Chevron Left
返回到 Archaeoastronomy

学生对 米兰理工大学 提供的 Archaeoastronomy 的评价和反馈

4.5
682 个评分
210 条评论

课程概述

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

热门审阅

II

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

筛选依据:

176 - Archaeoastronomy 的 200 个评论(共 210 个)

创建者 Pete H

Nov 26, 2017

Very informative enjoyable course; interesting and engaging presentations reinforced with good quizzes to test knowledge gained.

创建者 Pinco P

Jun 26, 2020

Very interesting course (I loved the Egypt lessions). I didn't like how the teacher labeled Feng Shui as "superstitions".

创建者 N R K K

Apr 04, 2020

Was a brief and interesting course. Could have included more on the astronomy aspect and more on how to imagine in 3D.

创建者 Praveen S

Mar 20, 2020

Good brief on the Archaeoastronomy. Could have covered more sites. Looking forward for advanced course on the same :)

创建者 Graeme H

Apr 10, 2018

A fine introduction, but more detail would be appreciated in some discussions, as well as some glaring omissions.

创建者 Daniel S

May 25, 2019

Interesting course. Good photographs. There is a transcript, but it was hard for me to understand the professor.

创建者 Amy B

Apr 25, 2018

Fascinating topic and information. Love the way the speaker shows up on site! Quizzes were really difficult.

创建者 Andrés R

Aug 01, 2017

!Excelente¡ aunque si no manejas el vocabulario astronómico se puede volver un tanto complicado...

创建者 VIDHUKRISHNA C U

Jun 04, 2020

A course which gives fascinating relation between stones and stars

创建者 julio c t g

Apr 07, 2020

Very interesting. I would likke this course to have a longer time

创建者 Ines G

Feb 20, 2018

Very interestig. Sometimes the English was hard to grasp.

创建者 Gerardo S

Nov 15, 2018

bueno pero falta una traducción completa al español

创建者 Anne H

Jan 23, 2018

Brief but extremely complex

创建者 Christopher F

Dec 28, 2019

Great introductory course.

创建者 Harshit S

May 07, 2020

Nice learning experience!

创建者 Richard K

May 26, 2017

interesting perspective

创建者 LITTY C

May 21, 2020

informative.

创建者 Amairani R F

Apr 10, 2019

muy bueno

创建者 Sharon M

Jun 18, 2020

Interesting course but could do with much better explanation of astronomical information, as I found myself becoming lost with trying to work out some of the data regarding relative planetary positions during the tests. Also I found the point of view of the tutor very narrow minded, although this is expected of mainstream scholars who fail to accept the findings of alternative researchers - for example, no mention of the clear alignments of the Giza Pyramids to the stars of the constellation of Orion... he mentions that the pyramids were 'tombs'! though no Pharoah's remains were ever found in a pyramid - they were buried in the Valley of the Kings! Regarding the tutor's comment about Tihuanaco - the alignments match 15 millennia ago but 'what do you think is more likely...', a slight error from the builders of this magnificent construction or the errors of (mainstream) archaeologists - I go with with the errors of the (mainstream) archaeologists every time! I would very much like to hear the tutor's explanation of how the pyramids were built when modern technology is unable to replicate.

创建者 Jay G

Nov 13, 2017

Very interesting information. I am going to pursue this field and it was good to learn first hand what to expect. However, I found both the Speaker and viewpoint very biased. There comes a time when the world has to realize that People of Color belong in it. In history, and in the beginning of time. Sorry, we did not just evolve when Europeans enslaved us. And our names were not Toby or slaves. This is something that was done to us, not who we are or ever were. We were and continue to be of a highly race of people, damaged and trodded upon by European thinking. Especially, its constant need to write us out of history. Therefore, this very informative class suffered two stars.

创建者 Radek C

Mar 25, 2020

Nice lecture but your obsession regarding so-called "pseudo" science ruins it. I have visited almost all the sites you were talking about personally (Egypt, Peru, Bolivia, Cambodia...) and I have to say that, in many cases, official archeology cannot hold water.

Archeology itself is very inaccurate science especially when looking at ancient civilizations. It is creating theories that usually cannot be properly proved or are backed up by inexact and misinterpreted radiocarbon dating.

I hope that archaeoastronomy will help archaeologists to open their minds and change their views on history, namely the dating of stone monuments.

创建者 Kate G

Apr 23, 2017

This course has amazing information in the lectures, but it is difficult in the video lectures to pick out what bits of information are going to be relevant in the quizzes, you will have to re-take quizzes a number of times, no matter how well you are taking notes. Also the very last section is entirely made of a rushed-maths lesson, and a quiz based on that rushed maths lesson that is VERY difficult. I would highly recommend this for anyone who already knows basic Astronomy Math, and caution anyone who doesn't.

创建者 Angel B

Jan 03, 2018

I initially really enjoyed this class. I just feel that the last week felt tacked out. The same care was not given to it that was given to the other ones when it came to lectures et al. And talking about the moon and venus, I feel this could have been handled in similar ways to the other sections of the course to make it palpable, a visceral experience of the information instead of just bleating back info from articles.

创建者 Jinisha L

May 21, 2018

The content was really good,especially unraveling the astronomical connection behind monumental architecture around the world. However, as a layperson the astronomy part was difficult to understand. So you will have to go through that part multiple times. I even enlisted the help of an astronomy enthusiast to further break things down for me.

创建者 Jillian L K

Mar 04, 2020

Very interesting information about the connection between ancient monuments and the alignment with astronomical constellations. The instructor had a very heavy accent and was difficult to understand, however he seemed very well versed in Archaeoastronomy.