Chevron Left
返回到 Indigenous Canada

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Indigenous Canada 的评价和反馈

4.8
18,729 个评分

课程概述

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

热门审阅

DN

Aug 30, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

GC

Oct 13, 2021

This was one of the best online courses I have taken. It was well written, great material related to my own personal development and gave me a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

筛选依据:

6526 - Indigenous Canada 的 6550 个评论(共 6,903 个)

创建者 Nicolas L

Jan 31, 2021

Very interesting to learn of new perspectives. It was a good course to build on other Indigenous studies courses taken prior to this one.

创建者 Luxshana M

May 15, 2020

I wish that they teach more about why they call " Indian", Religion, Canada name history. I found that questions for quiz a little long.

创建者 Debbie M

Oct 6, 2019

I learned quite a bit in the course. I found out that even as a metis person, I had many misconceptions about current issues and history.

创建者 Beverly B

Jun 6, 2022

It was easy to follow. Informative. Provided great information in a way thay was easy to understand and in a neutral and factual manner.

创建者 Courtney Y

Dec 20, 2020

If you are someone who is looking to begin their understanding of the Indigenous Peoples of Canada, this is a great introductory course.

创建者 Shawn R

Nov 21, 2020

Very informative, I learned a lot from Indigenous peoples perspective especially events that were not mentioned or emphasized in school.

创建者 Karen T

Oct 1, 2020

loved the course, The treaty chapter was very complex, and maybe could have been split into two units. Very interesting, learned lots.

创建者 Charlotte K

Feb 26, 2022

​i wish i learned more about indian status requirements and the limitations of the indian act. Happy to have learned what i did learn.

创建者 Sal O

Aug 10, 2021

T​he content was excellent and I learned a lot, but the instructional design was very poor. I gave 4 stars based on the content alone.

创建者 Frank B

Feb 14, 2021

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. It also got me thinking about a lot of the issues it raised. Kudos to the instructors!

创建者 Wendy H

Jun 18, 2021

Excellent opportunity to grow my awareness and understanding of the many challenges facing First Nations individuals and communities.

创建者 Ken B

Jan 14, 2018

Thank you for the opportunity to learn more about Indigenous history and contemporary issues. Every Canadian should take this course.

创建者 patricia m

May 19, 2022

very informative. Touched on many current and past issues. Helpful for me to understand some background history into current issues.

创建者 Jorge A M

Mar 28, 2021

I was able to learn so much, very well put together and above all it was presented in a fair non judgmental but more educational way

创建者 Lynda B

May 7, 2020

Thank you for this course, while I knew some of the history, mostly from the other side, it was very enlightening to see both sides.

创建者 Laura J

Dec 10, 2021

All three main teachers were wonderful in their presentations. Each week provided a launching pad for more research. Thank you.

创建者 Joan M

Dec 8, 2021

I learned so much from this course, that I should have known before but this put it all together for me in a way that made sense.

创建者 Ivy K

Nov 3, 2020

Very informative. A lot of this information is now taught in the Saskatchewan education system but was not when I was a student.

创建者 Steve L

Oct 27, 2020

Very informative and well presented, an important piece of our history that I wish was taught in all school curiculums. Thank you

创建者 Loretta R

Nov 17, 2020

I found Indigenous Canada to be a very accessible introduction to indigenous peoples and history. I'm so glad it was available.

创建者 Parminder T

Sep 29, 2021

I found the course educational and I love the art work and descriptions. I wish I had learned this in school when I was young.

创建者 Walburga W

Jul 24, 2021

This is a great course. Everyone should take it.Easy to follow.

The knowledge shared was very informative.

Thank you for sharing

创建者 Yogendra V

Jan 3, 2021

Great course to learn about Indigenous worldview, history of colonization and current issues related to indigenous population.

创建者 Gregory Y

Nov 23, 2020

This course bent the way of my usual learning. It made my mind heavy. But happy to learn it. Thought provoking. Thank you.

创建者 Gillian R

Jul 13, 2022

I think some of the course content needs to be fixed. Some of the multiple choice questions popped up in inapropriate places.