Chevron Left
返回到 Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics

学生对 伯克利音乐学院 提供的 Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics 的评价和反馈

4.8
497 个评分
157 条评论

课程概述

There’s a songwriter lurking somewhere inside you, peeking around corners, wondering if it’s safe to come out. Now it is. This course is an invitation to let your inner songwriter step into the sunlight. All it takes is a simple “yes” and you’ll be climbing that windy hill, marveling at the view. If you haven’t written any or many songs, this course will show you an efficient, effective process for tailoring songs to express your ideas and emotions. If you have, you’ll look at your process differently, taking control of aspects of the process you may have not noticed. The course will start by examining the tools available to you, all revolving around the essential concept of prosody. You’ll learn to use your tools to enhance your message—to work compositionally at the same time you’re developing your ideas. You’ll be working both lyrically and musically, though musically it’s not necessary that you either read music or play an instrument. If you play, great, and you’ll be encouraged to play and record your musical responses to the assignments. If you don’t play, the course offers you a number of musical loops to work with. All you’ll have to do is sing your melodies over the loops. Assignments will ask you to post something for peer review—sometimes lyric lines or sections, sometimes melodies, sometimes both. None of it has to be polished. The course is about writing, not performing. Most important, you’ll have a lot of fun....

热门审阅

SJ

Aug 31, 2016

If i could give this course more than 5 stars I would. It has revolutionized my approach to writing lyrics and given me tools and techniques that really blow my mind. Definitely recommend!

CT

Jan 23, 2017

Pat presents with a great demeanour and covers a lot of ground in this course.\n\nI'm definitely a better songwriter for it. This includes the secret to removing writer's block.

筛选依据:

1 - Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics 的 25 个评论(共 157 个)

创建者 Naiya C

Nov 24, 2017

Good course, but got to the end of the first test (thinking this was a peer-graded / checked course) and was only given the option to upgrade (pay) to complete. So I filled out ALL those answers... and realized only at the end of the test that if I couldn't afford the $49 per month or $49 per certificate, that I'd just have to scrap my work. I did buy a book from the professor (on Amazon). It's an okay course, but mostly it seems like a plug for books written by the person teaching the course. I'd gladly donate a few bucks to complete this course, but I don't want to pay a monthly fee. This is still a pretty good deal as far as online courses go, but I think they would get more buyers if they charged $15 or $20 per course, rather than $49 per month / per certificate.

创建者 KEITA E

Dec 25, 2019

I enjoy this course a lot !

At first I thought that I would learn some basic things (so I took my time at first and didn't enjoy it a lot) but I really learned things and I improved my writing.

But I think that the submission system should be reviewed because if there's no one to review you, you can't progress.

The instructor was excellent !

And it is a little too expensive for a French college student but I know that It's not like that in others countries.

But I can't afford all the courses.

Thanks for everything !

创建者 Dexray R

May 21, 2020

Great course. It not only taught me new techniques, but it also put a name to the things I was already doing in my day to day songwriting. I would definitely recommend it!

创建者 Jacqueline H

Oct 20, 2019

Enjoyed this course! It gives me a starting point on where to start with songwriting. Particularly enjoyed learning about song form, prosody, rhyme schemes and phrasing. Thank you Pat Pattison, Berklee and Coursera for making this course available!

Only feedback I would have would be with the peer review scheme - It looks like all the students who were on the same class as me had finished their course, so there was no one left to review my final assignment (even after I had reached out in the discussions area, and even in the Facebook group). Hopefully there's a better way of getting graded for the final assignment rather than fully relying on peer reviews for your final grade.

创建者 Tze-Ern C

Aug 07, 2019

This was my first exposure to songwriting and I learnt a lot, especially about rhyme types and melodic rhythm. Pat Pattison is a very dynamic, engaging and effective teacher. I particularly appreciated the detailed step-by-step examples in writing a song and singing it with effective phrasing.

I can't give the course five stars, though, because of the peer review system. Students are to grade one another's assignments, quite often on subjective aspects. Sometimes I had difficulty knowing how to grade someone else and sometimes I didn't agree with how I was graded, but there is no recourse to discuss or adjust the grading. I often wished I had opted for the free version of the course and saved myself the aggro. I think I would have preferred it if we were required to upload our work to a forum and exchange comments instead - there might be more exposure and interaction with a lot less frustration that way.

As reflected in the course title, this course was primarily about writing lyrics. I hope that there will be a follow-up course about composing melodies.

创建者 Mitch R

Feb 15, 2020

I took this course once before, either in 2013 or 2014. It ws great then. It's even better now.It seems like there were a few new things added since the last time I took this course. Whatever it is, this resonated with me on a whole new level this time around. Thank you Pat Pattison, Berklee and Coursera for providing this high quality, interesting and thought process changing course.

创建者 Leanne H

May 25, 2020

This course really got into the details of language and covered lots of tools and techniques that could be used to enhance your lyric writing! Pat has a lot of knowledge and conveys it well. I would recommend this course.

创建者 Shunyo J

Aug 31, 2016

If i could give this course more than 5 stars I would. It has revolutionized my approach to writing lyrics and given me tools and techniques that really blow my mind. Definitely recommend!

创建者 Mark J

Mar 28, 2018

Lots of good tools, but no rules! Week 5 nearly killed me. Get on top of that one early as it easily takes 4-5 times longer than the other weeks to complete.

创建者 Cheryl C

Feb 12, 2020

The best way for me to express my appreciation for this fabulous course would be to start sending stronger songs out into the world. Thank you so much, Pat!

创建者 Forte

Dec 24, 2016

Amazing and powerful tools to craft my songs. Immediate implementation to solidify my learning. Peer reviews gave me a sense of community during the course.

创建者 Max K

Mar 28, 2020

It was really interesting and useful! The structure is understandable and with a lot of good practical things that I can use in my next works.

创建者 Mahesh M

May 13, 2020

A simple and easy yet quite insightful compilation of lessons by a resourceful and expressive instructor. Professor Pattison is awesome.

创建者 Ashwin D M

May 31, 2020

Great course and Mr. Pat Pattison instructions was an excellent. This course is helpful for me. Before joining the course I have never writing any song in my life but in my mind various thoughts and ideas always coming. After the first week, I know how to represent your ideas into a song.

Last three week is tough for me because I m beginner. But I never give up. Finally, after the completion I have wrote two songs.

Thanks for coursera team and my course instructor Mr Pat Pattison.

I highly recommend this course. It's so helpful for those who wants to know about the songwriting skills.

Again, thanks for everything.

创建者 Shawn F

Nov 04, 2016

This course was so much better than I thought it would be. Pat Pattison illuminated a level of craftsmanship within songwriting that I didn't realize existed, and I loved every new technique and discovery. He takes you through the process step-by-step, and you practice in bits and pieces along the way, so that by the time you are called on to write a complete song at the end, you feel prepared and excited. I learned a lot about writing, but I also learned a lot about the art of teaching writing. I highly recommend this course. It's so, so good. So good.

创建者 Stian E

Jun 16, 2020

This course is a six week program, produced and tutored by the one and only Pat Pattison. He teaches by studying words at a microscopic level; the syllables, how it correlates to rhyming, to understanding the identity behind the song before phrasing each sections to support the feelings of the story. Once done, you'll have tools to assist in writing your songs and how chord structure works in a melody in order to add more depth. This leaves me to wishing there was follow up course. Absolutely to recommend!

创建者 David H

Sep 08, 2016

Excellent course. I have been writing songs for years, some of which might be considered good. However, I always knew I didn't really know how to write songs as a craft. That's why I took this course. The course has now provided me with the toolbox to begin approaching songwriting as it really is, a craft based on skills one learns and develops. I very much would like to take a another course with Pat Pattison, because this one was huge fun! Thanks Pat, Thanks Berklee, Thanks Coursera.

创建者 Jesse T

Feb 15, 2018

This class really opened my eyes and ears to powerful concepts and techniques related to songwriting and finding my unique voice in the music I create. From the first week to the last, Pat Pattison's teaching exceeded my expectations and has gone above and beyond to deliver a quality educational experience. I can't say enough to recommend this course to anyone interested in the fundamentals of songwriting, practical, creative tools that will help you unlock your potential as a songwriter.

创建者 Thomas B

Oct 12, 2019

If you want to be a lyricist, you have just found the instructor who literally wrote the book. I studied with Pat Pattison at Berklee over the course of four full years and earned my B.M. in songwriting. To refresh skills and stimulate myself as an active writer, I took this online course. 100% satisfaction and a deeper knowledge of the art. This course really does not have a downside. wishing you the best of success and a learning experience that is without equal. Thomas Busk

创建者 Ashley G

Oct 10, 2016

Was completely surprised by this course. There is so much information presented in a clear, understandable, and intriguing way. I was engaged the whole time. This class has been the catalyst I've needed for awhile to inspire me to pick up my guitar daily and make progress on ideas. Its so great to have a dependable structure to work with as opposed to hoping inspiration is enough to get me something good. I am so thankful this course exists and it so accessible. Highly recommend!

创建者 Gail E

Jul 03, 2020

I took this course for my personal enjoyment. I found it developed the skills of songwriting very well and made something mysterious much less so. I did find the exercises a bit uneven at one point. Weeks 1 through 4 went fine and got a little more complex every time. Week 5 kicked my butt and took 3 weeks for me to finish. I do say that an ability to read music and play a little is quite helpful but not essential. Overall, I'm very glad I took this course.

创建者 Allyanova I S

May 02, 2019

The course helps to understand the scheme and the whole system of writing songs from the point of view of technology. It turns out incredibly beautiful and beautiful! I learned a lot of subtleties. Thanks to the teacher for a very accurate and idle explanation of not simple things.

I have learned a lot. It’s very joyful that there are practical exercises, it’s important to apply the knowledge gained to practice.

I'm very grateful!

创建者 Edward C

Aug 17, 2016

I've been writing instrumental music for about 5 years now but could never put lyrics to my work. This course is proving to be really helpful and has provided lots of techniques and tools that are incredibly useful. On top of that I have to praise the instructor Pat Pattison. He has a lot of charisma and makes these lessons really fun - I've had to pause the videos a few times now just to laugh at his witticism.

创建者 Michael T

Jun 18, 2020

Pat is an absolutely brilliant professor. He has a certain charisma about him which makes him extremely likable and funny too. This man knows what he is talking about. Ive been in the songwriting game for 15 years, yet i still learned multitudes of information that i never knew, nor would know for a lifetime had it not been for this class and Pat himself. Thank you Pat

创建者 Esther M F

Jun 29, 2020

Taking this course has been a very gratifying experience. It's opened new doors in my life and even made me consider a different career path that wasn't on the table for me before.

Pat is an amazing instructor and learning from him has been refreshing and amazing. I recommend this course to anyone who's looking for new ways of expressing themselves through music.