mention the ever-growing learning community. Highly recommended for aspirants of biology and those who want to understand life better. I am grateful to Dr. Marnie Blewitt, the curator, Ms. Natasha Jansz, the moderator, and her colleagues and also the University of Melbourne for an excellent journey of learning.

创建者 Apoorva S

Jul 21, 2019

A great learning platform. This was my first ever course on coursera and I've thoroughly enjoyed it. A big thank you to Dr. Marnie Blewitt for helping us learn in a fun way!

创建者 NieHu

Feb 16, 2019

nice

创建者 Narendra v

Feb 23, 2019

Its really a fascinating course to learn epigenetics, all classes and materials were really helpful

创建者 Donald B

Mar 20, 2019

Best cousera I have taken. Extremely well done.

创建者 Neelam F

Mar 01, 2019

it was an excellent course and worth spending time on.

创建者 Mohammad K

Feb 27, 2019

Great and Very informative Course

创建者 Paul S

Mar 30, 2019

Well organized and thought out. Developed the concepts well with clear examples from literature. Gave an understanding of the state of the field and where there are things that still need to be worked out.

创建者 Afolake A

Mar 19, 2019

A very good course.

创建者 Nzubechi D E

Sep 27, 2018

This was a very interesting and informative course.

创建者 Santiago T

Sep 27, 2018

I enjoyed and learnt a lot about epigenetics by taking part in this great course. The content is clear and very well explained. The Professor is outstanding! Thanks

创建者 Dan S

Aug 25, 2018

This is an excellent course that introduces you to fundamental knowledge of several hot topics in the field of epigenetics. Dr. Blewitt herself studies X inactivation, and I learned so much!

创建者 Didi-Morgan

Aug 30, 2018

Great course on a very interesting subject. Well constructed, with clear explanations, nice supports, wonderful contents. I love it. The level of difficulty increases with each chapters but regurlarly, so it's relatively easy. Great teacher, she seems passionate about what she does even though it is difficult to be passionate alone in front of a camera… She sometimes end on a little opening on the researches on the subject, especially the ones done in her own lab, which I think is very interesting. Thank you for this amazing course! I recommend it to everyone interested in genetics, epigenetics or who wants to know the relatively new discoveries in the field.

创建者 Gloria J C R

Oct 08, 2018

Excellent course

创建者 Hina K

Nov 17, 2018

This course is well taught and some important concepts are repeated over and over again during the course so the concept lingers in the brain as if it was there already.

创建者 Ignacio S

Sep 17, 2018

If somebody bilieves tis course is gonna be an easy one, is wrong. Very detailed, well organized, clever questions. It makes you think.

创建者 Mary M

Oct 02, 2018

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

创建者 Vasisht V S

Aug 08, 2018

A very informative course which starts from the basics and goes up all the way and the pace of the course is also perfectly set for anyone from professionals to first-timers.

创建者 Boris M

Aug 14, 2017

One of the best organized and implemented courses I have taken so far. For someone who had barely any experience with epigenetics, I feel this gave me a proper introduction to the field.

创建者 ALBEIRO M P

Dec 28, 2016

Excellent

创建者 Kuanysh S

Sep 20, 2017

In my opinion, everyone who really wish to understand the most steps of gene regulation should take this course.

创建者 adel

Apr 06, 2017

it's very interesting and very helpful to provide at least a database of the epigentics

创建者 Thomas W

Aug 24, 2017

Very informative! Before starting this course I didn't even know epigenetics was a word. Now I feel I have a very good grasp of the basics of one of the core concepts of genetics.

创建者 Miguel L E

Jul 18, 2016

Great introduction

It is a great introduction course to this fascinating field. Explanations are very clear (supposing you have previous knowledge about molecular biology) and provided further reading links are very good if you look for deeper knowledge. I strongly recommend this course to biologstudents who did not have the opportunity to go into detail about epigenetics.