Chevron Left
返回到 Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics

学生对 伯克利音乐学院 提供的 Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics 的评价和反馈

4.9
408 个评分
130 个审阅

课程概述

There’s a songwriter lurking somewhere inside you, peeking around corners, wondering if it’s safe to come out. Now it is. This course is an invitation to let your inner songwriter step into the sunlight. All it takes is a simple “yes” and you’ll be climbing that windy hill, marveling at the view. If you haven’t written any or many songs, this course will show you an efficient, effective process for tailoring songs to express your ideas and emotions. If you have, you’ll look at your process differently, taking control of aspects of the process you may have not noticed. The course will start by examining the tools available to you, all revolving around the essential concept of prosody. You’ll learn to use your tools to enhance your message—to work compositionally at the same time you’re developing your ideas. You’ll be working both lyrically and musically, though musically it’s not necessary that you either read music or play an instrument. If you play, great, and you’ll be encouraged to play and record your musical responses to the assignments. If you don’t play, the course offers you a number of musical loops to work with. All you’ll have to do is sing your melodies over the loops. Assignments will ask you to post something for peer review—sometimes lyric lines or sections, sometimes melodies, sometimes both. None of it has to be polished. The course is about writing, not performing. Most important, you’ll have a lot of fun....

热门审阅

SJ

Aug 31, 2016

If i could give this course more than 5 stars I would. It has revolutionized my approach to writing lyrics and given me tools and techniques that really blow my mind. Definitely recommend!

CT

Jan 23, 2017

Pat presents with a great demeanour and covers a lot of ground in this course.\n\nI'm definitely a better songwriter for it. This includes the secret to removing writer's block.

筛选依据:

1 - Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics 的 25 个评论(共 129 个)

创建者 Naiya C

Nov 24, 2017

Good course, but got to the end of the first test (thinking this was a peer-graded / checked course) and was only given the option to upgrade (pay) to complete. So I filled out ALL those answers... and realized only at the end of the test that if I couldn't afford the $49 per month or $49 per certificate, that I'd just have to scrap my work. I did buy a book from the professor (on Amazon). It's an okay course, but mostly it seems like a plug for books written by the person teaching the course. I'd gladly donate a few bucks to complete this course, but I don't want to pay a monthly fee. This is still a pretty good deal as far as online courses go, but I think they would get more buyers if they charged $15 or $20 per course, rather than $49 per month / per certificate.

创建者 Shunyo J

Aug 31, 2016

If i could give this course more than 5 stars I would. It has revolutionized my approach to writing lyrics and given me tools and techniques that really blow my mind. Definitely recommend!

创建者 Tze-Ern C

Aug 07, 2019

This was my first exposure to songwriting and I learnt a lot, especially about rhyme types and melodic rhythm. Pat Pattison is a very dynamic, engaging and effective teacher. I particularly appreciated the detailed step-by-step examples in writing a song and singing it with effective phrasing.

I can't give the course five stars, though, because of the peer review system. Students are to grade one another's assignments, quite often on subjective aspects. Sometimes I had difficulty knowing how to grade someone else and sometimes I didn't agree with how I was graded, but there is no recourse to discuss or adjust the grading. I often wished I had opted for the free version of the course and saved myself the aggro. I think I would have preferred it if we were required to upload our work to a forum and exchange comments instead - there might be more exposure and interaction with a lot less frustration that way.

As reflected in the course title, this course was primarily about writing lyrics. I hope that there will be a follow-up course about composing melodies.

创建者 Nancy C

Nov 25, 2018

An extremely helpful class that provided me with tools for approaching lyric writing. Pat Pattison is a terrific teacher; I really enjoyed his lectures and examples. I looking forward to more opportunities to learn from him. I recommend this class to anyone looking to learn the basics of songwriting and/or to try to break a block and get writing again.

创建者 Nevaeh C

Feb 24, 2019

Definitely helpful to people trying to write songs. 5 stars from me :)

创建者 Iliaz G K

Mar 02, 2019

Me parece bien estructurado.

创建者 Tomas G

Apr 09, 2019

Excelente curso brinda toda la Información necesaria para enriquecer tus habilidades de composición.

创建者 Aurelie M

Mar 04, 2019

Incredibly good, Pat Pattinson is really great, and I enjoyed so much the freedom given in order to create my songs, with some materials and directions.

创建者 Elio C

Mar 04, 2019

Patt is a passionate instructor. His way of explaining is amazing. I learned so much in this course.

创建者 Richard B

Mar 07, 2019

Another gem of a module from Pat Pattison and the team at Berklee! I just finished a deep dive into Pat's Songwriting course, which reinforces and expands on the lessons taught in this one. Highly recommended!

创建者 Greg T

Feb 04, 2019

W

创建者 Omar E C O

Sep 10, 2018

I Learned very very useful tools to be an effective songwriter

创建者 Tom A

Aug 10, 2018

Taught me things I didn't know I didn't know about songwriting! Great over-arching themes and concepts, and practical, actionable, advice. Technology and process worked well as well! The flow of the course was thoughtful.

创建者 Ernesto P

Aug 18, 2018

Impressive. Excellent course.

创建者 Sarah W

Aug 18, 2018

Great Course!

创建者 Dimitar M

Oct 18, 2018

Second time I'm taking the course. Everything I needed. Again, in a way :)

创建者 Shawn M S

Oct 29, 2018

Amazing course! I almost cannot believe how much I have learned within a relatively short span of time. I am hungry for more!

创建者 Tam N

Nov 02, 2018

a challenging course, perhaps because I have no previous experience. I'm glad I've learned a lot from it and completed it!

创建者 David R C

Aug 10, 2016

This course opened my eyes to a number of concepts which seem blatantly obvious now that I know them, but which I had never considered before taking the course. The reasons I couldn't quite put my finger on as to why certain lyrics of mine seemed off. Highly recommended!

创建者 Alejandro M

Nov 15, 2016

Excellent course!!

创建者 Christoph A

Nov 13, 2017

I love this course! Helps me a lot! Pat Pattison is a great teacher.

创建者 Deleted A

Mar 04, 2017

I am impressed at how there is theory and study behind the art of writing songs. The course opened my eyes to this vast and interesting subject.Pat Pattson is a fantastic teacher with incredible didactics, knowledge and personality. I just have to thank you.

创建者 Francisco R Z

Sep 13, 2016

Feeling Inspired!!

创建者 Daniel N d S

Nov 03, 2016

Awesome!

创建者 Ivan M

Jan 27, 2018

If you singer, which write songs, or songwriter, this course for you! For beginners and professionals.

That material which I have acquired on this course, almost not to find in the Internet therefore welcome everybody)