Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,223 个评分
358 条评论

课程概述

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

热门审阅

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A

Mar 04, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

筛选依据:

126 - Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows 的 150 个评论(共 355 个)

创建者 Larisa T M

Nov 02, 2018

Este curso es muy claro. Comienza con los más sencillo y va subiendo poco a poco el nivel de la información.

Entretenido, completo y estimulante.

创建者 matthew s

Sep 08, 2017

A great study and very enjoyable.

Plants are food for thought as well as the table; who would have thought it.

Thanks for creating this course !

创建者 Paola A V O

Jul 17, 2020

Gran curso, la forma de explicar es buena por parte del docente y se aprenden muchas cosas y te ofrecen mucho material para leer y aprender.

创建者 Rosemary M

Apr 30, 2020

Super-fun course for anyone interested in plant biology. Danny Chamovitz is a very engaging and clear lecturer. Looking forward to part two!

创建者 Alejandro M M

Aug 07, 2019

Dr. Chamovitz is able to expose complex and interesting topics in a very engaging way! I enjoyed all the lectures of this course. Thank you!

创建者 Constantino D D R

Oct 14, 2020

Very enjoyable course. Topic is pretty updated. I am grateful for the review of recent advances in plant bioacoustics (or phytoacoustics) .

创建者 Megan H

Jan 25, 2017

I love the content and the instructor. Well put together and easy to understand. I highly recommend for anyone interested in the subject!

创建者 Dr. R M

Sep 09, 2020

Very informative course, all the lectures are very lucidly explained and quizzes are quite interesting, had a great learning experience

创建者 Andrea V

Jun 26, 2020

Best teacher ever! Hard subject and complex ideas if new to biology but the teacher makes its fun and interesting, thank you very much!

创建者 Inostroza

Sep 13, 2020

This course was very challenge, this took me to the limits of my knowledge and comprension.

Thanks prof. Daniel

Ant Tel Aviv University

创建者 Daniel M C

Jul 11, 2017

This is an informative and enjoyable course by a professor who is passionate about his work and who cares about the world around him.

创建者 Matthew R

Jan 11, 2018

Wonderful course - Dr. Chamovitz is an excellent teacher with extensive knowledge on the subject and an approachable teaching style.

创建者 Umar H

Dec 31, 2019

This course was just awesome and specially the professor is so cool and his method of teaching was so awesome really appreciated...

创建者 Jean C H R

Oct 23, 2019

Very enlightening, I definitely appreciate this intensively precise lesson. Thanks Thousand times, Tel Aviv university&Coursera.

创建者 Cynara F B

Oct 28, 2017

Excellent course! But it was not easy, I had to study a lot because my background was in civil engineering.

Thank you, professor!

创建者 Renata d O A

May 16, 2019

Love it and I'd recomend this course to people I know. Now I'm gonna do the second part.

Thank coursera and Professor Chamovitz

创建者 Andrés S

Aug 11, 2017

Really interestint course to discover and understand a lot of things on plants and their similarities or not to animals/humans.

创建者 MOHAMED M P

Oct 16, 2020

I really enjoyed learning about the sensory world of plants and cell and it provide us with good foundations in this subject

创建者 Ashley J S

Mar 07, 2020

Really good course, better than I wa expecting. Professor was easy to understand and made the subject even more interesting.

创建者 Godineau E

Feb 26, 2017

A very interestinf course, well documented and explained by Dr. Chamowitz ! I highly recommend this course, I learnt a lot !

创建者 Ricardo M

May 01, 2020

Great course, really changed my view on how plants are affected by their environment and how they are able to react to it.

创建者 Dr. S B

Jul 10, 2020

I was really exited to learn the subject through the way he taught us. He really made us to understand the plant feelings

创建者 Silvia G

May 18, 2020

i highly recommend this great and interesting course!

The professor explains the arguments in a clear and stimulating way.

创建者 Craig F

Apr 30, 2018

This was an original and creative way of learning about plants! The instructor is enthusiastic and obviously an expert.

创建者 Jean P G

Jun 07, 2020

I am pleasantly impressed with the quality of this course, it gave me great knowledge and I really enjoyed the calsess