Chevron Left
返回到 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的评价和反馈

4.8
780 个评分
256 个审阅

课程概述

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

UU

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

MA

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.\n\nI also benefit from the style you use on your videos .\n\nI use some sites such as quizlet.\n\nI got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

筛选依据:

1 - English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 的 25 个评论(共 262 个)

创建者 evens d

Apr 28, 2019

I find the course to be valuable. Video lectures were engaging and very good quality. Practice examples and quizzes were pointed and relevant. The consequence of all this is that I learned a great deal about global warming and gained valuable insights about what we can, and should do to curb some of it's negative impacts. Otherwise, the consequences of inaction is far too great.

创建者 Liu R

May 21, 2019

I've not used MOOC for a long time as well as English, so I took this course as my comeback bufferin. It fulfilled my purpose as the the English taught here is clear and without stress (you can speed up the video whenever you want), to add to that it taught me a lot of knowledge about climate change and scientific findings new to me. The citing skills and reference standards are things I'd always wanted to learn. All in all, it's of great help to me.

创建者 sandipkunwar

May 09, 2019

good

创建者 Sakar C

May 09, 2019

Super

创建者 yuri m p c

May 01, 2019

very useful, for life, for job, for all

创建者 Aness N

Apr 15, 2019

I have learned a lot about climate change and improved my English

创建者 Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent technical information!

创建者 Nguyễn P

Apr 12, 2019

This is a great course, will asked my family member to enroll

创建者 gowtham

Apr 09, 2019

Well constructed course for beginners.

创建者 Gaurav M

Mar 29, 2019

not received my certificate

创建者 Deepak U

Mar 25, 2019

It was good course. Great concepts of emerging science. Reading and Writing Scientific literature was impressive.

创建者 Wedja M

Jul 15, 2019

an incredible way to learn english

创建者 Richard E N O

Jul 15, 2019

Nice way to combine science and learning english with interesting topics such as climate change, new technologies, renewable energy sources, etc.

创建者 Nathalie C

Jul 15, 2019

perfect and very interesting

创建者 Ingrid N O S

Jul 15, 2019

It was an amazing experience to learn more about engineering and technology, hope to use this knowledge in my diary life !

创建者 Jose M A

Jul 14, 2019

The course uses an exciting way to introduce scientific language. And the study case, Climate Change, is an excellent matter.

创建者 José R I

Jul 13, 2019

Excellent course! Perfect for improving the English of those of us who are not English speakers

创建者 Bryan D T C

Jul 13, 2019

Un curso muy didáctico

创建者 Basil S

Jul 07, 2019

good

创建者 v s

Jul 07, 2019

Very useful. Thank you

创建者 Masakatsu I

Jul 05, 2019

Good course. It made me feel I could try intermediate level English in the next course.

创建者 Rosendo M A

Jul 03, 2019

ES UN CURSO QUE EN LO PERSONAL ME GUSTA MUCHO, CON TEMAS DE MUCHO INTERES.

创建者

Jun 30, 2019

O curso é muito bom! recomendo!

创建者 AL-MUNTASER B A A N A

Jun 30, 2019

Thinks a lot for this coursera . It give me alot of Information and knowledge . I am grateful to you.

创建者 Sadikshya

Jun 24, 2019

nice course