Chevron Left
返回到 Machine Design Part I

学生对 乔治亚理工学院 提供的 Machine Design Part I 的评价和反馈

4.8
928 个评分
238 个审阅

课程概述

“Machine Design Part I” is the first course in an in-depth three course series of “Machine Design.” The “Machine Design” Coursera series covers fundamental mechanical design topics, such as static and fatigue failure theories, the analysis of shafts, fasteners, and gears, and the design of mechanical systems such as gearboxes. Throughout this series of courses we will examine a number of exciting design case studies, including the material selection of a total hip implant, the design and testing of the wing on the 777 aircraft, and the impact of dynamic loads on the design of an bolted pressure vessel. In this first course, you will learn robust analysis techniques to predict and validate design performance and life. We will start by reviewing critical material properties in design, such as stress, strength, and the coefficient of thermal expansion. We then transition into static failure theories such as von Mises theory, which can be utilized to prevent failure in static loading applications such as the beams in bridges. Finally, we will learn fatigue failure criteria for designs with dynamic loads, such as the input shaft in the transmission of a car....

热门审阅

ZZ

Feb 17, 2017

The course was a concise and effective review of major concepts. The concepts were well explained and the lessons practical. I have a better understanding of fatigue failure as a result of this class.

SG

Jun 12, 2017

Thank you so much. I liked your teaching style.You gave me a clear understanding about each and every topic covered in this course.I enjoyed the learning.Hope we will be in touch for further courses.

筛选依据:

176 - Machine Design Part I 的 200 个评论(共 231 个)

创建者 Shivam P

Mar 06, 2019

really good synchronization..... i will consider this as good crash course of machine design to align all concepts together. Thank you:)

创建者 Rahul K S

Dec 25, 2017

Excellent course for mechanical engineers.

创建者 Amir G

Feb 10, 2017

very good

创建者 pragyendra b

Feb 01, 2019

This is really a good course for people looking basic design analysis and introduction to machine design. The examples provided are apt and really interesting, like the hip surgery and Boeing airplane testing. The references are great, I have always followed metric units but the course is neutral grounds for people so I did not find any troubles on that part. I believe more courses of this series would be fun to complete. And for everyone looking forward to this course, I would say definitely do it, it would not take much of your time and the skills you would acquire are must for knowledge prospect.

创建者 PRABHAT K

Feb 01, 2017

Dear teacher… you are the best because you brought out the best in us.

创建者 Omar A M O

Jan 19, 2019

One of the best professors I have ever had. Clear explanations, covering so much in such a short time, very effectively.

创建者 José M M G

May 28, 2017

This is a very dynamic and easily followable curse that allows you to review quickly the basis of the machine design. I´m really satisfied with it

创建者 Ramajigalu M P

Feb 18, 2018

I brushed up my basics by taking this course. Dr.Wingate's teaching was to the point. It was easy to understand. The quiz made me to apply the my theoretical knowledge to solve problems. Case study made us relate the theoretical problems to the real life problems.

创建者 Muhammad Z A

Jun 26, 2019

Excellent content and instructor explained everything in great detail

创建者 rahmi

Feb 09, 2018

The Machine Design Part I covers a huge amount of basic concepts/theories in a short time.It was very useful to get a clear understanding of engineering design. Dr. Kathryn Wingate used a clear language and I appreciate her. I am looking forward to MD Part II. :)

创建者 Michael W

Apr 01, 2018

I took this course to fulfill P.E. education requirements. I found that the level of detail and pace was well targeted for a practicing engineer. Without spending significant time on derivations, concepts were explained and reviewed with mathematical rigor such that they could be applied immediately on the job. I'd recommend to any engineer looking for a review of stress analysis which can be practically applied in a short amount of time.

创建者 Janarrtanan J

Apr 19, 2018

Excellent teaching and use of examples and real-world problems/case studies.

Waiting for the other part 2 and 3

创建者 Sacha P N A R

Sep 21, 2017

Very good course material. Recommend it to every Mechanical Engineer who has several years of work experience as a refresh course.

创建者 Howard R

May 28, 2017

Awesome!

创建者 Abdullah A

Aug 29, 2017

Helped me too much

创建者 RAKESH K

Sep 04, 2019

very useful course

创建者 Vinoth J A

May 08, 2019

This Course is a great Learning Resource in the field of Mechanical Design.

创建者 Mohummed D

Jan 08, 2019

impressive teacher i like her teaching method

创建者 Sergio G

Sep 05, 2017

to do

创建者 Aditya S

May 17, 2018

Absolutely Loved the Course . Looking forward to Machine Design Part 2 and 3

创建者 Parag S T

Mar 25, 2019

it was very informative and very useful

创建者 ChandBasha S

Dec 14, 2019

This course was good, I enjoyed learning topics like Number designation of metals, Static & Fatigue Failure, their theories, Stress concentration Factors, Endurance, and Life of Rotation of parts. I have also learned a lot more things that are mandatory for every Design engineer.

创建者 Xin S

Feb 15, 2018

Great course! I learned a lot of examples, and this course help me to make some concepts clear. It's very useful. It will help me to calculate when I am working.

创建者 Venkata S G

Dec 18, 2018

Very good course to refresh the fundamentals of machine design. Course content is lucid and quiz's are also very impressive. I am looking forward to enroll the next course of the series.

创建者 MANOJKUMAR A

Jan 27, 2019

Course is very useful for intermediate level. People have to know certain basic calculations like bending moment, shear stress, etc. Presenter has good knowledge about materials. Because of that she is clear in communication and making it easy to understand. Course provides a good refreshment about static and fatigue failures. Hope it will be an additional star in everyone's resume.