Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,260 个评分
372 条评论

课程概述

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

热门审阅

RV
Dec 12, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A
Mar 3, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

筛选依据:

26 - Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的 50 个评论(共 368 个)

创建者 Marwan E I

Mar 16, 2018

This is an enjoyable, interesting, eye opening course, yet it is not an easy one to pass. I have not done much biology before, and some of the terminology and processes described were a little demanding. I had to go through the lectures more than once. Professor Daniel Chamovitz is interesting to listen to. You do not go to sleep! I wish he would offer a third course on Coursera soon. Thank you professor for the knowledge you were so generous to provide.

创建者 Zvi Z D C

Jul 10, 2017

This is a wonderful course! There are minor problems in transcripts and in language usage. The course is very informative, the professor is very knowledgeable, light, and gives out the information in a delightful way, making the learning process fun fun fun! I am already heading to his next course, Fundamentals of plant biology! If the course seems interesting to you, you have to take it, i am telling you, you do, you will enjoy every bit of it!

创建者 Helen H

Nov 17, 2020

The lecturer is very enthusiastic and engaging. There is a lot of information presented quite quickly, so if you are a beginner in biology (like me!), you will probably need to do the reading in addition to watching the videos. It was really interesting to see round the lab in the final lecture. I'm not sure how much of the detail I will retain in a few weeks, but I think I have enough of the gist to have gained a new respect for plants!

创建者 Alison C

Feb 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this and learnt a lot. I'm a zoologist currently studying botanical illustration, so this course was a great way to brush up on my botany. I read Prof Chamovitz' book a couple of years ago and liked his style, and this course is similar - very engaging but thorough. Some of the tests, especially the last one, are quite tough but I think that is a good thing, you have to pay attention to the material if you want to pass.

创建者 Miland K K

Aug 11, 2020

Extremely well designed course that gives amazing insights into the sensory prowess of plants. The beauty of this course is that no biology background is required. The concepts and terms have been explained with awesome examples and that foster easy understanding. Prof. Daniel Chamovitz is simply mesmerizing and keeps you gripped to your chair during the entire lecture. One of the good decisions of my life is that I chose this course.

创建者 Stella G

May 18, 2020

Now that I know how sensitive plants are, I'll watch my language when in their presence :)

I work with plants in a retail setting, and this course helps me to understand the plant 'behaviors' that I observe, especially in response to my care.

I think I already guessed what a plant knows; now I know why.

This course provides a great understanding of plants for the layperson/non-academic.

I enjoyed the instructors lecture delivery.

创建者 Andrei I

Sep 9, 2019

The content included is exactly as described. The professor is just the right amount of playful, and makes sure to repeat and explain the more complicated parts. Video lectures include images to help visualise and clarify what is being talked about. There is only one personal thing I am not a fan of, but that one thing is still not enough to justify a less than 5-star rating for such a clear course. Plants deserve more credit.

创建者 Melanie F

May 6, 2017

I actually loved the course and the teacher was great but the final quiz made me want to throw my computer at the wall a bit and cancenl my university application. I do not like 'trick' questions. Where there are more than one answer that is scientifically correct but the question is only referring to one scientists discovery. I dont really care who discovered what, no offense Darwin. I just want the scientific facts

创建者 Janice R

Oct 18, 2020

Thank you, Dr. Chamovitz for making this course interesting! Most students get bored when lectures are about plants or plant biology, but you made boring and complex concepts easy to understand and enjoyable to learn. I especially liked the examples and experiments presented (with very excellent illustrations as well). Your quizzes are tricky and a tad difficult, but they really test the student's understanding.

创建者 Eleanor R W

Jul 19, 2017

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to take this wonderful course. It was laid out in a really interesting way; i very much enjoyed the focus on how plant senses were discovered - I never knew how prolific Darwin was in plant biology!

Awesome course, thank you for giving me access to it (and a certificate) for free. As soon as I get some more free time I hope to take the next course in the series.

创建者 Joakim N

Aug 8, 2019

In my case where im currently changing proffesion from a programmer into plants generally speaking, i find this easy to understand with short and consise lectures where only the important things are discussed. Professor Chamovitz doesn't randomly dive on a specific topic, which would cause confusion. I rarely comment on videos and courses but this one deserves all credit it can get.

创建者 Daniel P

Aug 23, 2020

Awesome course for two reasons:

1.) The contributors of this course made a lot of effort to make the topic as interesting as possible (e.g. a tour through their own lab, cool examples to illustrate theory, (external) videos of plant growth,...).

2.) The course gives you a better idea of the complexity of plants which encourages to appreciate and protect nature.

创建者 Connie S

Mar 27, 2019

I really love the class. It taught me so much things about the plants surrounding us. It's like filling the hole of the terrible science education at my home town where most people could mix up spores and deadly insects and then throw their beautiful ferns into the rubbish bins. I wish my home town could also have a wonderful science class like this.

创建者 Solange A J G P

Jul 2, 2019

Really an interesting course. I was fascinated by the facts and experiments carried out by scientist to understand plants. As a specialist in the computer field, I felt very bad that I have ignored learning about this part of the world for quite a long time. Thank you, Prof. Daniel and the coursera team for giving me this wonderful experience.

创建者 Ilaria C

Dec 23, 2017

The course is very well done. The teacher engages the students with interesting scientific theories and experiments very well explained. It is easy to understand even difficult concepts. The level is very high and I learned a lot. (There was so much to learn that I couldn't pass the final exam, I should do it again!). His English is good too.

创建者 María P Y

Oct 10, 2020

I just loved it, I did it because I wanted to know more about the plants that I'm growing on my balcony and I ended knowing about DNA, genomes, evolution. I just wished to have had this course in my youth instead of the chemistry and biology I learned on high school, this knowledge is so much meaningful. Thanks Professor, bravo Coursera!

创建者 Gabriela R

May 28, 2020

This course was not easy for me, but finishing it meant a great deal. I am happy to be have completed it, as I have learned so much about plants and I found every lecture to be as interesting as the previous one. The way the professor explains the topics is really dynamic and it keeps your attention. Thank you for a cool course on plants.

创建者 Lugrin J

Feb 17, 2018

A very en-lighting course. It highlights the complexity of plant life, shows the common origin of life at cellular level, makes through provoking but scientific comparison between human senses and plant environment awareness. I also bought the book "What a plant knows" (in french), I strongly recommend it as a companion of this course.

创建者 Freyja M

May 1, 2020

Doctor Chamovitz makes learning about the sensory functions of plants entertaining and informative. I felt engaged in the material throughout the entirety of the course videos and supplemental reading. I highly suggest anyone who is seriously interested in this course also acquire the text book to read into the materials even further.

创建者 Paul C H

Sep 4, 2017

Interesting and thought provoking with lots of nice examples of experiments that reveal what we currently know about plant senses and why we know what we do.Subject of course to future revision in the light of new knowledge and further experimental evidence. "What a plant Knows" also explores the nature of scientific investigation

创建者 Patrick D

Oct 24, 2016

This course provided insight into the basic function of a critical part of the world--plants--and gave me a deeper understanding of and a new outlook on this fascinating form of life. Prof. Chamovitz is engaging and entertaining, and his excitement and fascination for the field is contagious. Thanks for the great class.

创建者 Akhil M

Aug 23, 2018

Was very good. Liked how he whole teaching was rooted in experimental observations. The book that was suggested reading, also by the same instructor, was very helpful. It has really changed the way I look t the plants in my garden, and I hope I get to learn and research more on this topic in the future! Thanks a lot!

创建者 SOUMYA S

May 2, 2020

I’m just 14 years old and could complete this course Which is a big achievement for me . I want to be an astrobiologist in future and this course has inculcated a fresh wave of interest in me about plant biology.I would like to thank Prof Daniel for a fantastic deliberation . Really enjoyed it sir ...... Thank You!!

创建者 Montserrat L

May 23, 2020

I had not study any biology related since secondary school, but I had always wanted to do some sort of study in botany, this course was great for me. The material is not too hard, specific enough and definitely will give you a new perspective and deeper understanding of plants and the magnificent beings they are.

创建者 Oriama S O

Sep 3, 2018

This course gives a better understanding of plants and gives me an idea of the research questions and type of information/data i might be looking for in an experiment. It gives me an understanding that cuts across both agricultural and biological disciplines and this will greatly impact my career. Thank you