Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

学生对 开普敦大学 提供的 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,935 个评分
583 条评论

课程概述

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

热门审阅

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

筛选依据:

76 - Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的 100 个评论(共 581 个)

创建者 Patricia M F F

May 19, 2019

Fiz esse curso porque precisava revisar alguns conceitos de estatistica. O curso explica bem os tipos de estatistica em artigos científicos, sem muitos detalhes de calculos. Tenho certeza que vou voltar algumas vezes ao curso, para rever detalhes. Valeu muito a pena ter feito o curso.

创建者 Laura M G

Apr 13, 2020

Fantastic course, probably the best lecturer I have seen, very engaging. Course content ideal in terms of challenging but achievable, the tests required real thought, the videos were broken up into bite sized chunks with excellent complementary notes. Very impressed with this course.

创建者 Rosanne P

Feb 15, 2016

Having no knowledge of the actual types of statistical research, I felt I gained a wealth of knowledge that will help me in my social science research as well. I believe that this was a great introductory course, however, I do feel as though it is a more advanced beginner's course.

创建者 Proloy B

Nov 18, 2018

I have taken

"Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics" course and I found this course very useful and easy to follow critical topics of medical research. The instructions and course materials are well organized. I am greatly benefited from the course. Happy learning!

创建者 Alejandro H A

Jul 14, 2020

A very complete course, helped me to have a good foundation in research and statistics, the best online course I have ever taken. It helped me a lot that it is oriented to the health sciences. An excellent professor. It will help me a lot in my daily practice as a medical student.

创建者 BASSAMAH H

Jan 10, 2018

A highly recommended course for colleagues as a refresher of basic statistical concepts and introduction of advanced statistical tools.Dr Juan is a very nice, decent teacher who delivers course in a very effiecient way with less time consumption. Big thanks to Dr Juan and team.

创建者 Felipe K O k

Apr 29, 2020

It's a really nice course, it helped me a lot to be more confident about what i'm seeing when reading a study. It will help you with different doubts: p value, parametric and non parametric test (ANOVA, T TEST, Chi SQAURE...) and specificity and sensivility with diagnosis tests

创建者 Deleted A

Jan 01, 2016

Thank you very much Juan, for your time and dedication! You really inspired me to take the path to research in the medical field! I never have had such a high standard course in clinical research! Thanks very much, I feel proud to have had the chance to be one of your students.

创建者 Gene D

Aug 27, 2018

Great refresher's course for those who took Biostat in college or in graduate school and a valuable backgrounder course for those who did not. It helps you navigate the Statistical section of the medical journals while assist you in appreciating the meaning behind the data.

创建者 Sherif M A A A

May 09, 2020

A very systematic course that starts with you from the scratch of types of studies and types of data, and going with you to reach comprehensive understanding of the difficult values and parameters as P-value, confidence interval, odds ratio & types of statistical tests.

创建者 IAN M

May 09, 2018

This course offers a simplified way of understanding the complexities of searching free full-text pubmed articles, study designs, sampling methods, statistical analysis and interpretation of scientific research. I highly recommend it to any clinical research beginner.

创建者 Umi S

May 10, 2020

I could see that this course will help me with better understanding of statistical parts in clinical research protocols. I always wondered all the statistical terms such as p-value and confidential intervals and this course lead me to find the answers to my wonders.

创建者 Payal S

Jul 17, 2019

This is an excellent course if you are involved in research work or simply want to understand medical literature better. The concepts are presented in a very simple and easy to understand manner with appropriate examples. Thank you Dr Juan for your excellent effort.

创建者 Laura A G A

May 20, 2020

Really great course to let go of the fear of statistical language. Gives you the necessary tools to adequately understand research papers and the data behind them. Plus gives you a good quick refresh on all research terminology. Understanding statistics made easy.

创建者 Mohammed K

Apr 27, 2019

Excellent course, very well explained and tested the individual appropriately. Covered many topics and although not deeply, it allowed you to understand the basics that will allow you to understand what you are reading and will help you to go further on your path.

创建者 Vitalii U

May 22, 2018

Excellent course! I will recommend it as a MUST to medical advisors and medical liaison officers in pharmaceutical company I am currently working. Very simple and useful explanation of statistics concepts. Extremely useful. Thank you very much for this course.

创建者 Camilla S

Jul 03, 2018

A great and very easy to understand course. It gives you an idea of commonly used statistical analysis, but without going too deep into the math. Great if you are tired of reading articles and not understanding what a p-value or a paired t-test is. thumps up!

创建者 Hugo H Z

Aug 28, 2019

Very easy pace of learning things related with clinical research. The concepts are very well explained, and if you are not an statistician, this course is gonna help you a lot. Thanks to the Dr. Juan Klopper for doing this couse. I higly recomend this couse.

创建者 Ramesh C

Nov 10, 2016

It is an excellent course and opportunity to learn about statistics and its applications in the medical research. The concepts are well explained and easy to understand. I express my heartfelt gratitude to the Coursera community and University of Cape Town.

创建者 Rasheed M F

Jan 19, 2020

This was an excellent experience, refreshing all the information, updating for few unclear things , better understanding of the basics ....... Fast, easy to focus and well explained .......I enjoyed every moment of the course, thanks for all the efforts

创建者 Sebawe S

Dec 22, 2019

A very exceptional course that teaches you so much about clinical research, and I think it's a must for every medical student, who wants to become and evidence-based physician as all the 21st century novel physicians should be, and not just researchers.

创建者 MOHAMED M

May 07, 2020

it was always stressful moment for me when i come cross with reading any article or research data results . but after taking this course it relay made it clear understandable. = the skim for understanding the statistics. thank you very much Dr Klopper.

创建者 Leigh

Aug 02, 2019

Excellent. I would love to have had some of the final test answers explained in some way so I could understand why I got a couple wrong. Either way it was an excellent course, excellent Instructor and appropriate material for basic level statistics.

创建者 Kavan

Jun 03, 2019

The course has been immensely helpful! As claimed in the introduction, it really helped me build an intuitive understanding of statistics. Concepts that seemed boring or confusing, were presented in a very simplified, easy to learn form. Great work!

创建者 Rachel R

Mar 11, 2018

Excellent course. Really helped me to have a better understanding of research, what the different tests actually mean and when to properly apply them. Most clear explanation of basic statistical concepts I have heard. Would highly recommend course.