Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

学生对 开普敦大学 提供的 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,209 个评分
671 条评论

课程概述

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

热门审阅

AM
Dec 15, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK
Jul 28, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

筛选依据:

101 - Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的 125 个评论(共 665 个)

创建者 Blessy P

Aug 16, 2020

Great Instructor! Excellent content and format. This course helped to put all the different pieces together to develop a practical/'intuitive' understanding, (as Juan would say :)) Excel/spreadsheet tricks came as bonus! Thank you Coursera for this great offering

创建者 Vitalii U

May 22, 2018

Excellent course! I will recommend it as a MUST to medical advisors and medical liaison officers in pharmaceutical company I am currently working. Very simple and useful explanation of statistics concepts. Extremely useful. Thank you very much for this course.

创建者 Nimmy K

Sep 18, 2020

Thank you for this wonderful course! After completing this course, I feel so much more confident reading the Statistical Analysis section in a paper. I really liked the systematic manner in which the concepts were introduced throughout the course. Thank you!!

创建者 Camilla S

Jul 3, 2018

A great and very easy to understand course. It gives you an idea of commonly used statistical analysis, but without going too deep into the math. Great if you are tired of reading articles and not understanding what a p-value or a paired t-test is. thumps up!

创建者 Sonakshi S

Aug 17, 2020

This was a great course. It is an ideal course for beginners to get familiar with the concepts of research methodology. The quizzes are helpful for rating our own understanding of the chapter. In a nutshell, it lays a foundation of research for the students.

创建者 Hugo H Z

Aug 28, 2019

Very easy pace of learning things related with clinical research. The concepts are very well explained, and if you are not an statistician, this course is gonna help you a lot. Thanks to the Dr. Juan Klopper for doing this couse. I higly recomend this couse.

创建者 Ramesh C

Nov 10, 2016

It is an excellent course and opportunity to learn about statistics and its applications in the medical research. The concepts are well explained and easy to understand. I express my heartfelt gratitude to the Coursera community and University of Cape Town.

创建者 Rasheed M F

Jan 19, 2020

This was an excellent experience, refreshing all the information, updating for few unclear things , better understanding of the basics ....... Fast, easy to focus and well explained .......I enjoyed every moment of the course, thanks for all the efforts

创建者 Sebawe S

Dec 21, 2019

A very exceptional course that teaches you so much about clinical research, and I think it's a must for every medical student, who wants to become and evidence-based physician as all the 21st century novel physicians should be, and not just researchers.

创建者 MOHAMED M

May 7, 2020

it was always stressful moment for me when i come cross with reading any article or research data results . but after taking this course it relay made it clear understandable. = the skim for understanding the statistics. thank you very much Dr Klopper.

创建者 Leigh

Aug 2, 2019

Excellent. I would love to have had some of the final test answers explained in some way so I could understand why I got a couple wrong. Either way it was an excellent course, excellent Instructor and appropriate material for basic level statistics.

创建者 Kavan

Jun 3, 2019

The course has been immensely helpful! As claimed in the introduction, it really helped me build an intuitive understanding of statistics. Concepts that seemed boring or confusing, were presented in a very simplified, easy to learn form. Great work!

创建者 Rachel R

Mar 11, 2018

Excellent course. Really helped me to have a better understanding of research, what the different tests actually mean and when to properly apply them. Most clear explanation of basic statistical concepts I have heard. Would highly recommend course.

创建者 Karen V R

Aug 11, 2020

This course was an exceptional tool to really understand the rationale of clinical research appart from the science that is on it. I learned so many things that are helpful to understand what really means what is written in a paper/science article.

创建者 Dilini K

Apr 5, 2020

Really enjoyed the course, provided me with a solid understanding of the basics of stats used in biological research. The examples used were relatable, and the material was quite in-depth. Would definitely take another course given by Dr. Klopper.

创建者 Jiravat D V

Jun 4, 2020

Dr. Klopper is a great instructor. He broke complex mathematical concepts down into a simple language without diving into the calculation and equation details. Highly recommend if you just want to understand the stats cited in medical research.

创建者 Loong S Y

May 15, 2020

Excellent course with clear and concise lectures by Dr Juan Klopper and useful notes. It really helps me to read research papers now with more confidence without really going into the mathematical theories of the statistic. Highly recommended.

创建者 Priti M

Apr 29, 2020

It is indeed a great online course. Dr.Juan(and his team) have explained medical research and the statistics behind it very clearly and succinctly. The case studies as well as the concept of the the peer reviews and assignments is very good too.

创建者 ShrabontiBiswas

Nov 30, 2020

Learned about clinical research and statistics for medical research and how to study medical journals & also how to conduct a research. A very good course. It will certainly help in our future career. Really loved the lectures of the professor.

创建者 jennifer p

Jul 10, 2020

I am so thankful and appreciative for the course!!! Sometimes topics were on the quiz that had not been covered yet which was confusing at times, but an overall excellent course. I would love to see "hazards ratios covered as well. Thank you!

创建者 Danilo D

Feb 6, 2017

If you're interested in clinical research or just wanting to grasp the basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, this course is definitely for you. Dr. Klopper's lessons are clear and understandable, yet rich of useful concepts. Highly recommended!

创建者 Maria S

May 20, 2020

This is an excellent course with the right level of detail for understanding what the statistical tests indicate and when they should and should not be used. I liked the written notes that followed the video lectures to reinforce the material.

创建者 Jacqueline H

Mar 3, 2020

This course was a great review of statistics I learned years ago during my undergraduate degree. The lecture videos were interesting, and the use of examples from research studies made the course all the more relevant to me and my job. Thanks!

创建者 Rodney R

Feb 4, 2019

The course provides a easy-to-follow learning track to understanding basic research methodology, clinical research and statistics. Completion of the course is mandatory to perform an clinical research internship at our institution, www.zmc.mk

创建者 Nguemeni C

May 31, 2017

Great course. I enjoyed taking it and the instructor really explained complex concepts with elegance. He makes everything very easy to understand by providing step-bystep reasoning and appropriate examples. Thanks also to the amazing mentors.