Chevron Left
返回到 Essential Design Principles for Tableau

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的评价和反馈

4.4
1,790 个评分
307 条评论

课程概述

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

热门审阅

SL

Jun 1, 2020

This course really changed my perspective in how to create visualization not just using Tableau but in every visualization application. I'm very happy I could take it and learned from it.

JC

Apr 6, 2021

Great coverage of chart types and creating them. Step by step instruction with the "why" element helped me understand how to pursue the chart and understand why I would want to use it.

筛选依据:

251 - Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的 275 个评论(共 308 个)

创建者 Todd T

Apr 16, 2017

Great course; only limited by the requirement for peers to review the assigned visualization to complete the course. Although I turned my assignment in well-ahead of the due date/time, I had to transfer to the following class because I could not get the required peer reviews (2) prior to the course closing, despite multiple requests in the discussion forum for assistance.

创建者 Nicole B

Sep 30, 2020

Good content on Gestalt and other factors that impact how a visualization is received; however, the instructors didn't take the time to teach HOW they were getting certain results, which seems odd for a Tableau course. I wish they had broken down how they were arriving at different visual effects instead of whipping through and solely concentrating on the theories.

创建者 Sameer J

May 17, 2021

The course content and delivery is okay. The peer review system needs improvement - learners can share their submission links with friends and get biased reviews. Also, when someone submits a bad review they hardly leave any constructive feedback at all. There should be an option to request additional reviews against a review that the learner feels is unfair.

创建者 Mark A

Mar 13, 2018

Would like more practical application of lessons in Tableau (vs almost entirely principles/theory), particularly with the guest instructor, who is very knowledgeable but only lectures. I got bored listening to lecture after lecture without doing anything or course directed application of what is taught.

创建者 Lindsay J

Jan 9, 2019

Good course, but would have preferred clearer step-by-step instruction on Tableau. Honestly, that was the weakest part. The instructor did not explain where he was clicking, moved around quickly, like a Tableau expert. I had to look it up online and in my personal "Practical Tableau" book.

创建者 Joan C

Jun 25, 2020

I'm not from a sales background. It might be just me, but i had to learn what is profit ratio, trends and whether my calculations were actually done correctly and in the right context. Having a couple of scenarios where it can be applicable to real life work would be better.

创建者 Dennis M

Jul 3, 2017

Nice overview of design best practices and some more basic usage of Tableau. However, my problem with the courses in this specialization is that the material is quickly becoming repetitive. Instead of the courses building on each other, they repeat prior material.

创建者 Erin R

Jan 3, 2018

A good course if you're looking at design principles as they apply to any visualization, data specific or otherwise. There is, however, minimal practical applications within Tableau itself. This could easily fit into a graphic design or Excel specialization.

创建者 Sudha S

Jul 25, 2020

Although it is a part of the tableau specialisation, the course focus is more on design principles rather than anything to do with Tableau. Definitely interesting, but might be better to rename the course so learners know what they are signing up for!

创建者 Shubham A

Apr 27, 2018

Course is great but peer review is horrible. Clearly a professional is needed to review the work in the end. My marks were reduced because peer reviewers couldn't understand how to make visualization effective and show data without any bias.

创建者 Amy D

Jul 1, 2019

The course is very theoretical and provides great articles and for great discussion. I was hoping for more interaction, and I'd also like more video content with fewer introductions. The music gets very annoying.

创建者 Jose D

May 3, 2018

While the theories and concepts were good and made sense there was not enough practical content to be able to cement these ideas, meaning there is extra effort on having to retain these concepts.

创建者 Devin

Sep 12, 2019

Instructions for the final assignment should be more specific since I had to resubmit it multiple times before someone left feedback about using the profit ratio to gain full points

创建者 Jaime L

Feb 13, 2022

This course was ok. There's not much active Tableau work and most of the concepts could be better illustrated in conjunction with Tableau applications.

创建者 Miles W

Mar 23, 2021

The content was good but the module tasks are very annoying. Sometimes you get asked questions that are not properly covered by the material.

创建者 Corey G

Feb 6, 2017

The assignment for week 2 should have been the last assignment in this sequence and was not clearly explained or taught in the videos.

创建者 Lin Y

Aug 18, 2019

This course is alright, straightforward but un-surprising. Need more course material on HOW to use Tableau's functions.

创建者 Siegrid P

Sep 30, 2021

There is a lot of theoretical material instead of providing the practical ropes in Tableau

创建者 sebastian s v

Aug 5, 2017

I would like to have more additional material to read..i think the videos are not enougth

创建者 Jérémy M

May 2, 2017

A littler redundant when you compare it to the previoud courses.

The map part is good.

创建者 Claudia V

May 5, 2021

We need the subtitles to be within the videos and not in a paragraph below the video

创建者 Jaehoon L

Aug 23, 2021

ok course. do not like peer review as it lacks standardized grading system.

创建者 Javier

Oct 29, 2021

Great course with a lot of theorical information about the design process

创建者 Dmitry K

Dec 5, 2021

Too little practice, all desire to learn Tableau is slowly fading away..

创建者 Drew O

Feb 6, 2017

This course is only useful if you have no experience visualizing data.